We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 2 star hotel value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   402 Queen Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 5A7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
A Getaway for 2
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A 2 star hotel value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I spent three nights here. Thought I was going to be getting a really good deal. But once when I arrived and got to the room I was unimpressed. I have stayed at lower star hotels and had a bigger room and bathroom. I felt as though a two star hotel would have had the same effect. There was not even a mini fridge in the room. I also heard lots of noise in the hallways in the morning. Also when looking for the pop machines they were all sold out. However the sleep number on the bed worked very nicely and the pillows were great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor Review.

On behalf of our entire staff here at Radisson we deeply apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at the hotel. We appreciate the feedback about the room.

Please accept our apology and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact me any time.

Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    160
    133
    45
    15
See reviews for
87
101
33
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the Ottawa Radisson on the last weekend of Winterlude. The city was very busy and the hotel was jammed. It served the purpose we needed....just a place to rest our head. We arrived at the hotel about 3:00pm on Saturday afternoon and check-in was swift and efficient....less than 5 minutes. The room was a good size for 2 of us and was very clean. We weren't a big fan of the sleep number bed, but it was ok for 2 nights. I would recommed this hotel to anyone wanting to stay close to Parliament and if you're staying in Ottawa for a few days.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor Review. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. We do appreciate the feedback.

On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMBRIDGE
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We are currently staying at this hotel for the second time. We had a great stay this past summer. They put us in a room the size of a postage stamp. We arrived for 3 nights with 2 large suitcases and a cooler with no where to put them. I called guest services immediately saying when we were staying here a few months ago we had a much larger room with a king size bed. He said how many are there of you; I said 2; he said well you have a queen size bed that is enough and besides he almost put us in the same type of room but facing a building. I guess he assumed our current room overlooking a parking lot is a "room with a view"! The room is claustrophobic. The pillows are uncomfortable. I cannot get the sleep number bed to work right and the traffic noise and the doors slamming very early in the morning makes this no longer my favourite hotel in Ottawa. We have 2 more nights here; hope to keep my sanity. So much for Radisson's 100% guest satisfaction guarantee. Re-train your guest services not to be so condescending.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher than the 4th floor and unless you are traveling solo ask for a king or 2 queen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for the Review. On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at the hotel in regards to the room and the customer service. We do take pride in our service and I deeply apologize that we failed in that regard. I will be addressing the issue asap, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation will not occur again in the future.
Again I do deeply apologize. I appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations. I welcome for you to contact me thus allowing us to provide you the 100% satisfaction gurantee you deserve.


Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I spent a week here while in Ottawa for work. The rooms are fairly up to date, but have a few rough patches. Below I've tried to make some notes on what I liked and disliked.

Like:
-Cool and comfy sleep number bed
-ok Internet
-friendly staff
-the restaurant on site was pretty good

Dislike
-the location was at the extreme edge of downtown and was a bit isolated
-I found it a bit noisy as I could hear all the comings and goings in the hall
-the furniture wasn't comfortable and was showing wear

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. I honestly do appreciate your feedback.

The location of the hotel is tough a one for me to try and fix, but I feel it's a good location close enough to down town, but without all the traffic noise. I do apologize for the noise in the halls. As for the furniture we are upgrading our furniture in the next few months.

On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel was great to stay at for a weekend with friends. It's conveniently located close to Parliament Hill.

The beds were very comfortable and rooms were clean. However they were a little noisy in the morning and we could hear almost everyone who walked by in the hallway outside.

We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant which was the best breakfast dining experience I have had in a very long time. Lots of healthy options available. Their omlettes are fantastic. Everyone in my group (4) loved their breakfast. I highly recommend staying at the hotel for breakfast. I would come back to just the restaurant if I'm in the area.

The parking garage underground is in need of some major repair. There were massive potholes in the cement surface, some a metre wide! We could see exposed rebar sticking out of the cement in some places. Be careful of the big potholes and crumbling cement.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor Review for The Ottawa Radisson. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. We are having the parking done in the summer and all will be like new.

On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.



Kind Regards,
Darryll Hunter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I almost drove past it, it is quite small. It was easy to find the parking at this hotel. I find some hotels have parking lots that are out of the way, or not indicated very well. Underground and secure.

Check in was quick and friendly.

Rooms were kept at a nice temperature. I was able to adjust it easily. There were no extra blankets so I am thankful for this. It remained warm during the duration of my stay (I set it that way, I enjoy the heat). Sleep number bed was again, fantastic. Very comfortable.

The rooms are quite noisy. I could hear someone blowing their nose in the room next to mine. The toilet would make loud water/dripping noises. However, it didnt affect my sleep. As long as people are respectful I doubt you will have any complaints.

This hotel is close to parliament and the market area of Ottawa where there are some very nice restaurants, lounges, bars and shops.

This is a pretty standard hotel if you are looking for a quick place to rest your head. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor Review for The Ottawa Radisson Parliament Hill. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. We are working on a improvement plan for our guest rooms and more.

On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!



Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum, Sudan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We loved Radisson because of the excellent service the staff provided as well as all the amenities. They have free printing in the lobby (we were able to print all our train and plane tickets), Wifi,free local calls and the location is quite central.

The staff was very polite and quite helpful.The staff even helped us with our laundry. I would say that value for money, Radisson in Parliament Hill is definitely one of our favorite smaller hotels.We're definitely staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor Review for The Ottawa Radisson. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.



Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill

Address: 402 Queen Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 5A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Parliament Hill hotel is within walking distance (less then 10 minutes to the Parliament Hill, and at very close proximity to the Supreme Court. The By Ward market is accessible via a leisurely walk toward Sparks Street Mall and can be reached within 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Ottawa
Ottawa Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Ottawa Parliament Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.