We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavely Beds maybe, but Hellish Elevators, and Outrageous Parking!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Ottawa to your Saves list
The Westin Ottawa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9H4, Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Heavely Beds maybe, but Hellish Elevators, and Outrageous Parking!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed at the Ottawa Westin last week for 4 days and had a chance to use all of the services. On a positive note, the rooms are nice, great view of the parliament buildings and great location walking distance to downtown attractions and attached to Rideau Mall. Breakfasts were great, but not open for lunch, you have to go to the dining lounge which had a very poor selection of lunch choices.
Here is the bad...the elevators are horrifically slow, everyone was complaining as they waited 10-15 minutes at times to get on the elevator and stopped on every floor on the way up and way down. Worst elevator system I have seen!!! No in/out privileges for parking as it is owned by Rideau Mall. $20 for 24 ours provided you don't remove your car, as there are no in/out privileges, you could end up spending $40+ dollars. Valet is not any better, as it is slow and cost $36+tips. I know that might not seem expensive if you are from New York, or downtown Vancouver, but this is Ottawa. Lastly, the wireless only supports 3 devices and than they require additional fees of $15/day on top of the $15/day you are already paying. They are a little backwards on this one, as most people have a cell phone, tablet and PC for each person staying in the room (6 for a couple).
I would have given it a 4 if either the elevator or parking issue wasn't an issue. If you are cabbing and don't have a car, the location is fine, but remember walking in Ottawa in the middle of winter leaves something to be desired...dress WARM!!!!

Room Tip: Book high up and an end unit to have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinOttawa, Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear TPK007,

Thank you for your feedback. At the Westin Ottawa we strive to provide our guests with opportunities of renewal and always try to ensure that you leave feeling leave us relaxed and rejuvenated.

During high-traffic times our elevators do take a little more time than usual, but our brand new system is designed to be quick and efficient. However, I do apologize for the challenges and wait time you experienced during your stay.

Unfortunately, the parking garage available to our guests is independent from the hotel and the pricing and system implemented in this garage is similar to many other parking garages in the downtown Ottawa area.

Our internet services are unfortunately not included in our room rates. We recently upgraded our wireless internet system and in order to provide quality high-speed internet to all of our guest rooms, we do require charging our guests for access. This is the standard for all other similar hotels in the area. However, we are very pleased to offer complimentary wireless internet access in our lobby.

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed our guest rooms and the view of Parliament, as well as our central location to downtown Ottawa’s major attractions.

Once again, thank you for your comments, and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Be well,
PFritz
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    349
    143
    57
    23
See reviews for
212
273
65
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miramichi, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Recently stayed for a 5 day conference and found the Westin to be the perfect choice for a business conference. The service was first rate, and the rooms were large and newly renovated. The location was best of all being close to the market, the Rideau Canal, and the downtown core. In my opinion this is probably the best hotel in Ottawa. Restaurants and night life were very close with a wide assortment of options in the market, and the Rideau Centre provided a good option for quick and inexpensive meals. Overall, an excellent hotel with a great Ottawa location

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Rideau Canal for the view and also avoids construction at the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

In a large hotel I didn't expect to find such caring people....efficient, certainly, but also friendly and enjoying their duties at The Westin. The dinning room, the lobby bar, the front office, the General Manager, all welcomed us to our home away from home.

We'll be back! Yes, indeed.

Room Tip: See the canal from one side, and the Market area from the other. All good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at the Westin on the night of our wedding. I went to the front desk a few weeks beforehand to request that we be placed on a floor separate from other members of the wedding party and wedding guests. When they found out that it was our wedding night we were upgraded to an incredible suite with a beautiful view of the city. Comfortable beds and a beautiful bathroom. I also saw one of the other rooms and it was lovely as well. The facilities are incredible, staff were nothing but friendly and accommodating, and we had a lovely breakfast at Daly's the next morning. Excellent experience overall.

As we are from Ottawa the location, etc. were less of an issue, but the hotel is centrally located and attached to a shopping mall with lots of amenities. It's steps from the Byward Market and other tourist attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Our extended family stayed at the Westin Ottawa for Family Day weekend and couldn't have asked for a more awesome stay!!
The Westin surprised me with a birthday treat...so so cute!
We literally stepped outside the door to all the Canal activities!!
Perfect place..awesome views!
My only choice for Ottawa hotel!
Love love love it!
Kathy Kerr
Richmond Hill Ontario
The

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint Anthonis, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Good central point. Friendly staff. Good food. Easy walking distance from local restaurants and shopping mall. Excellent place for meeting / small congress. Walking distance from parliament and Rideau canal. Green option - room not serviced every day - is a good idea! Some rooms have terrific views!!

Room Tip: 13th floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Stephen, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Upon arrival, my spouse and I were given a room with two double beds. We requested a room with one king bed. We requested a room change, but were told none were available. Folks that checked in after us were allotted a king bed (individual was travelling alone within the same organization).....not a great first impression....

For the record, we have an SPG card with our room preference specified. Apparently these cards are not worth the time to fill out....

Secondly, upon our arrival to our room, we discovered the refrigerator had not been cleaned out from prior guests (half empty pop bottles in the fridge). Makes you wonder what else has been overlooked by housekeeping?

We were assigned a new room (surprising how this room suddenly became vacant so quickly). Unfortunately, still with two beds. So, we will spend our Valentines Day in two separate beds. Thanks Westin....:(

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinOttawa, Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear LAR2013,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments as your feedback allows our team to continually better our service. I would like to take this opportunity to express my sincere apologies for not having met your expectations during your arrival at the Westin Ottawa. We strive to provide our guests with opportunities of renewal and always try to ensure that you leave feeling better than when you arrived.

I can certainly understand your frustration arriving to a room that was less than pristine and want to assure you that your experience was not typical. I am happy to note that our team was able to accommodate you with a room with a king size bed for this special Holiday weekend after the initial challenges you experienced. I will be sure to pass along your comments to the appropriate departments to ensure that your experience is not repeated.

Once again I would like to thank you for your feedback as it helps us better our service.

Be Well,

P Fritz

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Ottawa

Address: 11 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#15 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Ottawa 4*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westin Ottawa is near Parliament Hill and the scenic Rideau Canal, historic sights and world-class shopping at the adjoining Rideau Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Westin Ottawa
Westin Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Ottawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.