We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Ottawa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Ottawa to your Saves list
Novotel Ottawa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Nicholas Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9M7, Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get our Winter offer!
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Etobicoke
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Overpriced!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are mediocre. For the price you pay, you get a room that should be priced well below what they charge you. Comforters are lumpy. Bed sheets are of poor Quality, they don't even have a dish soap in the bathrooms. Never again. For a little bit more you can stay at the Westin, Fairmount. Ghetto!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear ponceitalia,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Novotel Ottawa. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provides a memorable experience to our valued guests.

I have reviewed your comments and concerns, and I want to assure you that I take them very seriously. Our relationship with our guests is extremely important to us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Ottawa.

Sincerely,

Danny Ponte
Front Office Manager
Novotel Ottawa
dannyponte@novotelottawa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    386
    154
    50
    19
See reviews for
170
222
71
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel itself is great, located in the very center, the rooms are quite big, a bit old fashioned but still very good. The view form the tower can be good once you are at the high floors. Breakfast is continental as commonly in Canada. The bar is really inviting with a nice selection of beers and really good wines.
I have been there with a group of 30 people and we had a congress of 3 days in this hotel. The meeting rooms are a bit small (as it is a tower) but the service and the equipment is pleasant.
Checking out in the morning I payed my bill. We still stayed the whole day in the meeting rooms of the hotel. 1 hour after checking out I got am message from my bank that the hotel charged my credit card another 168 $. I went down to the reception and asked how they can charge my card without my signature. We had a verry long and loud discussion, I asked for the manager who was very unfriendly in my matter. In fact I never had a discussion like that in any other hotel before and I went to many.
This is a no go, sorry Novotel, dont charge credit cards without signature, and be unfriendly on top, you are dismissed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear GWHAM,

Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry that you have view this isolate incident in this matter. I am very sorry that the group you were a member of, had not advised you that you were to take care some charges personally. Having not heard back from you, we proceded to charge the credit card on file, as it is customary in the hospitality industry.

As you can see, our track record is very respectable with a 4 out of 5 ranking from reviewers like you, that have left Novotel Ottawa fully satisfied.

If your future travel plans ever bring you back to the Ottawa Region, please let me know. I will make it a point of personally taking care of your reservation.

Warm Regards,
Danny Ponte
Front Office Manager
Novotel Ottawa
dannyponte@novotelottawa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Was attending Ottawa for work. We stayed at the Novotel which is conveniently located in downtown Ottawa. The foyer is nice and trendy if you like the look. The free apple computers in the lobby are nice feature. We had 2 double beds and both beds were very lumpy and uncomfortable. The carpet in the room was even lumpy. They had a good fitness area and pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The room itself was lovely. The bed was really comfortable and the bathroom was modern and clean.

The hotel is also in a great location - 2 minute walk to the shops and 5 minute walk to the canal and Parliament Hill.

However, the fact that the pool was closed with no notice to guests was quite annoying. I also begrudged paying $23 per night in parking fees. Why can't the hotel purchase some spaces in the parking lot and include this for guests? Or at least secure a discounted rate. $23 was a complete rip-off!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was my second stay at the Novotel. One year ago it was not as highly rated due to the construction going on about the restaurant. Now that things are complete it is a good choice. The location is really excellent although some might be put off by the proximity to the shelter. Nevertheless it is only a safe 5 minute walk into the Byward Market area where there are many fine restaurants and other venues to visit. It is also a short walk to the mall and to the new, beautiful convention center and National Arts Center. My room was a good size. The bed was comfortable and there was a decent sized work table. No complaints here: overall the Novotel was a good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Novotel Ottawa in a room with two double beds. Staff at the front counter were friendly and able to guide us in the right direction for what was nearby. This hotel is in a fabulous location- very close to the Byward Market where there are so many restaurants to choose from. It was a very easy walk to Parliament Hill, Rideau Canal, National Art Gallery, National Mint and Notre Dame Basillica. We were slightly off put by the demolition of a building happening diagonally across from the hotel- but there was no noise to be heard from the construction site. We had a hire car that we were able to park in the carpark adjacent to the hotel. For 24 hours it cost $23 which we considered fairly reasonable for a public carpark in the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Service was top notch and the location is perfect. The mall is accross the street and you are minutes away from the "Market" which includes numerous bars and restaurants. You are also about 10 minutes from the Parliment and the Rideau Canal. The room was nice and clean and had a "modern" feel to it. The pool was also very nice and quiet when we went. Parking was easy and painless, elavator from the parking garage to our floor. We had breakfast included in our stay and it was a buffet. The food was excellent and the staff was very friendly. The bar is cozy and the staff there was also very good. Overall great hotel for the price, I will go again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ottawa

Address: 33 Nicholas Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9M7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Ottawa 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Ottawa, business travelers are a short walk from the business and government districts and across the street from the Ottawa Convention Centre. With nearby attractions like the Rideau Canal, ByWard Market, Canadian War Museum, and Parliament Hill and located within walking distance of the Tulip and Winterlude annual festivals, Ottawa hotel guests enjoy comfort and relaxation in our modern design. Featuring a full buffet each morning and all day service, Novotel Trio restaurant is a great way to start or end your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Novotel
Accor Ottawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Ottawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.