We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is a reasonably priced lodging, well managed, with a caring, friendly staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Ottawa Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Ottawa Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Ottawa Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Laurier Avenue West, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5J2, Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Vancouver Island
1 review
“This hotel is a reasonably priced lodging, well managed, with a caring, friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

Cannot say enough about the staff of this hotel. To a person, they showed themselves to be friendly, helpful, and dedicated. The room (suite) was very well appointed and clean. Our next trip to Ottawa will most definitely involve this hotel. Would like to single out Ms. Champagne - the general manager, and Franca of housekeeping for special kudos. Also the front desk staff (sorry, I didn't get all their names) for being helpful. They made us feel that we had new friends in Ottawa even though our stay was only three nights.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAB8899, Cluster Director of Sales & Marketing at Residence Inn by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, October 16, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay with the Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa. I will be sure to pass along your comments to both Nancy Champagne, our General Manager, and Franca who is in housekeeping, as well as the front desk staff.
We are very proud of all of our staff members and their focus on customer-service. We feel it is what brings our guests back to the hotel time and again.
Again, many thanks for posting the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    151
    53
    24
    4
See reviews for
120
52
19
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

This hotel is located right in downtown. There is underground parking at a fee. Room comes with the usual kitchenette. You can pretty much walk anywhere from this hotel with lots of great restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAB8899, Cluster Director of Sales & Marketing at Residence Inn by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, October 16, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay with the Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa. Your feedback will be shared with the staff as we always enjoy celebrating their success. We are very proud of all of our staff members and their focus on customer-service. We feel it is what brings our guests back to the hotel time and again.
Our location, right in heart of downtown Ottawa, means that our guests are within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, museums and more. Many of our guests just park their cars and head out on foot to visit the city.
Again, many thanks for posting the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

I'm writing this review from our one bedroom suite at the Residence in Ottawa. The room has recently been renovated (as have all the rooms) and is surprisingly large and well appointed for this level of hotel. The service has been friendly and efficient, the free breakfast as good as most similar offerings. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to Parliament Hill, the center of happenings in Ottawa. No real complaints; good value.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAB8899, Cluster DIrector of Sales & Marketing at Residence Inn by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, September 29, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay with the Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa. Your feedback will be shared with the staff as we always enjoy celebrating their success. We are very proud of all of our staff members and their focus on customer-service. We feel it is what brings our guests back to the hotel time and again.
We have just recently completed renovations to our suites and we are excited to have this new look & feel for our guests to experience. We hope all of our guests thrive on their stays at the hotel.
Again, many thanks for posting the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

Went there with wife and kid for the Labour day weekend and had a great time. Wonderful location, close to the museums, Parliement, restaurants, shopping streets, bike paths...

The room was huge and well kept. It was a long weekend and the place was packed so the staff was a bit overwhelmed but everything was still going semi-smoothly. The presence of a young boys soccer team didn't help with the noise level and the breakfast food availability though...

The pool was better than was I was expecting and bigger than other Residence Inn we previously went to.

It's a great place for families with complimentary breakfast, internet, the fully equipped kitchen, the pool, the location...

One last thing: I made my initial reservation through Mariott's website. I looked everywhere and could not find a better rate. 2 days before getting there, I noticed that Ottawa tourism website has a promotion where the third night of your stay is half price. I sent an email to Mariott and they quickly price matched and even added another 25% reduction for the third night. Real happy about this.

Overall, a great weekend and a great experience. We will definitively go back to this hotel when we come back to Ottawa.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAB8899, Cluster Director of Sales & Marketing at Residence Inn by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, September 14, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay with the Residence Inn by Marriott Ottawa. It is the feedback we receive from our guests that assist us in improving the services we provide.

The Residence Inn Ottawa is certainly a great spot to stay when you are traveling with your family especially our one-bedroom suites. We have recently been renovating our suites and it looks like you stayed in one of our newer units.

As many families enjoy our spacious suites, so do the occasional sports teams that visit the capital region for competitions. Though the staff does their best to contain the excitement, it can sometimes get quite busy in the hotel and at breakfast time. Your comments regarding the breakfast will be reviewed with our Management team and we'll look for ways to improve service on those busy weekends so everyone can enjoy a relaxing breakfast.

