We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southway Hotel

Save Saved
You added Southway Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2431 Bank Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1V 8R9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Save Big up to 15 % OFF
Ranked #7 of 66 hotels in Ottawa
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A Real Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed at the Southway for one evening to conduct a workshop. Hotel is easily accessible to the airport. Staff were extremely couteous, especially the front of house staff at check-in. The room was very clean, comfortable and spacious. Enjoyed a wonderful dinner and breakfast at the hotel. Again, the server at both meals were courteous and frendly.
I have stayed at many hotels; Southway will rank with the best. It is not a five star hotel but the staff made you fell like it was. If in Ottawa again, I will include the Southway in my plans.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristine2431, Front Office Manager at Southway Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that all staff were helpful during
your stay.

We look forward to your return visit .

Kristine Hillis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    71
    25
    6
    5
See reviews for
66
43
18
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Iqaluit
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I really like the Southway, they really try very hard to be helpfull. It is always clean and the rooms are nice. I LOVED the lights at Christmas, who ever hung those lights, needs to be congratulated, they are simply amazing. I love the christmas train display.
The only things I find a bit disapointing is the wait for the shuttle both from the airport and form the hotel can be a frusterating. They could use a second van.
Also the restaurant is a bit over priced to say the least and there really isn't much to choose from, the food is good, and the servers are nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristine2431, Front Office Manager at Southway Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We appreciate the feedback regarding the shuttle, and made minor adjustments that seem to be recieved well. Our Airport Shuttle runs every 30 minutes in the morning until 9:30am .
Once we recieve a call from the airport we dispatch the shuttle to pick up at the arrivals terminal. Sometimes with large flights coming in the shuttle has to make 2 or 3 trips to ensure that everyone is picked up . We do our very best to accomodate everyone with the complimentary transportation.

We look forward to your return visit.

All the best

Kristine Hillis
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Even though we were about 8 mes from the downtown area it was an easy drive. The staff in particular was very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable with a nice chair and loveseat. Would only suggest that there be a towel rack in the bathroom. Would stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristine2431, Front Office Manager at Southway Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We at the Southway are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I have looked into your comment regarding the towel rack , and have brought this information to my General Manager. We take all feedback seriously and will be looking into your requests.

We are looking forward to your return visit.

All the best .

Kristine Hillis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I flew in to Ottawa in the afternoon just to spend the night and catch another flight early the next morning. Southway had a shuttle that picked me up at the airport for free. The drive to the hotel was less than 10 minutes. Checking in was quick and my room was reasonable priced. I had a very nice room with a queen size bed, a sitting area with a, foldout sofa and chair, as well as a desk and a 32" flat screen tv. There was a shopping centre across the road as well as a restaurant right in the hotel. I had to leave at 2:30 in the morning and the free shuttle does not run at that time but the taxi was $15 which includes a tip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristine2431, Front Office Manager at Southway Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank your your review.

We are glad to hear that the location suited all of your needs, and we look forward to
welcoming you back in the near future.

All the best.

Kristine Hillis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

The location is the most great thing because it is very close to the airport and there are number of place to eat nearby. Also if you need to buy some grocery, there is metro store in walking distance .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristine2431, Front Office Manager at Southway Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are located in close walking distance to many stores and malls.

We look forward to your return visit .

All the best,

Kristine Hillis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iqaluit
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I've been staying at the Southway since 2006. Even when I have meetings downtown, I always move out to the Southway for the night before my flight. The free shuttle and proximity to shopping, restaurants and the airport make this a no-brainer. The customer service from Luis, Tony, Ray, Dan and the others at the front desk have, more recently, led me to stay here and drive into town for meetings: this is a bit of an oasis, a home away from home...now if only the housekeeping staff could make my bed at home:)

Room Tip: They are in the process of renovating so ask for a newly renovated room if one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristine2431, Front Office Manager at Southway Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your review.

What a review.

Thank you for mentioning our staff members who make your stay an enjoyable one .

We look forward to your return visit .

Kristine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

My organization has been using this hotel since the mid 70's and I personally have been exclusively using it for we'll over 10 years.
Most all of the hotel staff have been there since I began using the hotel over 10 years ago. They are friendly, helpful professional, efficient and obviously very experienced. It gives you that "Cheers" feeling..."where everybody knows your name".
The price and quality of food in the restaurant is top notch and in fact at times you may even need to make a reservation. It seems that people, other than hotel guests like to use this restraint.

I wouldn't use any other hotel for my business or personal needs!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristine2431, Front Office Manager at Southway Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your review.

What a review. Thank you for being a loyal customer all these years.

Its an amazing feeling to read these types of reviews.

Your review has been shared with all staff memebers.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

All the best .

Kristine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southway Hotel

Address: 2431 Bank Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1V 8R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#7 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Southway Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s time to unchain your expectations about what to expect from an Ottawa hotel just minutes from the bustling Ottawa International Airport and the multi-purpose Ernst & Young Centre™. At our family-owned Southway Hotel, we are totally guest-focused, not brand-focused. Relax in spacious and upgraded guestrooms, dine in our fit-for-foodies Shallows Grill, and take advantage of our free airport shuttle, free WiFi and free parking. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Southway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southway Hotel And Conference Centre
Southway Hotel Ottawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.