We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and spacious rooms within walking distance to downtown and the market,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge McGee's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge McGee's Inn to your Saves list
Auberge McGee's Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   185 Daly Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6E8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 59 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Clean and spacious rooms within walking distance to downtown and the market,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

This is a very established downtown B & B. It's owners are very professional and run the place almost like a hotel. Breakfast is served in a dining room with lots of tables and tourists from around the world. There seems to be a small contingent of business travellers like myself. The rooms are clean and comfortable. McGee's Inn is a great alternative to a hotel, without compromising the comforts that a hotel has in terms of allowing you to work or review material for your business trip. I would recommend this hotel, especially if you are travelling with a partner who might just want to hang out in Ottawa for a day or two without being based at a large hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    40
    7
    8
    1
See reviews for
23
58
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Our home away from home! We visit Mcgees each and every year and are never dissapointed ... only when it comes time to leave.

Comfy, clean rooms, great decor, attention to every detail! Food outstanding.

Look forward to returning!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Great Victorian house with beautiful antiques, wonderful rooms, comfortable beds, & ensuite bathroom. We even had our own balcony. Judy's breakfasts were amazing (eggs benedict, goat cheese & sun-dried tomato omelette, cream cheese & blueberry crepes), coffee was good & strong. Staff was attentive & friendly. The whole team gave good advice regarding sightseeing. And to top it all off, an easy walk to the Parliament Buildings, galleries, Byward Market, and various museums. Definitely a place to go back to again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

This delightful B&B is very well located only a 7 minute walk from downtown, with a bistro type restaurant and public transport a 3 minute walk. The hosts were very helpful, and the gourmet breakfasts were great. Our room was lovely though cluttered with knick-knack ornaments & pillows on the sofa, which required moving for us to put both suitcases up off the floor. We found the shower cubicle tiny, and as with many old houses we could hear people walking up the stairs and water running in the many other rooms. However we could not hear any other TV noise. Free internet was a bonus.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

I specifically booked a B&B so I could eat breakfast and start my very busy day. I found out at check-in that breakfast was at 8am or 9am. I needed to eat at 7:30am and be on the road at 8am. I was not accommdated and I was definitely not impressed.

The street is nosy and I barely got any sleep. I would not recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GladysOttawa, Owner at Auberge McGee's Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
It is very clear on our website and when you check in that we have 2 sittings for breakfast 8:00 and 9:00. We do try to accommodate business people with early meetings.
We had our staff come in early for your 7:30 breakfast. We are always in the kitchen before that time. We saw you leaving the Inn at 7:15 the first morning and you never came for breakfast. The other mornings we checked over and over in the dining room and you were never there. We don't know what time you left but we were definately in the kitchen waiting.
As far as location is concerned we are downtown - a 10-15 minute walk to the hub of the city. We are also very close to Ottawa University.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

My partner and I stayed at McGee's Inn during our last getaway to Ottawa. The location was ideal - a five minute walk to the downtown core. First impressions when we walked in - the place was very welcoming and clean - typical Victorian B+B. We stayed in room 14 - just enough room for two with fuzzy robes, a flatscreen tv and AC. The other hotels we had priced came in at $10 cheaper, but for $10 more we got a great breakfast and a relaxed environment to enjoy it in.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

We stayed in the "John McGee" room. The hard wood flooring, fireplace and antique mantel and mirror made the room so warm and inviting. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was recently redone and was lovely. Plenty of hot water for showering no matter the time of day. Great location near to downtown. Easy walking to the major tourist sights. If you have a car, they do have off-street parking at the Inn. The innkeepers are very helpful and extremely knowledgable about the area. They are fluent in English and French. The yard has nice sitting areas so you can be outdoors enjoying the lovely garden and trees. This lovely home is in an area of turn of the last century homes. Great place to walk and see examples of Victorian architecture. The home is wonderfully decorated and the breakfasts are beyond belief!!! In addition to the normal fare of cereals, yogurt, fruit and toast, McGees also offers delicious crepes with choice of bacon or sausage AND Eggs Benedict. Fresh baked muffins were provided. A wonderful experience in every way!!
Loraine Marlow
Tempe, AZ, USA

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge McGee's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge McGee's Inn

Address: 185 Daly Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6E8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge McGee's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Inn built in 1886, located within walking distance of the ByWard Market, The National Gallery, NAC, the Mint, Ottawa University and much more. Abundant in Victorian charm with all of today's amenities. Historic home of John McGee (member of the Privy Council) and his son Frank McGee (famous hockey player featured on TSN) Full breakfast is included with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Auberge McGee's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge McGee's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.