We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what's the big deal?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Changing of the Guard

Changing of the Guard
East Lawn, Rideau Hall | Parliament Hill, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0M8, Canada (Byward Market Area)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 102 Attractions in Ottawa
Type: Performances, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Formal ceremony taking place daily during the summer on Parliament Hill that shouldn't be missed.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“what's the big deal?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have mixed feeling about the changing of the guard. Not that I think that it is not impressive nor interesting, but what is the big deal with it?
If it wouldn't be advertised as a must-see, I'd probably give a better rate. Since my expectations were fed with good reviews and recommendations, I prepared myself for taking tons of pictures and videos.
Did not happen.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    114
    35
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Canadian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very nice to see. Bring your camera. Very colourful and pretty cool to watch. Not to top thing to see in Ottawa, but if you have some time, go watch this. It's in my top 5 things to see.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“As good as England”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Toe taping, great pageantry, great start to your day and you can get up close, I have seen the changing of the guards in England and I enjoyed the Canadian just as much.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“This is a must see in Ottawa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you are in Ottawa, you gotta see this. The cermeony was full of pomp, color and pagentary. It lasted for 30 mins as the one we went to was a "farewell" one for the season however I have heard that the normal ones are 15 mins

It is best if you stand either at the center of the hill ie near the flame or left to the flame. As most action is there

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagrange, NY
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Cool Cool Cool. Loved this part of Ottawa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have traveled all over the world but have yet to hit England. This was as close as you can get without being there. How cool was this. Formal and synchronized yet casually entertaining. The landscaping and historic buildings make for a beautiful backdrop on the crimson colored guards. Do not miss this free and beautiful attraction in Ottawa! A Classic!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Changing of the Guard also viewed

 

Been to Changing of the Guard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Changing of the Guard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.