We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of WelcomINNS

Save Saved
You added WelcomINNS to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
WelcomINNS
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1220 Michael Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1J 7T1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 66 Hotels in Ottawa
Kitchener
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good for a night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Has a weekend in Ottawa and ended up staying here for the last night. The accommodations were adequate for our needs, which was really just a room to stay in before heading out. The beds were comfortable, the service was quick and the continental breakfast in the morning was appreciated before getting on the road. It was a little strange that the coffee maker was located in the bathroom, but more funny than anything else.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    44
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
30
20
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mascouche, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Unsanitary. Disgusting bathroom. Hair on the shower walls, not ours. Poor service. Breakfast barely edible and no dinning room, the breakfast is served in the lobby. The toilet was clogged and overflowed. Really bad experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Véronique L,

Thanking for taking the time to review our property, your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are shocked and terribly sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with your stay. We take guest concerns very seriously and would like to discuss the issues expressed in your review with you. Please feel free to contact us upon your earliest convenience at sales@welcominns.com.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel is close to the Ottawa city, located near the exit. Easy to get to city and access all popular places. It is situated at a nice quite place. Check in and Check Out was easy and

- Breakfast was free.
- WiFi speed was really good. Better than so many good hotels.
- The front desk service was just OK, there is only one person at the Desk at all times and you have to wait for a while even to ask for information.

Room Tip: Use stairs to come down to ground floor, it will save you alot of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Waqaslone,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we thank you for the compliments on our amenities and the sleep quality of our property. We are reviewing your comments regarding front desk wait times as it is our goal to provide excellent service to all guests.

Thank you for choosing the WelcomINNS Hotel Ottawa, we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Really bad choice of hotel!! We arrived exactly at 3pm(check in time)to be told that we had to wait approx 1/2hr because the room was not yet ready. Around 3:30, my husband went in the room and to his dismay,it was still in a total state of disarray with food, cake etc all over the floor.Needless to say,we requested another room. This second one smelled terribly of smoke, in spite of a sign clearly stating "DO NOT SMOKE". The breakfast area was terrible. 4 tables only and located right in the reception area and very little choice of food. We decided for the good and old reliable TIM HORTONS. We will definitely NOT be back and will NOT recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear F and F A,

Thank you for reviewing our property with our TripAdvisor audience. We are very shocked to hear about your negative experiences and we are terribly sorry that this occurred during your visit. Your concerns have been brought to the attention of the housekeeping manager, the front desk manager, and the general manager of the property, however, we would greatly appreciate receiving further details on your stay so that we can properly assess the situation. If you could kindly contact us at sales@welcominns.com upon your earliest convenience to discuss your stay, it would me much appreciated. We hope to hear from you soon.

Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Booked through hotels.com. Watch it. Booked on 5th of month for 6th stay with promise of easy cancellation. (In fine print,"No cancellation after the 4th!) With taxes, over C$150!

Location well outside Parliament/downtown district.


Front desk staff very accommodating.The one bright spot!

Housekeeping poor. One mug for 3 adults. Flimsy towels. Had to ask for towels for 4 persons. outfitted for one. Is this just a one=night stopover for the traveling salesman? (Noted a few tour buses stopping there too...good luck to those folks.)

Rooms small, unclean. Mold in bathroom. (A simple spray with bleach would cure that!) Sticky shower base. Yuk.

Breakfast included waffles (waffle maker). Toast. Usual muffins. Juice. No fruit. Cheerios. Raisin bran.

Room Tip: Tour Bus revving up under window at 6 am. If you like NASCAR, IT MIGHT APPEAL TO YOU.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear QuebecoisFrancophile,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so sorry to hear about the negative experience you had with us during your recent visit. We are very proud of our product and we were shocked to hear about the problems you encountered here. We would greatly appreciate it if you could please contact us directly so that we can investigate your stay in further detail. At your earliest convenience, we can be reached at sales@welcominns.com. We hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our visit to ottawa. The beds are comfortable. The AC works even on the hottest days. The rooms are spacious, with good workspace room. It's a five minute drive to downtown, and reasonable access to all museums. Parking in Ottawa is expensive, but the room rates here with free on site parking help to compensate for having to drive downtown and pay to park there. My only complaint is the high starch breakfast and poor quality coffee. It would be nice to have an egg, yogurt, or fruit. But there are plenty of restaurants in the vicinity. Driving in Ottawa is very confusing. Be sure to bring a GPS. Most of the staff in the hotel are not very reliable traffic or direction advisors. The staff could use a little more city awareness training.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Miranda C,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property; we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We love knowing that our guests find our spacious rooms comfortable and livable. However, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our breakfast and you found our front desk team to be unreliable traffic/direction advisors. We have taken note of your comments and suggestions and we hope to provide further city awareness training to our entire front desk team shortly. We greatly appreciate your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again whenever your travels bring you to the Ottawa area.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed one night for a meeting, Room was clean, comfortable and one of the least expensive hotels that was available. Close to downtown and many other malls sights. Included breakfast, would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear James M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property with our TripAdvisor audience. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will likely stay again in the future. We hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WelcomINNS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomINNS

Address: 1220 Michael Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1J 7T1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 66 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — WelcomINNS 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your WelcomINNS reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcominns Hotel Ottawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WelcomINNS, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.