We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Elgin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lord Elgin to your Saves list
Lord Elgin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Elgin St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5K8, Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Save-up to 25% off
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“So convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We were going to Ottawa for the weekend to skate on the Rideau Canal and found a great rate here. We took public transit to & from the airport, one bus straight from the airport. We had asked for early check in and the staff was super, we were in our room around 10am, and out on the ice before noon. Location was so perfect, across the road from the Rideau Canal and we walked to the Byward market, the National Gallery and the Parliament buildings. We enjoyed the pool and the hot tub after skating and walking for the day. I thought there was a sauna, but never found one. The gym was well equipped, The staff very friendly. The attached Starbucks was closed for renovations, but this meant we discovered The Scone Witch, a local independent coffee shop that was around the corner. We followed staff recommendations for dinner and they could not have been more right. I will stay here again anytime I feel like tripping around Ottawa

Room Tip: Rooms without a view are cheaper, and I want a hotel to sleep in, I'll go outside to get my view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear WesM;

Thank you so much for the great feedback. We are so happy to hear you had a great Ottawa visit and that our location was so convenient for you.

The saunas, by the way, are inside the change rooms in the fitness centre - one each inside the men's and women's change rooms. I am sorry you did not have a chance to take advantage of them after your skate. It makes for a great ending to a busy day.

We hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again.

With much appreciation,

Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    564
    225
    73
    31
See reviews for
271
469
83
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed at The Lord Elgin during Winterlude and had a great time.

The staff at the hotel were friendly and very helpful.We had a large comfortable room.

The hotel is centrally located and within easy walking distance of many attractions.

We'll stay at The Lord Elgin again!

Room Tip: No need to book a room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We appreciate the time taken to share your feedback and am so happy to hear you enjoyed Winterlude and the Lord Elgin Hotel.

We hope you will be back again next year, if not sooner.

Kind regards,

Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I was in town for a Senators game and ended up staying for two nights at the end of February. Right from the minute my friend and I arrived we were treated to tremendous service by the valet, polite and friendly staff at the desk and a warm and comfortable room. Excellent location. (mere steps from parliament hill and the canal) Will use again next time I'm in Ottawa.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I would like to share my recent experience at the Lord Elgin hotel, which was a mind-blowing experience and one that we will remember for the rest of our lives.

This is a special place for my fiancé and me. The first time we met for coffee was in the Starbucks attached to this hotel, 4 years ago. I always had it in the back of my mind that if I were to propose to her, it would (1) be a surprise, and (2) in the place we first met. Unfortunately, this coffee shop has been closed for renovations for a few months, which presented a challenge. Fortunately, the staff at the Lord Elgin was more than up to the challenge.

After waiting a couple of months, I contacted Ann, the director of sales and marketing, to ask about when the coffee shop would be reopening. She told me that there had been some delays, but loved my idea, and offered her help if there was anything she could do. I had some ideas and so did she. I wanted to share how it all went down thanks to Ann, and the rest of the staff of the hotel.

We arrived at the hotel at 7pm, and I was greeted by the valet. "Here for a coffee?" he asked, with a slight wink that L (my soon-to-be fiancé) didn't even notice. We walked into the hotel, greeted by the bellman, who escorted us down the hall (L thoroughly confused at this point). As we approached the darkened coffee shop, you could already start to see the glow of the candles ...

At this point, I should probably acknowledge that getting a proposal in a Starbucks, much less one under renovation, is not everyone's idea of romance. So perhaps I should describe what it looked like inside. In addition to the candlelight, the staff had cleaned up the entire area, and cleared everything away, except for a single table with a white tablecloth. Standing next to it was the most beautiful bouquet of red roses, and a silver bucket filled with ice and a bottle of champagne.

It was here that I popped the question, and she said yes! After enjoying the champagne, it was off to a lovely dinner, but not before getting a round of applause from the hotel staff, who had gathered in the lobby to be the first to congratulate us on our engagement.

I can't say enough to Ann and the staff of this beautiful and historic hotel for making this day so special for us. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel and its wonderful staff, for any type of event, big or small. As you can see, they really go the extra mile!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear David;

Let me first say - Congratulations!!

It was so kind of you to write this review about your special evening at the hotel. We were so happy to be part of your plan for your proposal and all our staff were in on the secret to ensure it all went smoothly. I am thrilled it all worked out.

Our new and improved Starbucks will open this spring.... you have to come back and drop by to say hello.

With best wishes,

Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

It's the little things that really bring down an experience in a hotel, and often, those things are found in the bathroom. Like the toilet handle being tucked under a cabinet and shelf nearly impossible to reach. Or cheap fixtures on the shower, and hot water that could easily scald an adult, much less a child. Then there were the floors. There was no padding under that carpet, and there were strange divots detectable even when walking sock-footed around the room.

On the plus side, the staff were friendly and efficient, the food in the bar/restaurant was good, and the wi-fi and business center were good and reliable. The location and view over the square were also very nice. I just wish the Lord Elgin hadn't cut corners on updating its rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed our location and staff, as well as the restaurant.

We are in the process of picking out some new décor for our corridors and guestrooms. It will be lovely to see the final plans.

We hope you will have an opportunity to return to the Lord Elgin and witness all the wonderful updates.

With best wishes,

Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Ottawa is just lovely - there is loads to see and do.This hotel is right in the centre and in walking distance of all of the main attractions, Parliament Hill in particular is seconds away. The check in staff were really helpful and the room was clean and tidy. The location is the best thing about the hotel but it is also a really pleasant place to stay. Large rooms and a well decorated hotel. The bar staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. There is cheaper parking over the road so use that but apart from that a really good place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear JackieB;

Thank you so much for the lovely feedback. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed Ottawa. I have lived here all my life and have to say, it's a fabulous place to call home.

Your feedback will be shared with all staff, who love the encouragement.

With much appreciation,

Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed here for a conference between Feb 18-20. This is my second stay at this hotel for business. Staff are always friendly and accommodating. The room was smaller then the last one I had. The room itself showed signs of aging and was in need of an update. The size of the bathrooms are very small and I'm a petite. I'm not sure how a larger person would even move around in there.
The tv was a large flat screen and the desk was very handy.
The room itself was clean.
I wouldn't recommend the restaurant. Service was very slow and the food was bland.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We do appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed our location and the great staff at the Lord Elgin.

We are now reviewing plans for updates to our guestrooms and corridors - all very exciting!! I hope you will have a chance to visit again and see them first hand.

Kind regards,

Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Elgin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Elgin

Address: 100 Elgin St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5K8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#17 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lord Elgin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the nicest Ottawa hotels and ideally located in the heart of downtown Ottawa - directly across from Confederation Park and the National Arts Centre. The Lord Elgin Hotel - steps away from the Rideau Canal, Ottawa Congress Centre, Parliament Buildings and the Ottawa Rideau Centre.Guestrooms reflect Ottawa's elegance. From the tall picture windows, bold tulip inspired artwork, to Biedermeier style luxury furnishings, you cannot help but feel pampered. Ottawa hotel guests enjoy the lap pool with adjoining whirlpool, sauna and fitness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lord Elgin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Elgin Hotel Ottawa
Lord Elgin Ottawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Elgin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.