We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, friendly and great service I would say with this hotel again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southway Hotel

Save Saved
You added Southway Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2431 Bank Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1V 8R9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Save Big up to 15 % OFF
Ranked #8 of 67 hotels in Ottawa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very clean, friendly and great service I would say with this hotel again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012 via mobile

The service was outstanding and a great value. It made our trip.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristine2431, Public Relations Manager at Southway Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to review us on Trip Advisor.
On behalf of our General Manager , and all of our staff members at the Southway Hotel and Conference Centre we would like to thank you for noticing our efforts. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Kristine Hillis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    66
    25
    5
    5
See reviews for
63
39
18
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brownsburg-Chatham, QC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

About 5 minutes from the airport, 20 minutes to downtown. This is a great hotel and excellent value. I stay at the Southway whenever I'm in Ottawa.

Room Tip: The rooms in the tower are newer although a bit more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristine2431, Public Relations Manager at Southway Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for wonderful Review.

We are thrilled that we are your hotel of choice when visting Ottawa.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Kristine Hillis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

After hours of reading reviews of at least 25 hotels in Ottawa, studying pictures of their premises and talking to people who travelled to Ottawa and their experiences with the hotels they had chosen.... finally,... 3 days later, I called and booked at The Southway Hotel.
My husband, son and I stayed 4 nights in a double queen room in the tower. The room was spacious and to my extreme delight, (cause I was scared silly), "extremely clean".
The beds gave us a great nights sleep, with the most comfortable mattresses and pillows ever !
The maid service was superb, we came back every night to freshly made beds, vacuumed carpets and our bathroom scoured to a shine !
Location was great, being minutes from the hospital and late night restaurants to suit our needs.
Staff was professional and informative. I can see why others would find them not so friendly, because they certainly did not engage in any sort of small talk with us as we made comments about different things while waiting to be checked in. They were strickley "business at hand" type of people, and spoke fair, but broken english. To say, however that they were rude would be inaccurate.
Our stay was Nov.30th to Dec.4th, so we had the great pleasure of seeing their winter wonderland village and train display in the lobby. Also, there were amazing lights all over the trees outside that we were able to enjoy looking out our window.
We would stay here again in a heartbeat !
Thanks Southway for a great first time experience in Ottawa !
Susan & Les Martin (Windsor, On)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristine2431, Sales at Southway Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for the Wonderful Review.
We are glad that we could make your stay in Ottawa an enjoyable one.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Kristine Hillis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The Southway has to be the Jewel of all hotels in the Ottawa Region. We stayed in early December and had the wonderful opportunity to view the hotels outstanding Christmas spirit and of course, the Winter Wonderland Village and train display [a MUST see!!].

The hotel staff, service, rooms, and facilities are unmatched and you have to experience their hospitality to truly appreciate the way you are greeted and then hosted.

We are loyal guest and are pleased to recommend the Southway Inn to all of our friends and family. Try it….. You will love it! You’ll keep coming back!!

We will be back every month.

G. Vail

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are perfect and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristine2431, Sales at Southway Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to review us on Trip Advisor.
Your kind words and postive feedback have been shared with all staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Kristine Hillis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Really enjoyed my stay at the Southway.
Had access to lots in the surrounding community for food, shopping, entertainment and transit.
The room was very large, well appointed and good for my stay. The flooring and bathroom was a little dated but in good, clean condition.

I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone needing to stay in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed for a two night stay in a suite for her birthday. On Sunday when we were about to check out, my wife said that the stay was like a fantasy as she was catered to left, right and center. She felt like all her wants and needs were taken care of even before she knew what some of her wants and needs were. If you want a romantic get away spot with no worries, The Southway Hotel is the place were every patron is treated like their the only patron staying there, the staff is outstanding, the decor mesmerizing, and the stay unforgettable.

Room Tip: Every room is a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristine2431, Public Relations Manager at Southway Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
What a great review! On behalf of our General Manager and all the associates at the Southway Hotel and Conference we would like to thank you for noticing our efforts and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We spent one night and enjoyed it very much. The hotel was decorated for Christmas and was beautiful.

We will stay again next time we go to Ottawa.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southway Hotel

Address: 2431 Bank Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1V 8R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#9 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Southway Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s time to unchain your expectations about what to expect from an Ottawa hotel just minutes from the bustling Ottawa International Airport and the multi-purpose Ernst & Young Centre™. At our family-owned Southway Hotel, we are totally guest-focused, not brand-focused. Relax in spacious and upgraded guestrooms, dine in our fit-for-foodies Shallows Grill, and take advantage of our free airport shuttle, free WiFi and free parking. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Southway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southway Hotel And Conference Centre
Southway Hotel Ottawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.