We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Ottawa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Ottawa Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5G2, Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

This is a decent hotel in the heart of the central district with easy access to parliament. Valet parking was easy and fast. Easy highway access. Nice dining room with (almost overly) friendly staff. Not as convenient as some hotels for access to the market area but overall was clean, very quiet and of generally good value.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonOttawa, General Manager at Sheraton Ottawa Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    174
    75
    26
    10
See reviews for
80
104
28
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kahnawake, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We really enjoyed having our meeting at the Sheraton Ottawa on Feb 24-26,2014 We loved the hotel, service and extremely helpful staff. In Particular, I wanted to make a mention of Tony our Banquet Manager. The organizers and myself could not say enough about how Tony went above and beyond for us. One our participants needed to be transported to the hospital and Tony made all the arrangements, informed myself of the situation as well as phoned my colleague at the hospital to make sure everything was ok and she needed anything. We were very impressed by his quick response and attentiveness. Even in little things, Tony made sure we were satisfied and got us everything we needed wasn't what your average organizers usually ask for.

Room Tip: away from the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonOttawa, General Manager at Sheraton Ottawa Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Good Day Lin,

Thank you kindly for sharing your story and your experience while attending your meeting at the hotel. We are pleased to hear that our associate was professional and helpful in all of your encounters.

We look forward to hosting you and your groups again soon.

Kind Regards,

Rob Roy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooty, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We are Starwood elite members and that means we can access the lounge during our stays here.The breakast is good. Service in the lounge is friendly and efficient and just perfect. The rooms are spacious and the beds comfy. Good curtains block out daylight.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonOttawa, General Manager at Sheraton Ottawa Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Hello NannaCar,

Thank you for sharing your comments on your Sheraton Club Lounge experience.

We hope to see you soon again.

Sincerely,

Rob Roy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Coming from California, it's quite a surprise to see snowing in March. This hotel is close to the Art Center, the mall, Parliament building and other government locations. Hotel staff were very friendly and the room is big, not a bad choice for first time visitor like myself.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonOttawa, General Manager at Sheraton Ottawa Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Thank you Raymond for sharing your comments.

Cheers,

Rob Roy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The hotel is well situated if you are doing business right in the downtown Ottawa core, however it is extremely dated, both in the rooms and the corridors. The rooms themselves are quite dark and awkwardly shaped, and the bathrooms appear to be stuck in 1983. The room doors have large gaps on the bottom which floods the room with light, and if you get a room on the 'back' side of the hotel, you have the pleasure of people in the office building that is 50 metres away staring into your room.

The club lounge though, is excellent and recently renovated. The hotel should tear out each floor and renovate it to the same quality as the club lounge.

Also did not like the fact that the hotel tried to charge myself and colleagues for Internet access when it is explicitly included in our corporate rate plan, and I'm an SPG Platinum member.

If you're looking for an SPG hotel in Ottawa - stay at The Westin, which is a much nicer property.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonOttawa, General Manager at Sheraton Ottawa Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hello Daniel,

Thank you for taking the time complete this online review and share your feedback.

We are in fact very conveniently located in the core downtown area of Ottawa which is great for business travelers. Our Sheraton Club Lounge, recently renovated, will surely impress all of our guests, in size and in quality of food and service. As we continue upgrading our hotel, we will certainly move forward with this modern design, as you have experienced with the newly renovated sister Starwood property.

We apologize for the internet discrepancy. We do in fact offer all our guests the opportunity to browse the internet and check emails at no cost. Only the premium package is charged for the higher bandwidth requirements and usage. You are correct in stating that some of our corporate agreements include this package. Feel free to connect with us should you wish to gain details on your corporate rate allowances.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again,

Warm Regards,

Rob Roy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is more than I usually pay for a hotel, but visiting Ottawa for the first time, I wanted both a good location for my plans, and a nice refuge at the end of the day. I got both. The hotel is located a couple of short blocks from Parliament Hill, and an easy walk to the National Gallery and Byward Market area. My room was great and quiet (the room was at the end of the hall) though the hotel seemed to be full. Breakfast buffet had lots of choices. I visited over Remembrance Day weekend, and all staff were wearing red poppies. As for the few minuses, there was little indication of the main entrance, and I ended up going around the block, having missed the entrance to the valet parking, or any indication that one could temporarily park at the curb. I had arranged for parking ahead of time, so that was not a problem. The other minus is that the main floor of the hotel always seemed full of people, lacking a quiet sitting area to hang out. My hotel room made up for that. I would recommend this hotel and would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonOttawa, General Manager at Sheraton Ottawa Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Good Day Shelby,

We thank you for taking the time to write a review from your past experience. We are pleased that our downtown location and proximity to your favorite attractions helped with the success of your visit. Our large quiet rooms certainly offer an advantage for relaxing time and our buffet breakfast changes daily throughout the week.

We apologize for the inconvenience in finding our main entrance. Although we have signage, we realize that the downtown driving, one way traffic and locating our hotel amongst many tall buildings can be challenging. We will continue to work on ideas to help first time visitors to the city and encourage travelers to refer to the directions tab on our website for detailed instructions.

We look forward to having you on your next visit to the Capital.

Warm Regards,

Rob Roy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We visited during Winterlude 2014 and had a great one night stay! We arrived a little earlier than anticipated (1:00pm), check in time was at 3:00pm, but we went to the front desk and they had a room available! GREAT SERVICE! We were lucky and got a parking spot just across the street, the hotel receptionist gave a brief review of parking (i.e. Underground for a fee, or parking on the street, tonight there are no restrictions or snow removal). We were worries about staying right beside the elevator, but we didn't hear a thing all day/night. We had two double beds for us and another couple. It was within great walking distance from Parliament Hill, Winterlude festivities, restaurants, etc. The room was a decent size, we had all our winter clothing, skates and suitcases for 4 adults. There was plenty of room to put everything and still enough room for everyone to get into winter clothing at the same time! We didn't spend a great deal of time in the hotel, but would definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonOttawa, General Manager at Sheraton Ottawa Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your most recent stay.

We are proud our team members were helpful and friendly during your stay. Early arrivals are always welcomed and certainly help when we have a full agenda planned with Ottawa's great activities. Our spacious rooms offer comfortable space for groups or families to work with. Thank you for mentioning.

Self parking in the downtown area is always an option on weekends, and many complimentary parking options are available.

It was our pleasure serving you and your friends and hope to have the chance to do so again.

Warm Regards,

Rob Roy
General Managerr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Ottawa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Ottawa Hotel

Address: 150 Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#21 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#21 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Ottawa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Ottawa is located in the heart of Canada's capital. Our Ottawa accommodations, featuring newly refreshed guestrooms, are just steps away from several of Ottawa's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Ottawa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Ottawa
Ottawa Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Ottawa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.