We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money in a prime location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Elgin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lord Elgin to your Saves list
Lord Elgin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Elgin St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5K8, Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Value for money in a prime location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The location of The Lord Elgin could not be better since it is a very short walk from the convention centre and all the expensive downtown hotels. We had a corner room which provided adequate space and lots of natural light. The staff were very amenable. The hotel is old and it does show. A Reno would do well but then maybe it would be more expensive.

Room Tip: Get a corner room facing west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for you sharing your review and for the glowing comments regarding our location and great service, not to mention good value.

We are gearing up for a refresh of our rooms and corridors and hope to get that started in the coming months. We have always prided ourselves on offering excellent value and will continue to do so once we have completed the updates.

We do hope to see you again when you are next in Ottawa.

With best wishes,

Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    608
    241
    75
    31
See reviews for
292
499
86
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Not so long ago, the Lord Elgin was a long in the tooth hotel, in bad need of a reset. The hotel continues to get better. The staff at the hotel were excellent and extremely helpful. The room was very nice -- large, comfortable and very quite The bed was terrible and the desk and other furniture were very nice. This hotel is climbing back up my list of nice places to stay in Ottawa.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear WhitehorseVancouver;

Thank you for noticing all the positives!! We do have a fabulous team out front that we are all so proud of. It is so wonderful to receive such a encouraging feedback.

We would love to have you back again when you next visit Ottawa.

With sincere thanks,


Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My stay at the hotel was an absolute pleasure. Here are a few of the reasons:
(1) Your staff: at the front desk, the porter's desk, in the corridors upstairs: polite, helpful, cheerful, ready -- and able -- to interact in a friendly and lighthearted way;
(2) The room: immaculately appointed and stocked (soap, etc.) and wonderful, soft sheets that make all the difference when one is sleeping in a strange bed, and perhaps jet-lagged; and
(3) Nice touches: umbrellas, and -- especially nice -- this evening when I got back an extra capsule of the tea that I had in the room early this morning, I guess on the principle that if the guest had one cup this morning maybe they would like two tomorrow. That is he kind of thinking that makes for a great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear David;

You have just made our Executive Housekeepers Day!! She works very hard to keep our rooms looking fresh and ensuring they are stocked well. She has a great team too... many have been here for 20 years or more. Thank you for noticing!!

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely

Ann Meelker
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MB
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Situated downtown about 30 minutes taxi ride from airport, fare approximately $32.00. No airport shuttle bus service to any hotel downtown. Though situated at downtown, it is not in a noisy place. Good locality. Plenty of small shops and eating places around. Bus stops are nearby. Expensive hotel. Front desk staff helpful & polite. Hotel pleasantly furnished and room spacious. Bed comfortable, bathroom up to the standards. Room heating adequate. Had a small fridge in room. I was given a microwave with no extra charge on request. Did not eat at cafetaria and thus cannot comment on food. A bottle of water was present in the room and the price tag was $4.00 In short, comfortable and pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Stayed in a single queen bedded room on 8th floor. Cannot comment on other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
What a great comprehensive review. Thank you!

We are so blessed to have a great location. It's perfect if you really want an Ottawa experience - everything is such an easy walk.

We do hope we will see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ann Meelker
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

the lord elgin is situated nicely on elgin st, with the parliament buildings nearby, a short walk to the shopping centre(s) and the byward market area. a supermarket is a couple of blocks south (away from parliament) on elgin st, for those essentials such as bottles of water etc - 1.5 litres for 50 cents rather than 4 dollars in your hotel room!
staff service was good and efficient, with no problems throughout the stay.
hotel does have a pool, but didnt get an opportunity to try, alas!
despite being on a high floor there was some traffic noise during the night, but the aircon/heating worked with little sound. Our only gripe was a lack of consistent hot water in the shower - bracing at times!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your Ottawa visit and our location made it so easy to get around. We never take it for granted. We are very fortunate!

We apologize for the hot water situation. We are looking into it.

We hope we will have the pleasure of your return soon!

With best wishes,

Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The saving grace of this older hotel was the quality of the staff. In both the reception desk and the bar and restaurant staff were very accommodating. Internet was free throughout the hotel but on several occasions it was VERY slow. Rooms were comfortable and hotel location, across from the Arts Centre, is excellent

Room Tip: Some rooms are dark due to limited window light (rooms tucked in behind other buildings) - Ask for r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for the great review and for pointing out our staff and service. It is so encouraging to read!!

Our wifi is typically very fast as we have updated it not long ago and it has great capacity.

Now that the Spring is here and longer days, we can all enjoy more light.

Thank you again,

Best regards,
Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Impressive lobby, the rooms could use some updating, too much wallpaper. Bathrobes would be a nice touch considering the room cost and star rating. I found it to be a little noisy, lots of road noise. On site restaurant is quite good. Location is great, close to everything.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for noticing our 'new' lobby look. We love the new furniture too!

We are in the process of planning our next stage of updates - carpets, corridors, guestrooms... all very exciting!!

Bathrobes are in all Elgin Class rooms as are umbrellas. We are always happy to bring them to you upon request, with bells on!!

We hope you will be back again soon!

Best wishes,

Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Elgin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Elgin

Address: 100 Elgin St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5K8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#14 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lord Elgin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the nicest Ottawa hotels and ideally located in the heart of downtown Ottawa - directly across from Confederation Park and the National Arts Centre. The Lord Elgin Hotel - steps away from the Rideau Canal, Ottawa Congress Centre, Parliament Buildings and the Ottawa Rideau Centre.Guestrooms reflect Ottawa's elegance. From the tall picture windows, bold tulip inspired artwork, to Biedermeier style luxury furnishings, you cannot help but feel pampered. Ottawa hotel guests enjoy the lap pool with adjoining whirlpool, sauna and fitness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Lord Elgin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Elgin Hotel Ottawa
Lord Elgin Ottawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Elgin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.