We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa to your Saves list
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Coventry Road, Ottawa, Ontario K1K 4S3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early, Save 15%
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
East Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I towards the beginning of August as a quick weekend getaway from Vermont. About a 2 1/2 hour drive from Burlington, Ottawa is a bilingual city offering plenty of amazing culture. The hotel is located in a convention area with a Courtyard Marriott on the other end of the center. There are even discount cards available at the Hampton front desk for Courtyard's Bistro. The hotel is definitely an older Hampton but it is obvious that the staff, management, and owners truly care about their property as it shows in the cleanliness, repair, and service. One of the elevators did go down during our stay and the elevator company was there within a few hours and had it up and running. I read some other reviews regarding the elevators and those people seriously need to be aware that the hotels don't have much control over their elevators being fixed; elevators must only be serviced by licensed service-people for safety reason. Continue using the company that you use, they're much better than Otis in the states! A two-three hour response time to a broken down lift is wonderful! We were going to take the bus into the city but because the weather was so nice, we were able to walk to parliament and back through this beautiful park on the river. The only reason why I'm not giving the hotel a 5/5 is because of the mattress. It was easily one of the firmest mattresses I've ever slept on and after investigating, I found that it was some old Serta bed and NOT the Serta Hilton Suite Dreams seen at all of the other Hampton properties we stay in...I look forward to the hotel re-investing in their beds considering the business is selling a good night's sleep and a bed can easily be a deal breaker.

Room Tip: Request to not be on 1st floor. The room we were in, 118, was sidewalk level, I could hear people w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina G, Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review of your stay at the Hampton Inn Ottawa! We are very glad you liked your stay with us, and do apologize for the trouble sleeping, but I am glad to inform you that we have ordered a number of new mattresses, and at this point I believe they should be here within two to three weeks. To be safe, since it depends on the supplier, within a month - so you should be fine for your next visit!

Thank you also for understanding our troubles with elevators - as you pointed out, we are not supposed to touch them, and the best thing we can do is to put pressure on the elevator company when anything like that happens. Which, of course, we do, as this is an equal inconvenience to you as a guest and to our employees who have to clean rooms.

We do hope we will be able to welcome you back soon at the Hampton Inn Ottawa!

Sincerely,
Valentina Gaca,
Assistant General Manager,
Hampton Inn Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    223
    67
    13
    3
See reviews for
232
105
34
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

While this hotel is a little off the beaten track related to tourist attractions, it was a great hotel with nice rooms, a good breakfast and friendly staff. A mall is in walking distance. The cab ride to downtown was about $11, so was easy and made this workable for both business and tourism.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina G, Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing a review of your stay at the Hampton Inn Ottawa! We are very pleased your stay with us was enjoyable and up to your standards!

We wish to thank you again for your patronage and do hope we will be able to welcome you back at the Hampton Inn Ottawa soon again!

Sincerely,
Valentina Gaca,
Assistant General Manager,
Hampton Inn Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed at the Hampton Inn in June 2013.
The experience was great. The staff was wonderful. Very pleasant, positive and polite,
complimentary breakfast was good, and the pool was a bonus.
The bed linens are cleaned every stay,and the rooms are very spacious.


Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina G, Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of your stay at the Hampton Inn Ottawa! It is always wonderful to get such nice comments from our guests - our staff works extremely hard on making each and every guest feel welcome and at home in our hotel.

We will be very happy to welcome you back to the Hampton Inn Ottawa, in the meantime we remain

Sincerely,
Valentina Gaca,
Assistant General Manager,
Hampton Inn Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Have stayed at the Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa on many occasions. Every time I am left feeling very positive about my experience. The hotel is large and clean and the staff are helpful and friendly. The location is good (but not very close to Ottawa's historic downtown core so a vehicle or public transit will be a must). Rooms are spacious, laundry facilities are top notch, and the fitness centre has all that you need to get a work out in while on the road. Breakfast is very well done at this Hampton. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina G, Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your continous patronage and for writing a review of your stay at the Hampton Inn Ottawa! We are very glad you have enjoyed your stay with us on multiple occasions and do hope we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel again!

Sincerely,
Valentina Gaca,
Assistant General Manager,
Hampton Inn Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my kids for a few days in August 2013 while visiting Ottawa. The room was clean and breakfast was as expected from a Hampton - hot, full of options and plentiful. The lady at breakfast is adorable and very friendly. Made us feel very welcome. The pool and hot tub were clean and towels were available. Room was quiet for sleeping.

In regards to the location, the hotel is a bit of a distance away from downtown Ottawa so if that is where you are spending your time, you will have to drive and find parking. The drive is not that bad even though the highway was under construction when we went.

I would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina G, Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review of your stay at the Hampton Inn Ottawa - we are very glad you and the family enjoyed your stay with us and found our facility and amenities up to your standards! I also wish to thank you for the compliments extended to our breakfast staff - the ladies will be very happy to see your comment.

We do hope to welcome you back at the Hampton Inn Ottawa soon again - until then, we remain

Sincerely,
Valentina Gaca,
Assistant General Manager,
Hampton Inn Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here twice now either visiting or moving my son to university. Its a five minute drive to U of O and another five minutes to suburban shopping in the other direction. Only 2 minutes from the highway and short cab to the train station. If you have a car this is a great place as you are only five minutes from all the downtown sites. Hotel is newer and 'Hampton reliable'. Has a pool, free wifi. Staff were always helpful and pleasant. Rooms in good shape and he hotel is quiet at night. Best sleep in a hotel in a long time. Rates were very reasonable and a good quality breakfast wit lots of choices was included.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina G, Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review of your stay at the Hampton Inn Ottawa! We are very pleased to hear your stay with us was enjoyable and that you found our services and amenities up to your standards. Our staff works very hard on making each and every guest like yourself feel at home here and they will be very glad to read your comments.

We thank you again for your patronage, and do hope we will be able to welcome you soon again!

Sincerely,
Valentina Gaca,
Assistant General Manager,
Hampton Inn Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had an excellent stay....staff was great...kids enjoyed the pool.....staff was able to accommodate our request to park the car the next day while we took the tour of Ottawa. Definitely would recommend this hotel...family and business friendly.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina G, Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review of your stay at the Hampton Inn Ottawa! We are very happy you and the family enjoyed your stay with us and do hope we will be able to welcome you back with us soon again!

Sincerely,
Valentina Gaca,
Assistant General Manager,
Hampton Inn Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa

Address: 100 Coventry Road, Ottawa, Ontario K1K 4S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#15 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Hampton Inn Ottawa
Ottawa Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.