We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Changing of the Guard

Changing of the Guard
East Lawn, Rideau Hall | Parliament Hill, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0M8, Canada (Byward Market Area)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 102 Attractions in Ottawa
Type: Performances, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Formal ceremony taking place daily during the summer on Parliament Hill that shouldn't be missed.
Barbeau, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had a really good spot for observing the Changing of the Guard. It was fun to watch, and the music was done really well.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    114
    35
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“On Guard for Thee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

As a former member of the Governor General Foot Guards I can state that the changing of the guard is a very spectacular ceremony that will hold ones attention during the entire ceremony. When in Ottawa make sure visit the Parliament buildings and watch the changing of the guards.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always fun to watch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

What isn't there to like? I also got to see a few guards that switched go home with their girlfriends. It's probably one of the greatest things you can show a kid. I'm not a kid and I enjoyed it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Wonderful show!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

You cannot visit Ottawa without seeing the changing of the guard. This impressive military drill is a real pleasure. Don't forget to bring a camera!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“First time viewer.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were travelling with our 3 children and decided to take a walk to the parliament buildings which were being refurbished. So it wasn't the greatest to look at. But we managed to come just in time for the Changing of the Guard. It was a bit long and the kids got a little fidgety. Not terribly exciting but it was something to see. I would definitely say it's something to experience once in a lifetime if you are visiting Ottawa.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Changing of the Guard also viewed

 

Been to Changing of the Guard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Changing of the Guard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.