We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Ottawa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Ottawa Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5G2, Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #20 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Aylmer, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here Friday/Sat/Sunday over the Labour Day long weekend. Valet parking went well, as did checking in. We were asked if wanted to forego housekeeping in return for loyalty points (which we don't actually collect or use) and because we were tired, we just said yes. BIG ISSUE. We went back to change that choice the same day because we realized we wouldn't be getting any new towels for three days (and we needed them because we obviously shower everyday). None were delivered. We asked two more times at the main desk and never did get any towels. We even asked the cleaning lady in the hallway for them, but none were ever left. We resorted to taking them from the pool area and taking some off a cart in the hallway.

There is buffet on the main floor (you can also order off a menu). It is $18pp and definitely not worth it. There isn't much else to choose from in the vicinity of the hotel, other than a Tim Horton's around the block. We ate at the hotel once (we had a 50% off card b/c a family member works for the hotel company). Make sure if you eat there at breakfast that you go earlier than 1 hour before they close. We had to wait and wait for them to bring more food out and then we had to fight for it as it was the last time they were going to bring food out. The bonus is that orange juice is included in the breakfast buffet and it is very good.

Usually hotels we stay at have a free coffee station. There is a coffee station, but be prepared to pay at least $4 for it and any other small food items. We received a coupon under our door for coffee, so it was free for us. Again, if you're up early, just walk around the block (not even a 5 minute walk) for Tim Hortons.

They did have free green apples on the service desk - they were fresh and very good!

The pool is very warm at over 80oC, but be warned that it is salt water.

It is only a 10 minute walk (at most) to the Parliament buildings. It is in a great location. If you want somewhere to eat/drink, it's best to walk further to the Byward Market area, which is past the Fairmount to the east. The restaurants in the area close to this hotel have poor reviews. If you want something to eat before 4pm, the mall across the street has various food outlets (Subway, Chinese food, Second Cup, etc). There are more on the block south of the hotel, right next to Tim Horton's. Restaurant wise, you'll need to walk/drive to get somewhere decent to eat.

It was a clean hotel. The rooms were updated, but the bathrooms could do with an update (toilet/tub/shower). Check in/out went smoothly. For the regular price, I would say it is super steep, but we got a deal so the price was beyond reasonable for us. I wouldn't pay full price for this hotel.

The AC/Heat unit was sort of messed up. Either the air conditioner was runner or the heater. We tried turning the fan off, but it didn't change the issue, so we were constantly turning up the heat or a/c!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonOttawa, General Manager at Sheraton Ottawa Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hello Beth B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am sorry we were not able to exceed your expectations in all areas, but I am happy to hear that your arrival experience went well and that our location was convenient for you. I am disappointed to hear about the experience you had with our 'Make A Green Choice' program. Our intention with this new program is not to inconvenience our guests, but to allow them to partake in our green initiatives and contribute to protecting our planet. We are truly sorry you did not get your requested towels and this is not indicative of the service we strive to provide our guests. Thank you for the feedback regarding your dining experience at breakfast, I will certainly share your comments with our Chef.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Rob Roy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    154
    70
    24
    9
See reviews for
76
92
27
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TORONTO
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Flawless check in , receptionist was nice , provided info about the light & sound show at the parliament, sight seeing coupons and an area map. .the hotel is your typical Sheraton, lifts certainly need an upgrade, rooms very clean and spacious, bathrooms very clean with lots of amenities. The club lounge was the gem of the hotel, thanks to Ian at the club lounge with his pleasant character and professional/ friendly attitude, he is really super friendly and does his job with a heart, he treats every guest as a special guest ...Ian does a great job. My only take on the appetizers menu is for the 3 nights I stayed , the menu has not changed and was basically CURRY flavoured stuff, that was spicy for me and others have commented too and some had left without eating, there must be verities that satisfies every taste and not just one flavour every day
The hotel is a 5 min walk to the Parliament and the Hop on Hop off tour bus and a good 15 walk to the mall and Rideau canal boat tour.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonOttawa, General Manager at Sheraton Ottawa Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hello Amek63,

