We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soooo comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Ottawa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Ottawa Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5G2, Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Soooo comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was my first time staying at the Sheraton - it was a girls' getaway to the theatre and an overnight stay on points. Check-in was quick and efficient.
Since there was no time for dinner before our play, we went to the hotel's bar/lounge for late night eats afterwards. My friend loved her chicken wings with carrots, celery and dip, and my crab cakes were served on a spicy aioli with grilled tomatoes and sauteed spinach. Yummy. The bartender served us, and he was pleasant, polite and professional ... and he knows how to pour a decent glass of wine ;-). We liked that he brought the bottles of wine to pour so that we could see that we would be drinking what we had ordered. It was a nice touch. The lounge was also a comfortable place to relax.
Our room was quite large and the bathroom was a nice size with plenty of room for our make-up and toiletry bags. Wi-fi connected easily. There was a large desk and chair, as well as a comfy chair and ottoman for reading or just relaxing in front of the TV. But the highlight of the room: the beds. They were THE most comfortable beds either one of us had slept in in a very long time. We wanted to take them with us ;-). We did not hear the heating system/fan at all - it was a pleasure to have such a quiet place to sleep! The only downside was that the beds were quite close together and the nightstand was teeny. It was hard to find space for personal items, like glasses, and it felt a little cramped getting in and out of bed.
The location is within walking distance to the NAC, Parliament, the Byward Market and many other sites.
All in all it was a great stay, and when I got home I told my husband and son that from now on, the Sheraton is where we'll be staying when we're in Ottawa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonOttawa, General Manager at Sheraton Ottawa Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello GetMeOutofDDO,

Thank you sharing your wonderful comments and sharing the details of your exciting Girls Getaway! I am very please to hear how much you enjoyed the food and wine in Sasha's lounge and that our bartender was so attentive. It was a delight reading about how much you all enjoyed yourselves and had such restful sleeps.

We hope to see you on your next getaway.

Warm regards,
Rob Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    154
    70
    24
    9
See reviews for
76
92
27
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

As other reviews have stated, this hotel is a very solid choice for your stay in Ottawa. Less than a 10 min walk to the Parliament Buildings, it is very convenient to a multitude of restaurants, coffee shops, etc. Stayed here for business this week and thoroughly satisfied with the excellent service and room size/comfort. Overall, a very good choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonOttawa, General Manager at Sheraton Ottawa Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello Painterguy780,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very pleased to hear that you agree with other positive reviews and feel that we are a good choice while staying in Ottawa. Thank you for also commending our hard working staff.

We look forward to your next stay.

Warm regards,
Rob Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF, CA
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel is a solid Sheraton. Clean rooms, good wifi, good food. The rates are a bit steep for what you get.

The staff was courteous, especially the man who worked mornings in the club level lounge.

I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonOttawa, General Manager at Sheraton Ottawa Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hello Sfgarderner,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel we delivered the Sheraton's usual high level of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards,
Rob Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just stayed here a few days on business and you can count on Sheratons to be decent hotels, so nothing here surprised me. Check in was easy and they let me check in early which was nice since I got in early afternoon, room was spacious, bathroom a bit dated, free wifi which is always nice, room service was prompt and the food was not too bad, fitness centre was newish and clean, nice looking pool. No real negatives for me - the staff was friendly, cabs were always available, and the location is very central and easy for any downtown business you have. My room was by the elevator which worried me, but noise was pretty minimal. I would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonOttawa, General Manager at Sheraton Ottawa Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hello d_p_richards,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor. I am very pleased to hear that your expectations were met and that we provided you with the Sheraton's usual welcoming and attentive service. It is also great to hear positive feedback about our newly renovated Sheraton Fitness centre.

We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Rob Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Satff (Especially Banquet / Catering Staff) was phenomenal, namely Tony Wu, Keppel, Kefifi and Lolita!
Very accommodating, attentive to each detail and quick with delivery from service, food prep & set-up, maintenance, etc., for this Event I was the assigned Planner for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonOttawa, General Manager at Sheraton Ottawa Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hello Ruby R,

Thank you for your kind words. Our banquet & catering teams truly work hard at ensuring our meeting planners' events are executed effortlessly. I am very pleased to hear that every detail of the event went so smoothly. I will pass along your comments to our team.

We look forward to hosting your next event.

Warm regards,
Rob Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our annual General Meeting took place, recently and the food and service was outstanding. The exceptional care our server took, with his professional, yet fun demeanor added a great flair to the 3 days. Thank you to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay when in Ottawa. It is very central to many of the main attractions and you can walk to Parliament, The Mint, Byward Market and the Rideau Canal. The rooms are very nicely appointed and the beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonOttawa, General Manager at Sheraton Ottawa Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello Gary C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am pleased to hear that you found us to be perfectly located for your stay in Ottawa and that you especially enjoyed our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Rob Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Ottawa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Ottawa Hotel

Address: 150 Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#16 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#23 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Ottawa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Ottawa is located in the heart of Canada's capital. Our Ottawa accommodations, featuring newly refreshed guestrooms, are just steps away from several of Ottawa's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Ottawa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Ottawa
Ottawa Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Ottawa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.