We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taylor's Genuine Food and Wine Bar

Taylor's Genuine Food and Wine Bar
1091 Bank Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1S 3X4, Canada
(613) 730-5672
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 2,218 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Being a huge fan of Domus we bid on a gift certificate for lunch at Taylor's at a charity event. We were not disappointed. The food and service were excellent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orleans
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great night out at Taylor's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Dropped into Taylor's and had a fabulous dinner. Started with an interesting and delicious charcutrie platter prepared by Martin and sipped on champagne while waiting for our party to arrive. We sat at the chef's table which gave us a great view of the chef and cooks preparing the meals. The waitress was fabulous in her explanation of the different menu items and ingredients. I had the pork belly with scallops, OMG so good! Everyone loved their meals and the relaxed ambiance of the restaurant made for a perfect evening for my colleagues who were visiting from Calgary.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Perfect food, but small quantities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Aside from the bread (which my fiancée loved but I didn't), I found the food to be interestingly and perfectly flavored.

Appetizer 5/5(3/5): Beef and goat cheese with onion tapas was delicious. -2 for value because it was 3 crackers in size and not a proper appetizer portion.

Entre 5/5: Arctic trout was both perfectly seared, but also paired exquisitely with fingerling potatoes, carrots, swiss chard and curried cauliflower.

Dessert: 5/5: Apple tart tasted rich and fresh made, with caramel and bacon(!) added along with a scoop of ice cream. A lovely finish.

Service: 4/5: We found the service to be very good, unlike many of the reviews prior. Always refilling water and bringing more bread. Only issues were some long waits.

The only real negatives were the atmosphere (chilly - though heat increased on request, and cramped) and some small portions for the price. All considered, we would definitely return!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very good, not great, low end decor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Had a very good dinner last night, sat at the bar as there are not allot of tables and they were booked. We both had very nice salads and fish dishes (Arctic Char and Halibut), no complaints about the food, it was fine, not special though. The wine list a bit limited (and quite allot of it Canadian) for a place that has the word wine in its name.
My biggest complaint was with the decor, when at the bar you sit and stare at a rather junk filled counter top and chintzy looking shelves filled with dust collectors. My guess is that they are going for a friendly neighborhood look, But at the prices they ask, I'd expect a little more than the atmosphere that the view provided.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Ottawa's new star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Taylor's is an Ottawa newcomer. But it has longtime local roots. Its owners also operate the downtown classic, Domus, which has been consistently serving some of the finest food in the nation's capital for years. Domus has been my favorite Ottawa eatery since the mid-1990s. And now there is Taylor's. A casual bistro with a short but excellent menu. I has the foie gras torchon appetizer and duck confit as my main. Both were excellent. My sister-in-law had the beet salad appetizer and the arctic char as her main. The arctic char was seared to perfection. We shared two excellent cheeses for dessert. An outstanding blue and a well aged cheddar. We shared a reasonably priced Cotes du Rhone which matched everything. Service was attentive but not obtrusive. I can't wait for my next trip to Ottawa so that I eat again at Taylor's. My apologies to Domus - though there's no doubt I will be back there too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taylor's Genuine Food and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Taylor's Genuine Food and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taylor's Genuine Food and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.