We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WelcomINNS

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added WelcomINNS to your Saves list
WelcomINNS
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1220 Michael Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1J 7T1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Parry Sound, Canada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Spacious and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our visit to ottawa. The beds are comfortable. The AC works even on the hottest days. The rooms are spacious, with good workspace room. It's a five minute drive to downtown, and reasonable access to all museums. Parking in Ottawa is expensive, but the room rates here with free on site parking help to compensate for having to drive downtown and pay to park there. My only complaint is the high starch breakfast and poor quality coffee. It would be nice to have an egg, yogurt, or fruit. But there are plenty of restaurants in the vicinity. Driving in Ottawa is very confusing. Be sure to bring a GPS. Most of the staff in the hotel are not very reliable traffic or direction advisors. The staff could use a little more city awareness training.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Miranda C,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property; we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We love knowing that our guests find our spacious rooms comfortable and livable. However, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our breakfast and you found our front desk team to be unreliable traffic/direction advisors. We have taken note of your comments and suggestions and we hope to provide further city awareness training to our entire front desk team shortly. We greatly appreciate your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again whenever your travels bring you to the Ottawa area.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    49
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
31
25
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed one night for a meeting, Room was clean, comfortable and one of the least expensive hotels that was available. Close to downtown and many other malls sights. Included breakfast, would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear James M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property with our TripAdvisor audience. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will likely stay again in the future. We hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed one night in the hotel. Room was clean and comfortable and one of the least expensive hotels i could find. Close to St.Laurent mall. It was close to the highway, but I could not hear road noise. I would return..

Room Tip: My room was on the opposite side from the highway. Very quiet..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear mlleCurie,

We are so pleased to see that you had such a nice time with us. We are very proud of our clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced property and we love receiving positive feedback from our valued customers. Thank you for taking the time to review our property with our TripAdvisor audience; we look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you to Ottawa!

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Got stuck here as all Ottawa hotels downtown and near the airport were completely booked. Didn't have high expectations, so was pleasantly surprised.

Rooms are large and clean. Beds are fairly comfortable (not luxurious, but they totally do the job). The bathroom was clean, shower had decent waterpressure and a hairdryer was supplied.

The area isn't convenient to downtown - it's just off a highway, with limited dining options and no coffee shop or variety stores nearby. It's adjacent to a Lone Star restaurant, but other than that, it's a bit of a hike to restaurants. It's about a 10-minute walk to a large mall across the street, but it's not a pleasant walk. There are no pubs nearby either.

Room came with a free continental breakfast, but it was barebones - Sad muffins, white bread, cheerios, juice and those make your own waffles. Coffee was pretty awful.

All in all, good value if you're looking for a night's sleep, but not at all convenient to downtown.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear 007_nic,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property with our TripAdvisor audience. We are pleased to hear that you were pleasantly surprised with the great product you received during your recent visit, however, we are sorry that you were unable to discover the many restaurants and pubs within a 5 minute drive from our hotel (both on St. Laurent Boulevard and Ogilvie Road). We are thankful for your feedback regarding our location; though we have always considered ourselves conveniently located due to our proximity to HWY 417 (only 2 exits from downtown) and a main city bus terminal, we can appreciate and understand your viewpoint as well.

We hope that you choose to enjoy the value in our product whenever your travels bring you back to Ottawa!


Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Donat-de-Montcalm, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Chambres de qualité standard, très propres et lit très confortables. Le personnel est courtois et sympathique. Le déjeuner continental est de très bonne qualité avec ses gaufres et ses 4 variétés de muffins très frais. Meilleur prix du moment avec forfait pour la visite de musée au centre ville. Merci pour le séjour! Standard room, very clean and comfortables beds. The staff was courteous and kind. The continental breakfast was good quality with his waffles and his fresh four variety of muffins. Family Museum package was the best deal at the moment to discover Ottawa. Thanks for the stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Stephane A,

Thank you for choosing the WelcomINNS Hotel Ottawa. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with our TripAdvisor audience. We are very pleased to hear that you found our Museum Package to be an excellent value and we thank you for posting your kind words about our professional staff, our clean rooms, and our continental breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Merci beaucoup!

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Very nice motel went with friends to Ottawa stay here for two night...very friendly staff...a bigger breakfast would maybe be a plus but to round it all up very nice motel...I would suggest it to anyone...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Lydiann2014,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope to have another opportunity to host you and your friends soon.

Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughquag, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

WelcommINNS was a nice value hotel. Breakfast included and free parking. Hotel was clean and neat. I was disappointed when I was told I had to pay an extra fee ($10) per night for my 18 year old daughter.

That said I would NOT stay here again because:

Although there was a lot of good here I have to say the main reason you stay overnight in a hotel is to have a comfortable place to sleep and frankly the beds were HORRIBLE. They are supposed to be queen sized pillow tops but they had this hard border and sloped to an uncomfortable middle. Also the air/heat unit was quite loud when it kicked on.

So we didn't get a good nights sleep either night.

The shower was real good and the breakfast was fine but take your food back to your room as the dining area is tiny and cold every time the front door opens.

So I guess we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear DJJOENY,

Thank you for reviewing our property. We appreciate your kind words in regards to the wonderful value and cleanliness of our product. However, we are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We take extreme pride in our hotel and we were truly shocked to hear that you were disappointed with our pillow top mattresses. We would greatly appreciate investigating your stay more thoroughly to better understand your concerns. Please feel free to contact us at your convenience at sales@welcominns.com. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WelcomINNS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomINNS

Address: 1220 Michael Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1J 7T1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — WelcomINNS 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WelcomINNS Ottawa features 109 rooms that offer comfort, style, and functionality. Our charming, pet -friendly hotel is ideally situated right off HWY 417 and minutes from downtown. We offer a variety of room types to suit the needs of all travelers, and we provide free wireless Internet connection in all 109 of our 100% smoke-free guestrooms. Complimentary continental breakfast is also offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your WelcomINNS reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcominns Hotel Ottawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WelcomINNS, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.