We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa

Save Saved
You added Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   290 Rideau Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5Y3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay More, Save More!
Ranked #35 of 67 hotels in Ottawa
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and Quality is located in the downtown area. The location is very promising as the hotel is close to the Rideau Square Mall and Byward Market, plus there is a Metro & PharmaPlus around it.

Staff – was very friendly & professional when checking in and out

Parking – There is plenty of parking, it a little hard to find and once you go in make sure to go up if you have big car as I totally missed it and went in the basement and scratched my car while parking in the small areas. Plus its managed by some other company and is a little expensive but gives piece of mind that the car is available in the hotel.

Location – great!... not a far walk from Rideau Square Mall and Byward Market, plus there is a Metro (grocery store) & PharmaPlus around it. There are lots of food shops around.

Breakfast – We had the breakfast included in our visit and I would say I enjoyed the breakfast in the restaurant in the hotel as the food tasted well and the service was great.

Rooms – not bad and clean plus it had a fridge and a microwave.

Hotel area - the elevators are slow, the lobby is clean.

Few perks - The wireless was free, there is a fridge and a microwave at must!.

Things the hotel need to work on would be cost of parking!

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

P.S. – would have given it 5 stars but the parking situation and my car being scratch got it a 4 star. The Parking signs, cost needs to be looked at, insisted of manager saying that is managed by another company.

Room Tip: The higher up rooms away from Rideau Street are quieter; avoid rooms beside elevators & ice mach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamQuality, Assistant General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a nice review regarding your recent stay with us. All of our Team Members provide exceptional service and I thank you for mentioning their professionalism and friendliness. Regarding the parking fee, the rates charged are competitive and are actually on the lower end of the spectrum for downtown Ottawa hotel parking facilities. I do look forward to hosting you and your friends again in future!

Sincerely,

Peter Switzer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    108
    79
    30
    16
See reviews for
66
66
38
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Ottawa has a small downtown area and the Quality Hotel Downtown on Rideau is close to the Rideau Square Mall and Byward Market. The hotel provides very basic but spacious accommodation which is clean although some of the common areas (lobby, elevator) are tired and in need of sprucing up. The "Don Cherry" restaurant in the building is a good place for a convenient breakfast. The room rates are consistent with the accommodation amenities. The Hotel hosts several Asian and Central American/Mexican tour groups and on departure and arrival of these, the elevators are slow and congested. I recommend a room away from the elevators and at the rear of the building. The ambience of Rideau Street near and around the hotel is less desirable with a lot of street noise and urban poor.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Rideau Street are quieter; avoid rooms near elevators & ice machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamQuality, Assistant General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. The hotel is a perfect base as we are within a short walking distance to the Rideau Centre (180 stores and services) and the historic Byward Market which is Ottawa’s number one tourist attraction (local farmers' market and artisans with over 260 stands, as well as over 500 businesses, including some of Ottawa’s best restaurants). During certain times of the year, we do host various groups who want to see all that Ottawa has to offer. When the hotel is at maximum capacity, our elevators will be slower than normal. Like any other downtown city core, there will be homeless people. Our security company patrols our hotel and the surrounding area to ensure the safety of our guests. Once again, thank you for your review and I do look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Ottawa!

Sincerely,


Peter Switzer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here to be within walking distance of Byward Market and Parliament, and we had no beef with the location. The hotel itself had 2 annoying features. First, it's a bit outdated, so we managed to shut our bathroom door with the lock pushed in, meaning we were locked out of our bathroom. We're not sure if the lock button had been pushed in by someone prior to our arrival, or if our young son pushed it in. We had arrived late and were hungry and anxious to head for dinner, but we had to wait while the maintenance man came, failed to unlock it, and came back again with a different tool. Most hotels nowadays have the lever type of door handles where when you push on the lever to open the door, the lock button automatically pops to open. The second annoying thing was you had to use a credit card only pay station in the parking garage, but the station wouldn't read any of our 3 credit cards. We finally gave up and proceeded to check into the hotel, figuring the front desk person could just add the parking fee to our bill. Instead, she told us that 2 of the 3 card readers didn't get very good reception, and suggested we go all the way down to the basement level machine because it got the best reception. So after we checked in and schlepped our luggage to our room, my husband had to take the hotel elevator back to the lobby, transfer to the parking garage elevator, take it to the basement, pay for the parking, take the elevator up to the level our car was on to leave the receipt in the window, take the elevator back to the hotel lobby, and transfer to the hotel elevator. Not a very user friendly way to handle parking fees, IMHO.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamQuality, Assistant General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. The hotel is a perfect base as we are within a short walking distance to the Rideau Centre (180 stores and services) and the historic Byward Market which is Ottawa’s number one tourist attraction (local farmers' market and artisans with over 260 stands, as well as over 500 businesses, including some of Ottawa’s best restaurants). As you may not be aware, the parking garage attached to the hotel is managed by another company. We work closely with them to ensure the machine are in working order. Upon being notified of any issue with the machines, they are notified. I’m pleased that our Team Members were able to direct you an alternative machine to get your ticket. Once again, thank you for your review and I do look forward to hosting you and your husband again on your next trip to Ottawa!

Sincerely,


Peter Switzer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Even I beeing a foreigner, I cold very fast find the beat city landmarks. Localization and world class travel convert us the key for this hotel. I had no problem there at all. Good people, easy parking and fast check in and check out. The only complaint were the vending machines that only accept coins.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamQuality, Assistant General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your good review! Our location is excellent – park your car and walk everywhere you want to go (museums, attractions, shopping, outdoor market and artisan booths, trendy restaurants, Ottawa University, etc.) I appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff, parking and service. We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Canada’s Capital!

