We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Experience and location, location, location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southway Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Southway Hotel to your Saves list
Southway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2431 Bank Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1V 8R9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Big up to 15 % OFF
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Medicine Hat, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Lovely Experience and location, location, location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We enjoyed our two nights at the Southway. It is impressive both outside and inside. Outside a lovely little bridge crossing over a koi pond creates an inviting environment. Front lobby is spacious and staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was tastefully decorated and relaxing. Tea drinkers need to be aware no complimentary service is available. Continental breakfast service is limited from 6-9 am but it is adequate. Our room had a ceiling fan which was an unexpected bonus for warm weather conditions and further enhanced our night's sleep. The hotel is only five minutes from airport. Airport shuttle service was excellent. Excellent location and service!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristine2431, Front Office Manager at Southway Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. It’s always a pleasure to read reviews such as yours.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Just to clarify that we do offer a wide variety of complimentary Starbucks Tazo tea's with
our Express breakfast served 6am until 9am 7 days a week in the hotel lobby.
Also from 5pm to 11pm daily we offer complimentary Starbucks Coffee, and Tazo
tea in the lobby.
Each guest room is equipped with a coffee maker that can heat water for tea, and tea is available in each guestroom.
Again thank you for your review, we look forward to your next stay.

Thank you,
Kristine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    89
    28
    6
    5
See reviews for
75
49
21
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights for work and I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel restaurant had a nice bar to sit in after the meetings were over and the food served during the events was really good.

We also ate out at the local Schwarma Palace which was AMAZING! And was only a 2 minute walk from the hotel. The guys working at the front desk were very nice and went out of their way to make you feel welcome.

I stayed in the back wing (only 3 stories high) and the renovations were very new and very nice. The bed was comfortable and on a quiet scale, this place was mostly quiet for sleeping. Overall it was close to the airport and was a rather pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristine2431, Front Office Manager at Southway Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your review.
All positive comments have been shared with all departments.
We are happy to hear the feedback on the newly renovated rooms.
We are looking forward to your next stay.

All the best,
Kristine Hillis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed 2 nights mid week for a conference. Used the free airport shuttle, it was very quick and convenient. Taxi one way to downtown (near byway market area) was about $30. Staff were very courteous and helpful. Training a new staff person when I checked in, but it went smoothly. Room was quiet, spacious and clean. Hotel was going through renos, but had no effect on me. The toilet had a small leak and water would puddle on the floor. Electrical plugins in the room were hard to access. Bed and selection of pillows was very comfortable. Meals and coffee breaks had great presentation and flavor. The continental breakfast was nice juice, coffee and apples or bananas, but the muffins were very dry. Great value!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristine2431, Front Office Manager at Southway Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We appreciate the positive feedback. This will be shared with all hotel departments.
I just wanted to make note that we are close to the Ottawa transit system. The 98 bus stops on the edge of the hotel property, and will take you downtown in 15 minutes at a cost of $3.30 one way.
It should be noted that if you use the bus system exact change is required, or you can purchase bus tickets minutes from the Southway Hotel.
Again thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kristine Hillis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

First get a room in the Tower - updated and better rooms. The rooms are very large. Service is friendly. That said it is not a fancy place; really more a B hotel. Food at the restaurant is ok but nothing more. A lot of people going or coming from the Arctic stay here - nice collection of Inuit carving in lobby. I probably will stay here again but the Holiday Inn airport is nicer (but more money)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristine2431, Front Office Manager at Southway Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are currently under renovations for our courtyard side rooms. On your next stay I would be more than happy to offer you a complimentary upgrade so you can experience the new look and feel.
We are expected to have 95 rooms completed by the end of August.

Once again thank you for your review.
We look forward to your next stay.

Kristine Hillis
613.737.0811 x 194
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed at the Southway Hotel for 3 nights.
Room was quiet, spacious, comfortable and clean. Carpet was stained. Renovations going on in hotel but my room had not been updated. Safe and small fridge in room. Flat screen TV. Free Globe & Mail newspaper delivered to room daily.
Free wifi. Continental breakfast (free) in lobby included yogurt, muffins, granola, fresh fruit, juice and Starbucks coffee.
Restaurant breakfast very good and served quickly.
Free shuttle to and from airport. Taxi to downtown expensive however hotel is in walking distance to bus with express service to the Rideau Centre downtown.
Pool looked nice but I didn't have time to use it. Interior courtyard had patio tables for lounging.
Staff very helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: My room faced a busy street on the 3rd floor but the noise didn't bother me. Beds comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristine2431, Front Office Manager at Southway Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. What a great review it is .

We are looking into the room that you were assigned in order to ensure the stain on the carpet is taken care of .

We are currently in the middle of a renovation process, and will be updating 95 guestrooms , and plan to have this completed by the end of August.

Please contact me directly upon your return , and I will ensure that you receive a complimentary upgrade to one of our renovated rooms.

Tank you for the review.

All the best ,

Kristine Hillis
613.737.0812 x 194
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

While checking in I asked for a room away from elevator so I could sleep in. Yep, got that room away from the elevator right next to the room being demolished!!! Jackhammer like noises from much before 9 am and the front desk was surly and rude as if it was my fault!!! Never again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristine2431, Front Office Manager at Southway Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are currently under a renovation phase, and do expect to be completed by the end of August.
We do our very best to accommodate all guests with regards to noise and we strategically place guests so they will not be affected by the noise. I will be looking into the room that you were assigned, to see what went wrong, and how for the future we can do better.
We do have a policy in place to ensure that any guest that has been affected by the renovation process is accommodated to their satisfaction.
We understand that a hotel is a place of rest, and we do apologize for the inconvenience this has caused.
I would like to speak with you directly, and welcome you back once the renovations are complete.
Thank you for your time, and I look forward to hearing from you.

All the best,

Kristine Hillis
613.737.0811 x 194
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This Is a great hotel near the airport in Ottawa with a free airport shuttle. Nice big, clean rooms. Very comfy king size bed. Good value for the price. The on-site restaurant is very good. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Ottawa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristine2431, Front Office Manager at Southway Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am glad to hear that the food at the Shallow's Grill was very good .

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

All the best.

Kristine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southway Hotel

Address: 2431 Bank Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1V 8R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#10 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Southway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s time to unchain your expectations about what to expect from an Ottawa hotel just minutes from the bustling Ottawa International Airport and the multi-purpose Ernst & Young Centre™. At our family-owned Southway Hotel, we are totally guest-focused, not brand-focused. Relax in spacious and upgraded guestrooms, dine in our fit-for-foodies Shallows Grill, and take advantage of our free airport shuttle, free WiFi and free parking. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Southway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southway Hotel And Conference Centre
Southway Hotel Ottawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.