Again, many thanks for posting the review and we hope to see you again soon.

Denise Breau
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

For several years now my family and I have spent the month of August in Ottawa, staying at the Residence Inn Downton, 161 Laurier Street. We have had nothing but the most positive experiences. We generally rent a double suite and find the accomodations bright, clean, comfortable and spacy. Our suite comes with a full kitchen and with anything you would generally need in a kitchen. This allows us to save money by not always having to eat out and yet, within walking distance are various restaurants ranging from fast food to fine dining. Just 10 minutes away is the Byward Market which is an open market (with a central building loaded with restaurants and stores) where youi can purchase a huge variety of fresh, locally grown vegetables.

The staff at the Residence Inn are marvelous and willingly and happily do their very best to make you feel comfortable and welcome. We have been treated like royalty on each visit which is the biggest reason we return there year after year. The second reason is the niceness of the entire hotel and its central location to everything. Many, many interesting and varied sites are within easy walking distance.

The General Manager, Ms. Nancy Champagne, is always available to her staff and her guests. We have found her to be more than just a manager and have come to view her as a friend. It is a rare thing to find the manager of the company presenting and attending evening toasts for the hotel guests but at Residents Inn there are special events presented just off the hotel lobby weekly and every other week is the Manager's Toast where guests have their choice of several snacks such as various cheeses and crackers and breads and various drinks such as tea, coffee, and juices. Ms. Champagne makes a point of being in attendance and personally greeting as many of the hotel guests as possible. In addition, there is a free buffet breakfast served daily in this area and it consists of a variety of hot and cold breakfast foods. Again, it is not unusual to find Ms. Champagne in attendance, making the rounds, greeting her guests. A rare thing in this day and age.

If asked I would HIGHLY recommend the Residence Inn Downtown Ottawa. If you want a nice relaxing vacation with no unhappy surprises; or, if you are in Ottawa for a business function, Residence Inn is where you want to be.

I can, and do, highly recommend it.

Cliff Lowe

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAB8899, Cluster Director of Sales & Marketing at Residence Inn by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, September 14, 2009
Mr. Lowe

As always, it was a pleasure hosting you and your family for your annual trip to Ottawa. Most of all, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay with the Residence Inn by Marriott Ottawa.

Having guests, such as you and your family that consider the Residence Inn Ottawa their home away from home, validates our purpose and vision for the service we provide. We look forward to seeing our guests return on a regular basis.

Again, many thanks for posting the review and we hope to see you again soon.

Denise Breau
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

we stayed for 3 nights and had a great time at this hotel. The kids loved the shallow pool and the two tv's in the room was great because i could watch something at the same time other than cartoons! The breakfasts and a couple of evening food snacks were greatly appreciated as it allowed us to get going with our the day/night and not have to go to a restaurant (again!) to eat. Great location and wicked room...and great pillows
We used the laundry and that was perfect ...clean etc
I know where we'll stay when we're back in the big "O"

dano lee

ps the kids even got a kick out of the old underground parking lot!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAB8899, Cluster Director of Sales & Marketing at Residence Inn by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, September 14, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay with the Residence Inn by Marriott Ottawa. It is the feedback we receive from our guests that assist us in improving the services we provide.

The Residence Inn Ottawa is certainly a great spot to stay when you are traveling with your family especially our one-bedroom suites which give families plenty of space to spread out. I personally always enjoy being able to watch what I want on the TV!

Again, many thanks for posting the review and we hope to see you again soon.

Denise Breau
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

This staff has helped to make our extended stay feel like a home. After a month we are still enjoying our stay here. Our accommodations have been wonderful. Rooms are newly renovated. Suite room is large. Everything we need is included. Housekeeping keeps it clean. Desk staff has immediately gotten anything that we have requested. They have been very accommodating and have gotten to know us during our stay. They have gone above and beyond. Hotel has been great for our two young children. Location is great - you can walk to so many things nearby. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the downtown Ottawa area. It is great for families or those needing to do business.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Ottawa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Ottawa Downtown

Address: 161 Laurier Avenue West, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5J2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#23 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Ottawa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Ottawa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.