Sincerely,


Peter Switzer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrickville, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights as part of a conference at the Ottawa Convention Centre. This hotel was booked by my employer. I would not have chosen this hotel because of it's location and lack of amenities. I know Ottawa well because my work takes me there at least once a week. My company paid $125 per night for a non smoking room with 1 queen bed.

The Good:
The front desk staff were friendly and professional
It is an easy 10-15 minute walk to many of the main sites in Ottawa
The rooms were clean.

The Bad: The parking situation is a real pain. Despite the fact that the parking is attached to the hotel with elevators it is "managed" by another company so you must pay for your parking seperately from your hotel at machines that frequently do not work. Of the 8 people I travelled with, I was the only one who get the parking machine to do the 5 days at $18.00 per day. For business travellers this is a real pain as we all had to submit a seperate bill to our employer rather than having it all on the hotel bill paid on the company card. I know lower end hotels play these kind of games with parking, but for that and the sometimes working machines, I would choose another hotel.

The rooms are a bit dated. In our bathroom the tub plug was broken as was the sink faucet. The faucet moved around when you turned it on and the cap was missing. The curtains were too tall for the room and dragged on the floor. Small things, but signs of a tired hotel.

The air conditioning in your room is turned off when the maids make up your room. Ottawa is stinking hot in the summer, not a nice thing to come back to.

The restaurant service was spotty. My wife was late for a morning session because they kept ignoring or forgetting about her. The food was nothing special. There are lots of much better restaurants around and we used them for the rest of our stay.

The hotel is not in a nice part of town. It is close to the nice part of town, but you pass multiple tattoo parlours and head shops walking there. It looks like the city is trying to clean up the area with a new drug store, but it's not there yet.

In summary, there are lots of much nicer hotels a few blocks away in safer parts of town. I would not have chosen this hotel to begin with and would not choose to stay there again.

Room Tip: The higher up rooms (and more expensive rooms) have fridges and microwaves. Ours did not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamQuality, Assistant General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I appreciate your kind comments regarding our Team Members as they genuinely want to ensure that our guests have a fantastic stay. The hotel is within a short walking distance to the Rideau Centre (180 stores and services) and the historic Byward Market which is Ottawa’s number one tourist attraction (local farmers' market and artisans with over 260 stands, as well as over 500 businesses, including some of Ottawa’s best restaurants). As you may not be aware, the parking garage attached to the hotel is managed by another company. Like any other downtown city core, there will be homeless people. Our security company patrols our hotel and the surrounding area to ensure the safety of our guests. I am truly disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our Company has stringent housekeeping standards and every room is inspected prior to a guest’s arrival. In future, should there be any issues with your room, please do call the Front Desk – our Team is guest service oriented and will do everything to ensure your stay is perfect. Once again, thank you for your review and I hope we can hos you again on your next trip to Ottawa!

Sincerely,


Peter Switzer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRANTFORD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

In June of 2013 we stayed for 4 days. Unfortunately there were some issues with the garage elevator and we found it extremely difficult to walk those levels. The front desk staff (Aimee and Elise) as well as the manager at the time (didn't get his name) went above and beyond to accommodate our needs. They even offered to get our car for us so that we could pack it. Fortunately the elevator was repaired in time

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamQuality, Assistant General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel! We do apologize about the garage elevator. We have addressed the issue with this elevator. Thank you for mentioning the excellent service you received from our staff. Our Team is guest service oriented and will do everything to ensure your stay is perfect. I look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Canada’s Capital!

Sincerely,


Peter Switzer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in July. The location is excellent. Parliament Buildings, Byward Market, Rideau Centre, National Arts Centre, are all only a 10 minute walk away.
The room was clean, but it could use some updating. Towels were rather thin, and the pullout sofa was not very comfortable.
The biggest disappointment for us was the parking situation. Indoor parking is available and there is an elevator inside the hotel to access the parking garage, however, it was out of service for 2 of the 3 nights we stayed there. The parking ticket machines were tempermental, as well, sometimes working, and sometimes not. We had to go down to the garage every 24 hours to pay for the next day's ticket, and had difficulties finding a machine that was working. This is not the hotel's fault, since the parking garage is operated by another company, but it was very frustrating.
It would be so much more convenient if the hotel could include the parking fee in the room rate.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the 16th floor, and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamQuality, Assistant General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel! Our location, cleanliness and value for money are excellent and are reasons why our guests keep coming back. During high hotel occupancy, our elevators will be slower than normal and I do apologize for this. We have addressed the issue with the garage elevator. Sorry for this inconvenience. We work closely with our partners who manage the garage. Any comments or issues we are made aware of are addressed in a timely fashion. I look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Canada’s Capital!

Sincerely,


Peter Switzer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa

Address: 290 Rideau Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5Y3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 67 hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at The Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa you really have the best of everything - the convenience of a great location and outstanding value with comfortable and spotlessly clean guest rooms with brand new 32" LCD flat screens As the closest hotel to the University of Ottawa campus, the Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa is also just steps away from popular attractions such as the National Gallery, the ByWard Market, Parliament Hill, Rideau Canal and Rideau Centre shopping mall, and many other tourism hot spots to enhance your experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Ottawa
Quality Hotel Ottawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.