We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minto Suite Hotel

Save Saved
You added Minto Suite Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Minto Suite Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   185 Lyon Street North, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 7Y4, Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 67 hotels in Ottawa
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Happy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have stayed at the Minto in the past, and normally do so when in Ottawa. The location is great, the rooms large, comfortable and quiet.
The staff are great and were all very helpful.
One evening I was too tired to go out and just ordered pizza for room service - I was very surprised at the high quality!
I was there for business but they also seem to attract a number of families, which is nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MintoSuiteHotel, General Manager at Minto Suite Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback here. I was delighted to read your wonderful comments about our location, suites and staff. We have wonderful staff, with many being nominated for Stars of the City. The fact that you have stayed with us many times just adds more significance to your comments. We look forward to welcoming you once again when you return to Ottawa.

Sincerely,
David Zaltzman
General Manager, Customer Experience – Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    290
    272
    96
    49
    16
See reviews for
304
120
31
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights for a conference. Quiet hotel a little away from the center of the city. Easy to walk to the sites. Connected to a small mall with a large foodcourt. Hotel restaurant very good - service and food were excellent. Room service was slow and food was only OK - don't order the pizza. Large rooms, comfy beds with lots of pillows.Clean. Rooms equipped with either small kitchenette or full kitchen which is good if you are there for a long stay and don't want to eat out eveymeal. Bathroom shower due for an upgrade.Two bathrooms good for families. Found the rooms hard to warm up but it was minus 20+ the week I was there. There is a fee for the internet. Staff friendly and helpful. Great posted rates for March Break and Winterlude

Room Tip: Ask for a higher rooms away from the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MintoSuiteHotel, General Manager at Minto Suite Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion about our hotel with others on TripAdvisor! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our location. Our location allows our guests to make the best of their stay, for business or pleasure, in the Nation's Capital; allowing them to visit historical sites along with restaurants, shops, museums and much more. Thank you for your comments about our spacious clean suites, friendly and helpful staff, as well as our rates. I will also share your feedback with the team at Prime 360 regarding your meal and service you received. I would also like to express my gratitude for bringing to my attention the suggestion for a bathroom upgrade and issue with suite temperature. Thank you again for reviewing your stay with us here along with the overall experience of the hotel and we hope to host you again the next time you visit Ottawa!

Sincerely,
David Zaltzman
General Manager,
Customer Experience – Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights in a one bedroom suite. I had stayed here before many years ago but this time was really disappointed. We were put in a room that was in serious need of renovation. It was pretty beat up and not at all to the standard I was expecting for the price we were paying. You can do much better elsewhere for the money, there are lots of hotels to choose from. I will be visiting Ottawa many times a year for the next few years and I definitely won't be staying at Minto Suites again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MintoSuiteHotel, General Manager at Minto Suite Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send your comments regarding your recent stay at Minto Suite Hotel. I was happy to read that you are a repeat guest, but was disappointed to learn that you were not satisfied with your recent stay. Thank you for your suggestions regarding the suite, because of comments like yours we are looking at updating our suite furnishings in the near future as we have recently done with iPod docking stations and sofa beds. I can assure you, your concerns are not indicative of the high standards we have set. We hope to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,
David Zaltzman,
General Manager,
Customer Experience - Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Spent an night there with the kids 32 AND 34.. Great place to stay to walk to canal restaurants etc.. Nice pool to relax in after skating.. Great service.. kids forgot toothbrush etc and it was brought up..My only complaint would be 1.25$ charge for local calls... and not marked on phone... Did not have time to read the book they leave in the room..Used to staying at est Western ad Holiday Inn wherethere is no charge

Room Tip: High up to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MintoSuiteHotel, General Manager at Minto Suite Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at Minto Suite Hotel. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our pool after a day of visiting the Rideau Canal. Thank you for your kind words regarding our location, as well as the great service our team members provide. I am surprised to read that your telephone did not display our charge for local calls. I will bring this to the attention of our housekeeping team to ensure that all telephones have proper displays for services. Again, thank you for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor, and we hope to welcome you and your family back soon!