Thank you for sharing your comments. I'm so happy to hear about your great experience and how special our staff made you feel. Ian, like many of our superstars, really goes out of his way to ensure that each and every guest has a pleasant and memorable experience in our newly renovated Sheraton Club Lounge. Thank you for the feedback regarding the evening menu, I will share this with our Chef. I will also be sure to forward your gratitude to Ian.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Rob Roy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed 3 nights at the Sheraton while attending a family wedding in Ottawa. I am a seasoned traveller and have stayed in hotels worldwide for both business and pleasure. Our stay at this hotel was among the finest hotel experiences I have had - ever! We had a flawless check in from the wonderful, helpful reception. The porter who helped us with our bags smiled every time I saw him and was exceptional. The rooms and beds in particular - ah, sheer heaven! One day we forgot to bring our do not disturb sign in and upon returning to our room at 4 saw that it hadn't been done ( our fault). No problem! A maid who happened to be walking down the hall cheerfully made up our room right on the spot. I was not feeling well that weekend - and that is when you appreciate this kind of service ( and those amazing beds and duvets!) the most. Just to top it off I left something in my hotel room and called them when I got back to Toronto. No problem! It was sitting on my doorstep in 2 days. Unbelievable.

I cannot say enough about this hotel. It was fabulous in every way! Than you Sheraton Ottawa for taking such good care of us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonOttawa, General Manager at Sheraton Ottawa Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hello Nordic5,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so delighted to hear that you consider your stay to be one of your best ever. What a compliment! I'm happy to hear that our staff was so helpful and accommodating. I will certainly give them your thanks for sending your forgotten items as quickly as they did. Thank you once again, we truly appreciate your great feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Rob Roy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel last week. It is a little older, but the location is great.

I thought the staff was exceptional, they are very knowledgable about the local area. The club lounge on the 17th floor had a great breakfast.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonOttawa, General Manager at Sheraton Ottawa Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hello Faye W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm pleased to hear how impressed you were with our exceptional and knowledgeable staff. I'm also happy to hear that you experienced our newly renovated Sheraton Club Lounge, and its great breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres offerings. We appreciate you sharing your great feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Rob Roy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is located just a couple of blocks from all the major sites in Ottawa.
The rooms are excellently well kept. The beds are so comfortable you would not want to leave.
The package included a full breakfast. the food was excellent and the attention in the dinning room was pleasant.

We had access to the spa which we did not use but we did use the pool which was remarkable.

The room included Internet to connect on your laptop or mobile devices with an option for High Speed Internet and full room services.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonOttawa, General Manager at Sheraton Ottawa Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hello Edgar M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We truly appreciate the great feedback regarding our excellent rooms and restaurants services. I'm also happy to hear that you had time to enjoy our pool. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,
Rob Roy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Fantastic location, got an excellent price on Expedia and had a fantastic stay of 5 days...longer than our normal jaunts. Staff were friendly and helpful, especially the housekeeper. So convenient to have a Tim Hortons and Subway (Starbucks and others too) so close by. Valet parking was quick retrieval and easy access, despite not having a driveway as noted by another post. Also appreciated the pool did not have strict hours. Meant we could visit with the kids when WE wanted. Great fitness centre too.

Room Tip: Hotel is going through a room redecoration so all rooms are good. We were right beside the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonOttawa, General Manager at Sheraton Ottawa Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hello Family_Wknds,

Thank you for sharing your great comments. I am pleased to hear that you and your family had such a great 5 day stay. It's great to read such positive feedback, such as our fantastic housekeeping staff, quick valet service and excellent location. We appreciate you sharing your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Rob Roy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall City, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Traveling on a run-of-the-mill business trip....booked here because Westin down the street was full. To start this property has no driveway/parking area...I understand, being a city property it's difficult to have that kind of space but if that's the case your valet parking should be outstanding.. Unfortunately, it's not. For the $$$ they charged, I was disappointed with the service a few times during a three night stay. Front desk service however was very polite and helpful. No delays/mistakes with booking/requests/charges. Room was basic but nice. Don't believe there is any view from this property worth upgrading to. Club longer was a little crowded an served basics. Nothing to write home about.. Location is nice for vacationers, being only a short walk from parliament and other attractions, however if you are looking for someplace a little more upscale for the $$$, try the Westin just over the river, or the Marriott three blocks away. Safe travels.

Room Tip: Not sure if any room would be that much better than any other?.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonOttawa, General Manager at Sheraton Ottawa Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hello David S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am sorry to hear your experience was not what you anticipated, particularly your experience with our valet parking. I will certainly share your feedback with the parking lot management, as your experience is not indicative of the level of service we strive to provide our guests. I am happy to hear that our staff was helpful and that you enjoyed your room. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,
Rob Roy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Ottawa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Ottawa Hotel

Address: 150 Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#16 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#23 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Ottawa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Ottawa is located in the heart of Canada's capital. Our Ottawa accommodations, featuring newly refreshed guestrooms, are just steps away from several of Ottawa's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Ottawa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Ottawa
Ottawa Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Ottawa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.