We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An great hotel for a family vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minto Suite Hotel

Save Saved
You added Minto Suite Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Minto Suite Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   185 Lyon Street North, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 7Y4, Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 66 hotels in Ottawa
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“An great hotel for a family vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were very pleased with the suite we had and the price( $154 for a 1 bedroom suite with 2 double beds). The room also had a pull-out double couch in the living room and a kitchennette which was very useful for our daily breakfast. We also had 2 bathrooms, The room was very quiet and we slept peacefully. The is a plaza on the ground level of the building where theer is a convenience store quite handy to buy juices and milk for the kids.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MintoSuiteHotel, General Manager at Minto Suite Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Minto Suite Hotel. At Minto Suite Hotel, we try to offer all of the conveniences you would need during a short or long stay, and we know that suite type and convenience are key factors. We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your suite and your peaceful stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon, for your next family vacation!

Sincerely,
David Zaltzman,
General Manager, Customer Experience – Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    260
    94
    46
    11
See reviews for
291
116
31
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brockville
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We recently stayed for a one night anniversary dinner getaway at Minto & hope to return again & again. Minto makes it very convenient to park in front & check in prior to using their parking garage. Check in was friendly & quick. The parking garage can be a bit of a challenge should you not handle your luggage at check in. We booked a studio suite & as requested we were located on an upper floor. While attempting to book the suite online I was unable to complete the transaction & needed to call Minto. The interaction was great & in the conversation I mentioned we were going to Ottawa for special anniversary dinner. The Minto rep followed this up with champagne & goodies for us on our arrival....this is how you Wow a client!. The parking at Ottawa hotels can run $20 per night but Minto charges $9 incl tax for weekend stays! I'm a swimmer & really enjoyed their 20 metre pool. The hotel location was convenient to the downtown area & if you like walking is a nice 2kms to the Byward Market. I'm sure this hotel would be an excellent spot for long term guests as even in the studio suite they think of everything.

Room Tip: As in any city hotel, getting an upper floor is the best location for city noise reduction
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MintoSuiteHotel, General Manager at Minto Suite Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel with other travelers. Although I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our location and our wonderful pool, I am especially happy to hear about the service you experienced during your stay. Our team members take great pride in providing experiences that are special, and I am thrilled to read that the efforts of our team left you with a lasting positive impression of Minto Suite Hotel. Thank you very much for your many compliments about our staff and hotel, I am pleased to share them with all departments involved in making your stay flawless. The team and I look forward to hosting your again during your next visit!

Sincerely,
David Zaltzman,
General Manager, Customer Experience – Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here a couple of months ago for business. I had a whole apartment for a few nights while working on a project in Ottawa. Great service, clean and well kept. Very convenient location and a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MintoSuiteHotel, General Manager at Minto Suite Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review us on TripAdvisor. It's always great to read feedback from our guests. Our number one goal at Minto Suite Hotel is to ensure that all guests having an inspiring experience. Thank you for your compliments about our service and location. We look forward to hosting you in the near future!

Sincerely,
David Zaltzman
General Manager, Customer Experience – Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is a perfect all suites hotel for people on long-term stay on business or for families on holiday. Each suite includes full kitchen (with oven) that was able to support cooking a Christmas Eve ham with all the trimmings. It also has apartment size washing machine & dryer. The hotel has an excellent in-door pool, hot tub & sauna. Staff are absolutely fantastic - from the tremendously friendly & helpful Turkish bellman to the front desk staff to the chambermaids. The only thing it misses is its own restaurant, although there are several close by.

Room Tip: Seek a room on north or west side & as high as possible for beautiful view of Ottawa River &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MintoSuiteHotel, General Manager at Minto Suite Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

The Minto Suite Hotel team would like to thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your last stay with us! Our team is always excited to get comments from our guests because it allows us to improve the service we offer. We are very happy that you enjoyed our spacious suites and we are happy to know that our employees continue to deliver exceptional service. Although we do not have our own restaurant, I would like to recommend trying Prime 360 steak house, located in the main concourse of the Minto complex. They serve delicious meals, and have an incredible Sunday brunch! It was a pleasure for us to share your comments with the departments involved in making your stay enjoyable! We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
David Zaltzman
General Manager, Customer Experience – Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We usually stay at another "family friendly" suite hotel in downtown Ottawa but on the advice of a friend, we decided to try the "newly renovated and gorgeous" Minto Suite Hotel. My sister had stayed there a few years back and thought it was OK or better.

We had to accept the studio suite because it was the only KING bed room that was left in inventory. Also the reservation agent spoke highly of the new renovations. No biggie, we were excited to stay somewhere other than our old haunt of 27 years and didn't really care about the shared living and sleeping space.

Undaunted we drove 1200 km in a blizzard, that only took us 13 hours. But when I went up to the room from the garage and heard from the hallway my wife explaining to the bellman that it wasn't as advertised i knew we were in trouble. Especially when she said "it's not your fault", I knew we were about to be heading back to our old suite hotel.

In fact the room was dingy, and threadbare. The furniture was chipped and worn. This place was in desperate need of renovation, and there certainly hadn't been any done this millennium.

We called our old standby and arranged a room, and swiftly checked out of Minto.

By the by: the staff were courteous and attentive and apologetic. This place needs a total makeover.

Room Tip: Wait until it is renovated, unless you are traveling with a hockey team.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener Ontario
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Loved having all that space! Separate room for the kids and each having their own bed made travel so much better. Great weekend price ...book using hotels.com as it is cheaper than the front desk can do.
Pool was fab.
While room could use updating the beds were excellent and the room was spacious and clean.
We will return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MintoSuiteHotel, General Manager at Minto Suite Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review. I’m glad that you enjoyed your experience at Minto Suite Hotel. I appreciate your feedback about our pool, as well as your suggestion regarding our suites. The Minto Suite Hotel team looks forward to your return.

Sincerely,
David Zaltzman
General Manager, Customer Experience – Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel from July 9th to July 13, 2012. Upon leaving we filled out the Comment card left in the room letting you know about our very unhappy stay with you. All of the reasons
were explained in full on the card. Weeks went by and no answer!! I then emailed and again
this is 7 months later and no one has ever followed up on your part. This was a gift for our
40th Anniversary from our Son & Daughter and families. The very sad thing is no response to the Comment Card or Email BUT you still send emails inviting us to stay at the Hotel again!! Not likely as Management has no follow up to unhappy comments and stays.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MintoSuiteHotel, General Manager at Minto Suite Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our team was very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. We take pride in offering the best value in Ottawa and normally receive very positive feedback from our guests. I was surprised to read your post, and that you had not received a response from one of our team members. I have discussed your comments and reviewed your comment card with our team to ensure that this is an isolated occurrence, and that all proper procedures are being followed. We are very sorry that we did not create an inspiring experience during your very special occasion. We would love the opportunity to gain your loyalty back, so if you are planning a trip back to Ottawa in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly to assist with the planning.

Sincerely,
David Zaltzman
General Manager, Customer Experience - Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Minto Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minto Suite Hotel

Also Known As:
Minto Hotel Ottawa
Minto Hotel
Minto Suite Ottawa
Hotel Minto Suite
Address: 185 Lyon Street North, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 7Y4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#13 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#17 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Minto Suite Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory All-Suite Hotel located near downtown shopping, business & entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Minto Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minto Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.