We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money just for the location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Ottawa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Ottawa to your Saves list
The Westin Ottawa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9H4, Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orangeville, ON
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth the money just for the location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My sister and I stayed at the Westin during our first trip to Ottawa and found the location to be everything we needed! It was so convenient to be able to park our car in the garage and walk everywhere we wanted to go. Just across the street from the Rideau canal, and with very close access to Parliament Hill and the ByWard Market, it was perfect for what we needed.
The room was a good size. Check in was quick and easy, and the staff were helpful. The room was very clean - only exception being a slight stain on one of the bed covers. The beds were wonderfully comfortable! The pool and hot tub were lovely, especially after skating on the canal for a couple hours.
Would highly recommend this hotel if staying in Ottawa - the location is exceptional and having a view of Parliament Hill out your window is wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    379
    155
    63
    25
See reviews for
232
303
70
491
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
478 helpful votes 478 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The Westin would usually be way out of my budget, but a family member booked a room for me with their points. So admittedly, it’s that much easier to enjoy a place when you haven’t had to pay for it.

That being said, it was very luxurious and comfortable. The room was big and renovated, the bed and pillows plush, and everything very clean. The bathroom was very big and clean, the shower was huge, and the amenities wonderful. Some rooms even have a view of Parliament.

Although the water was lukewarm, the salt water pool was a nice treat, with convenient changing rooms and a sauna. Additionally, the lounge area in the lobby was very cozy with its huge gas fireplace.

A 5 minutes walk from Parliament hill, it is also right across the street from the Rideau Canal which was very convenient for when we went skating. The hotel also has an indoor connection to the Rideau shopping center and the Ottawa convention center.

Service was very professional and courteous; the concierge was very helpful as well. The only hiccup we experienced during our stay was when we called down to have the valet prepare our car and they did not receive the message.

Parking is available in 2 formats: Self-park costs 20$ per day, but does not come with “in-and-out” privileges. Otherwise, there is valet parking, which costs 32$ per day, but comes with unlimited “in-and-out” privileges. Street parking is also available, but metered.

There is a charge for in-room wi-fi, which I believe was 15$ per day. Otherwise, free wi-fi was available in the lobby.

Overall, a solid 4 star hotel…especially if you can get it at a good price.

Room Tip: Rooms facing west (especially on higher floors) have a view of Parliament hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinOttawa, Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Stinz3,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I would however, like to extend my apologies that we missed your vehicle request. Although not as prompt as our service should have been, I hope that our team was able to remedy the situation quickly.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

P Fritz
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Beautiful hotel, close to everything and conveniently connected to the Rideau Centre indoor shopping mall. Traveled with two teenagers on March Break. We were able to walk just about everywhere, except for the Museum of Natural History. The Mint, the National Gallery, the Byward Market, cinemas, restaurants and Parliament Hill were all very close, as was the train station, which was only about a $10 taxi ride. The rooms are new and clean with lovely city views. The pool and hot-tub and exercise areas are well-appointed and accessible. The breakfast restaurant also has a lovely view of the cultural centre and the canal and the buffet was wonderful. It was a very pleasant way to spend a few days in the Capital.

Room Tip: Stayed here many times and never had a bad room. The hotel is quite new. You can choose a room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The Westin Ottawa is convenient to the mall, restaurants downtown, and the like. The beds are heavenly of course and the only pain is the parking which is $20 bucks a day. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were very impressed with our two night stay at the Westin Ottawa. A few days before our arrival we received an email from the concierge informing us that we would receive a free upgrade as a SPG gold member and asked if we had any special requests/special check in times...a nice gesture. The room was amazing, we had a Parliament view room, spectacular views! Bed was totally comfortable as usual in the Westin. The only problem we had was with the refrigerator, it did not work and we had medicine we needed to keep cold. They said they would send up a replacement one (on two separate occasions) and never did. We made due by keeping it on ice, but was disappointed that they never followed through. Also, we requested (in the email to the concierge) to not have housekeeping and instead receive an extra 500 StarPoints, this request was ignored as well.

Overall, these were minor problems and we would definitely stay here again. The location across from the Rideau Canal is absolutely perfect, with a short walk to the Byward Market area. Also, the hotel is conveniently connected to a mall so we enjoyed shopping/having lunch there, it was like the hotel had its own personal food court.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear TravelersFromNJ225,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed the wonderful view during your stay and the personalized e-mail from our concierge team. I was, however, disappointed to hear that your requests were not acted upon during your stay. I can assure you that this is not typical, but that we will use it as a learning opportunity to ensure it does not occur in the future. While you encountered some challenges during your stay, I am pleased to know that your overall experience was a positive one and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you and be well,
John J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here many times as a SPG guest or as a hotwire or priceline guest. You do in fact get treated differently when you are a SPG member. The staff at front desk are nice but I've noticed the difference in treatment where they come around out from the desk, smile and greet you more warmly being an SPG as opposed to regular guest. Check in is a little slow most time they don't have full staff on and big line ups. So best time I find is around 6pm. The pool area is nice and clean, the hot tub however is not so clean and had several dirty towels around the area. The lobby is gorgeous and clean and most staff at door on hand are helpful in anyway possible. The room itself was something else. Upon check in noticed a very dirty carpet with crumbs and debris of food on the lounge chair and floor. Also there was a ginger ale can opened on the night stand and garbage near the television unit. Called down and manager came up to apologize, investigate and move me over to a clean room. He was great in switching to a beautiful view room and moved luggage and even helped hang jacket in new room. I was very impressed by the follow up. It saddens me to expect such standards and walk into a filthy room especially for the price you pay to stay at a five star. But it's always great when they try their best to make it up. The new one was clean, large and the bed is very comfortable. Decor is simple and nice. Room temperature was well adjusted. There is a cafe in the corridor on one of the lower levels and the mall is connected to the hotel and conference centre. Parks and canal steps away. Bad first impression this time around but great try at redemption.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear CanJAD

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear that your room was not in a proper state upon your arrival and can assure you that your experience is not the standard. I am glad to hear that one of our Managers was able to connect with you and resolve the problem. Although your first impression was not desirable, I am pleased that we were, in small part, able to redeem your stay and overall experience with us.

Thank you and be well,
John J
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed here for business. The service in the hotel was excellent and very accommodating. The location in Ottawa is perfect. Room was comfortable and clean. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Ottawa.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Ottawa

Address: 11 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#8 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Ottawa 4*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westin Ottawa is near Parliament Hill and the scenic Rideau Canal, historic sights and world-class shopping at the adjoining Rideau Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Starwood, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Westin Ottawa
Westin Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Ottawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.