We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little dated, but clean and comfortable stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa

Save Saved
You added Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   290 Rideau Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5Y3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay More, Save More!
Ranked #35 of 67 hotels in Ottawa
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A little dated, but clean and comfortable stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed at the Quality Hotel Downtown for one night on Sep 15th.
Overall, the stay was average. I would certainly stay here again, as the rate was great and the room itself was clean. Perfect a weekend stay in Ottawa if you want to walk around, don't need a kitchenette, etc.

Positive Points:
- Close to all major attractions.
- The "Book Now" rate with points membership was $110, which is certainly a much better rate that all of the other hotels right downtown.
- Staff was friendly.
- Room was clean and comfortable.
- Parking rate was $16 for 24/hrs. Although a bit expensive, it is about the same or a little bit less than the other downtown area hotels.
- With the exception of a few sirens, the hotel was quiet.

Negative Points:
- Underground parking was tight and difficult to navigate.
- Room was small and dated (ie. furniture had dents, carpet and bedding had stains, small hole in the sink, etc.)
- Smoke detector went off around 8:30 am and would not shut off for about 15-20 minutes. I called the front desk after about 5 minutes. Someone came about 10-20 minutes later, right after it had shut off on its own. The staff member said that sometimes the shower sets off the smoke detector?
- The confirmation e-mail provided directions, but did not state that Rideau St was under construction. Coming from out of town, I had relied on the instructions and did not know where to go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamQuality, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hi KMJFD,

Thank you for reviewing our Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa! QW truly appreciate all the feedback that we receive - it assists us in fine tuning our service committments to you - the guest. You are absolultely correc t- our location - right downtown - steps away from the culture, entertainment and the business sector of Ottawa makes our hotel the place to stay. I am sorry that your smoke alarm sounded during the mornign - but after looking into our systems it functioned exactly as it should have. We can never be too careful when it comes to the safety and security of our guests. We are looking forward to hosting you on your next stay with us in Ottawa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    108
    79
    30
    16
See reviews for
66
66
38
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel has amazing and friendly staff. The room was clean and modern. It was great to be so close to downtown. It was wonderful to be able to walk everywhere downtown. I would very happily recommend this hotel to any type of traveler.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamQuality, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear jennifer B,

Thank you for reviewing our Downtown Ottawa Quality Hotel! We truly appreciate the feedback. Our location is certainly second to none, and in Ottawa everythign is within walking distance of our hotel! We are looking forward to hosting you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel is a short walk to all major attractions. AAA discount available. Room is very similar to other Quality Hotels. It had similar carpet style and fixtures as the Quality Hotel in Montreal. Our 17th floor room had an excellent view. The liquor store and Metro super market was right across the street. I would recommend. Secured parking was somewhat inconvenient in that you had to purchase parking ticket instead of just being billed by hotel. I had to go back each day to buy a ticket before time expired. I later learned that you could buy 2 days of time on one ticket.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamQuality, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear TommyPC,

Thanks you for reviewing our Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa! I am glad that you found everything that you need at our hotel and in the area. I am sorry to hear that you had to keep paying for your parking on a daily basis - but we have a fix for that! You can purchase your parking for the duration of your stay - 2 or 3 days - and have full in and out privlidges. We thank you for your feedback. We are looking forward to hosting you again when your travels bering you to Ottawa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have stayed at the Downtown Quality Hotel twice in the past 2 months - once while looking for a room for our daughter who is starting at University of Ottawa, and again while moving her into the house she is sharing. It is located a couple blocks from U of O and the Byward Market, and right across the street from a Metro grocery store and LCBO.

This was a perfect location for visiting families of U of O students. This is a pet friendly hotel, and they made us very welcome with our puppy - and there was NO surcharge for having a pet (unlike a lot of other hotels we have stayed at which charge up to $30 if you have a dog).

Byward Market is only a couple blocks away -- with lots of great places for breakfast or dinner. We didn't eat at the Don Cherry's Restaurant in the restaurant, mainly because the Market was so close by with lots of other options for meals.

We easily walked the 4 blocks west to Parliament Hill to enjoy the nightly light show on the Parliament Buildings.

Bit of a mixed neighbourhood - some nice homes and businesses side by side with student housing, hostels and homeless shelters.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamQuality, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Jayaruu,

Thank you for your review of the Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa. We are a great place to stay with your pet in Ottawa - voted # 1 on Pet Friendly! Our location - next ot Ottawa University -makes it all perfect for your needs as you mentioned. We definitely enjoy hosting the parents and firends of the students that attend Ottawa U. We are big supporters ourselves! We look forward to hosting you and you rpet on your next trip to Ottawa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Iam travelling to Canada a couple times every year with small groups from Poland. Iam visiting many different hotels on my way, sometimes changing places, but in Ottawa for many recent years Iam staying at Quality Downtown. Iam responsible for my group so Iam glad that service is very proffesional and quick. Rooms are very clean and I never had any complain from my clients. Localisation is perfect so we dont have to use car around center. Manager and staff are very helpfull and kind. Every time I return to Ottawa, even after long time Iam sure that everything will be Ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac Lake, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Suggested the light show on the Parliament building-- a wonderful show. Great location--central to Byward Market's variety of eateries, Rideau in-door large shopping center, and tourist venues--all within walking distance. Beds were well appointed--comfortable and great linens. Bathroom's need a bit of a plumbing upgrade--thus a very good rating vs an excellent rating on Rooms. Have stayed before and would stay again. Underground parking reasonable at $16 for 24 hours.

Room Tip: Request higher floor facing downtown Be prepared to enter license number in parking meter; read dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My family recently visited Ottawa this summer, the Quality Hotel was recommended to us. We were very happy with our choice, the safe and easy garage system cuts back on the nightmare of city parking. The rooms were very clean and hospitable, and the location of the hotel is perfect. The hotel is just a short walk from many tourist hot spots such as the Parliament, the Rideau Centre, the Rideau Canal, as well as the ByWard Market. The rooms are affordable, the staff is very accommodating and the location is right downtown Ottawa, the Quality Hotel is a great choice for any family!

Room Tip: Stick with the garage parking, it is the easiest way to manage your vehicle while staying in Ottawa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa

Address: 290 Rideau Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5Y3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 67 hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at The Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa you really have the best of everything - the convenience of a great location and outstanding value with comfortable and spotlessly clean guest rooms with brand new 32" LCD flat screens As the closest hotel to the University of Ottawa campus, the Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa is also just steps away from popular attractions such as the National Gallery, the ByWard Market, Parliament Hill, Rideau Canal and Rideau Centre shopping mall, and many other tourism hot spots to enhance your experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Ottawa
Quality Hotel Ottawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Downtown Ottawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.