We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for business or pleasure in Ottawa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minto Suite Hotel

Save Saved
You added Minto Suite Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Minto Suite Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   185 Lyon Street North, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 7Y4, Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 66 hotels in Ottawa
Lachute, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A great place for business or pleasure in Ottawa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have visited the Minto Suites in Ottawa numerous times usually for business meetings and conferences. I always find the staff to be courteous and helpful. I went there recently and liked seeing the rejuvenated atrium and shops. It looks lovely and had a busy vibe. Another nice touch is that when you park in their garage, they have "reminder cards" by the elevator to help you retrieve your car. Even the parking attendant was super helpful! Thanks Minto Suites!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MintoSuiteHotel, General Manager at Minto Suite Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review, and for choosing Minto Suite Hotel for your business needs. We're quite pleased that you have enjoyed your stays with us, and are a repeat customer. Yes, our team is always working hard to ensure all guests have an inspiring stay – this is why so many have been nominated for Stars of the City! Thank you for all your terrific comments! We look forward to your next visit at our Four Diamond property.

Sincerely,
David Zaltzman
General Manager, Customer Experience - Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    261
    94
    48
    11
See reviews for
292
117
31
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Was on a business trip in ottawa and my business event was taken place at the Mariott. Since the Mariott was fully booked my boss put us in this hotel instead. I come from new brunswick and "minto" to me means a very small city with not much to offer! Was I ever pleased when I saw the "grandeur" of this hotel. Everything is clean, well-maintained and beautiful. Location is perfect and the staff is super firiendly. Makes sure you check out the Bridge heab cafe just around the corner if you like like real coffee!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MintoSuiteHotel, General Manager at Minto Suite Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review of your recent stay with us. We couldn't ask for better than "Excellent!" It was a pleasure to read your fantastic comments about our beautiful front lobby and concourse area, great location and friendly team. I am happy to share your comments with the various teams involved in making your stay a pleasant surprise. Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay at Minto Suite Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Ottawa.

Sincerely,
David Zaltzman
General Manager, Customer Experience - Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the Minto after Christmas for a hockey tournament. The service from check in through check out was top notch. The front desk was very helpful in getting documents we needed printed and scanned with no complaints. Engineering was great in getting our coffee pot straight, bringing extra towels, etc. The bellmen were also very helpful with directions as well. Everyone was very nice and helpful.

Prior to check in we thought the hotel was a little pricey for a youth hockey tournament. Making use of the kitchen in each room off set the additional cost and alleviated the need to eat out all the time. This was a great benefit with two kids in a hotel for five days.

We had a one bedroom suite which fit our needs well. The thick walls and separate rooms allowed the kids to sleep while we relaxed in the living area.

The workout area was more fitting of a small commercial gym. There was a separate room with free weights and another room with treadmills and elliptical machines. The pool was nice as well, especially watching the snow fall as you sit by the pool.

Overall, this was a very nice hotel with great service, good facilities and a good location. If we return to Ottawa we will again stay at the Minto.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MintoSuiteHotel, General Manager at Minto Suite Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your excellent review of your stay at Minto Suite Hotel last month. Many of our guests rave about our spacious suites – why pay for a regular hotel room when you can stay with us! Thank you for your wonderful comments about our front desk, housekeeping, and maintenance teams, I am thrilled to share your feedback with them. I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed our great customer service, pool & fitness centre and location. I do appreciate your recommendation and I look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Ottawa.

Sincerely,
David Zaltzman
General Manager, Customer Experience - Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have travelled all over and I must say Minto Suites is my home away from home, they offer everything you wish, need and want in their suites including afordable pricing. They have beautiful restaurants and stores within their complex and within walking distance, pool, gym, you name it, they have, not to mention the most important thing of all: they have Customer Service like it should be, wonderful, accountable, home away from home. Thank you Minto Suites for always having a room ready for me just the way I like it and welcoming me back over and over with satisfaction like no other!

Beverly St.Pierre - Oshawa, Ontario Canada

Room Tip: If you have a family, the suites are amazing, can you believe they even include a washer a dryer, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MintoSuiteHotel, General Manager at Minto Suite Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your excellent review. I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stays with us and we appreciate your continued business! It was wonderful to read that you think of our hotel as a “home away from home”. We couldn’t ask for a better compliment! I am pleased to know that our team is always creating inspiring experiences during your stays with us and will be sharing your comments will all departments involved in making your stays flawless. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to our Four Diamond property.

Sincerely,
David Zaltzman
General Manager, Customer Experience - Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were very pleased with the suite we had and the price( $154 for a 1 bedroom suite with 2 double beds). The room also had a pull-out double couch in the living room and a kitchennette which was very useful for our daily breakfast. We also had 2 bathrooms, The room was very quiet and we slept peacefully. The is a plaza on the ground level of the building where theer is a convenience store quite handy to buy juices and milk for the kids.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MintoSuiteHotel, General Manager at Minto Suite Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Minto Suite Hotel. At Minto Suite Hotel, we try to offer all of the conveniences you would need during a short or long stay, and we know that suite type and convenience are key factors. We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your suite and your peaceful stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon, for your next family vacation!

Sincerely,
David Zaltzman,
General Manager, Customer Experience – Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We recently stayed for a one night anniversary dinner getaway at Minto & hope to return again & again. Minto makes it very convenient to park in front & check in prior to using their parking garage. Check in was friendly & quick. The parking garage can be a bit of a challenge should you not handle your luggage at check in. We booked a studio suite & as requested we were located on an upper floor. While attempting to book the suite online I was unable to complete the transaction & needed to call Minto. The interaction was great & in the conversation I mentioned we were going to Ottawa for special anniversary dinner. The Minto rep followed this up with champagne & goodies for us on our arrival....this is how you Wow a client!. The parking at Ottawa hotels can run $20 per night but Minto charges $9 incl tax for weekend stays! I'm a swimmer & really enjoyed their 20 metre pool. The hotel location was convenient to the downtown area & if you like walking is a nice 2kms to the Byward Market. I'm sure this hotel would be an excellent spot for long term guests as even in the studio suite they think of everything.

Room Tip: As in any city hotel, getting an upper floor is the best location for city noise reduction
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MintoSuiteHotel, General Manager at Minto Suite Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel with other travelers. Although I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our location and our wonderful pool, I am especially happy to hear about the service you experienced during your stay. Our team members take great pride in providing experiences that are special, and I am thrilled to read that the efforts of our team left you with a lasting positive impression of Minto Suite Hotel. Thank you very much for your many compliments about our staff and hotel, I am pleased to share them with all departments involved in making your stay flawless. The team and I look forward to hosting your again during your next visit!

Sincerely,
David Zaltzman,
General Manager, Customer Experience – Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here a couple of months ago for business. I had a whole apartment for a few nights while working on a project in Ottawa. Great service, clean and well kept. Very convenient location and a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MintoSuiteHotel, General Manager at Minto Suite Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review us on TripAdvisor. It's always great to read feedback from our guests. Our number one goal at Minto Suite Hotel is to ensure that all guests having an inspiring experience. Thank you for your compliments about our service and location. We look forward to hosting you in the near future!

Sincerely,
David Zaltzman
General Manager, Customer Experience – Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Minto Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minto Suite Hotel

Also Known As:
Minto Hotel Ottawa
Minto Hotel
Minto Suite Ottawa
Hotel Minto Suite
Address: 185 Lyon Street North, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 7Y4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#14 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#17 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Minto Suite Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory All-Suite Hotel located near downtown shopping, business & entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Minto Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minto Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.