Sincerely,
David Zaltzman
General Manager, Customer Experience - Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We picked the coldest weekend of the year to go to Ottawa to celebrate a birthday.
The location of this hotel is a little furthur from the canal than some of the other hotels, but still very walkable--(even in -34C )to the parliament buildings (10-15 min), the canal, rideau center, chateau laurier etc .It is in the vicinity of the Sheraton,. It is worth staying here because the rooms are spacious, beds are comfortable, our room was very quiet, and the rooms come with kitchenettes.
The studio had a spacious washroom, a round dining table, a facility for ironing, an alcove where the bed was, and a sitting area with a fold out couch and a comfy chair. The decor was nice and the room was clean. Internet was free and the parking was the least expensive of all the hotels.
We booked through Ottawa tourism where there was a deal ie stay two nights and the third is 1/2 off. It averaged out that we paid $120 for 2 nights and $60 for the third. THis was the end of Jan and I don't know if this deal is available throughout the year or if the prices go up in the summer.
The MInto is attached to a small mall where there is a wine store,, a drug store and a hasty mart(all open on Sat--don't know about Sun) ---- the coffee shop and the other small shops were not open on the weekend
THere are some restaurants within walking distance. The front staff
were helpful in recommending places to eat, attractions, directions etc.
It was lovely to come back after a busy day of sightseeing and have a cup of tea, and even reheat something we had brought back with us and not have to go out to eat.
Did not use the pool.
We would definitely stay here again and are considering other Minto properties in other cities.
You will not be disappointed here unless you want the use of a concierge and want to be closer to the parliament buildings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MintoSuiteHotel, General Manager at Minto Suite Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the terrific review of your recent stay at Minto Suite Hotel! We are pleased that you enjoyed your studio suite, and it met all your expectations - quiet, comfortable and spacious! I am happy to know that our front desk team was able to assist you with recommendations and directions to areas you would like to visit during your stay, we truly have a wonderful team Our location is perfect, as we are within walking distance of the majority of attractions in downtown Ottawa. Thank you for your compliments regarding our suites, facilities and value. The Minto Suite Hotel team and I would like to thank you for choosing to celebrate a milestone with us, and we look forward to hosting you again!

Sincerely,
David Zaltzman
General Manager, Customer Experience - Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Minto in Ottawa between Christmas and New Years (2012). It dumped snow our third day there and we needed to stay an extra night, which was not a problem. Our 3 year old loved the pool and paying for parking was certainly well worth the extra cash. The room, which was the mid-level suite, was perfect for anyone with a kid. The bedroom was closed off from the living room/kitchenette area - so we could put the little one to sleep and spend time awake without waking her. Also, the 1/2 bath in the living room area was a nice added benefit. We will stay at the Minto again when life takes us through Ottawa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MintoSuiteHotel, General Manager at Minto Suite Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your glowing review about your stay with us during the Christmas season. It was a pleasure to read that your family enjoyed our spacious suites as well as our pool, and our team was able to help with any requests. Thank you very much for your wonderful review, and we look forward to welcome you back again, the next time your travels bring you to Ottawa!

Sincerely,
David Zaltzman
General Manager, Customer Experience - Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lachute, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have visited the Minto Suites in Ottawa numerous times usually for business meetings and conferences. I always find the staff to be courteous and helpful. I went there recently and liked seeing the rejuvenated atrium and shops. It looks lovely and had a busy vibe. Another nice touch is that when you park in their garage, they have "reminder cards" by the elevator to help you retrieve your car. Even the parking attendant was super helpful! Thanks Minto Suites!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MintoSuiteHotel, General Manager at Minto Suite Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review, and for choosing Minto Suite Hotel for your business needs. We're quite pleased that you have enjoyed your stays with us, and are a repeat customer. Yes, our team is always working hard to ensure all guests have an inspiring stay – this is why so many have been nominated for Stars of the City! Thank you for all your terrific comments! We look forward to your next visit at our Four Diamond property.

Sincerely,
David Zaltzman
General Manager, Customer Experience - Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Minto Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minto Suite Hotel

Address: 185 Lyon Street North, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 7Y4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#17 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#20 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Minto Suite Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory All-Suite Hotel located near downtown shopping, business & entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Minto Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minto Hotel Ottawa
Minto Suite Ottawa
Hotel Minto Suite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minto Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.