We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Elgin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lord Elgin to your Saves list
Lord Elgin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Elgin St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5K8, Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Save-up to 25% off
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here recently for three nights for a conference. Hotel has a great location, at the corner of Laurier Ave right across from Confederation Park. It is a short walk to Parliament Hill, the War Memorial, National Arts Center, and the nearby Rideau center and Market area for shopping.

I was given a room on the seventh floor, lots of windows that you could open (2 in main room, one in bathroom). My colleague had a suite on the 11th floor, neat design...TV was on an Island in the middle of the room and could be turned towards the bed or towards the sofa on the opposite side of the room. Room was nice and clean, bed was comfortable, a little construction noise from the alley below but no big deal.

Hotel has a small pool in the basement with a whirlpool. A small weight/exercise area is adjacent to the pool, and off the side is changing room/showers/sauna. There are four elevators, so never a long wait to get to the room. There is a Starbucks at the end of the lobby and a nice sitting area with a fireplace adjacent to the front desk.

I enjoyed my stay here, the location is great and more central than the Albert at Bay, although the rooms (all suites) are much larger at the Albert where I enjoyed having the sofa/sitting area, which my room here did not offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    565
    225
    73
    31
See reviews for
271
469
83
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Have stayed here many times. It is quite a nice hotel and well equipped with good and friendly staff. The one thing I usually notice though is the noise from within the hotel and especially coming from outside. There is so much traffic on the three surrounding streets with heavy trucks going by at 5:00 am then the buses lots of sirens. However on my last stay I was not on a street and it was the worst. I sounding like someone dropping cars off a highrise until very late and starting early. Not sure where it came from as I did not see construction going on.

Inside, the doors slam very hard and the adjoining suite doors which seem to be in all rooms are sound conduits. There are always the drunken guests who arrive at 2:30 am but that is beyond the hotel's control.

If you want a good sleep bring good ear plugs or choose something a bit less in the middle of an intersection.

Room Tip: not on Elgin or Laurier
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We appreciate the feedback regarding your last stay.

We do appreciate that some guests are more sensitive to noise and depending on day of week, it varies. We would recommend rooms that are away from the elevator and perhaps at the back of the hotel if you find the front facing and side rooms to be too noisy. Certainly if the window is open, there will be more noise.

We do hope you will come back again and we would be delighted to locate you in a quieter area of the hotel.

Thank you again,

Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My recent stay was above expectations. The attitude of the staff was really excellent. I was staying with a group and the two dinners provided were very tasty and visually very appealing.
Room was clean, nicely decorated,comfortable bed and pillows. Perfect location. Could walk to main attractions. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and our Chef will be so pleased to hear the dinners were great for your event.

We hope you have another occasion to visit again.

Best wishes,

Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were so disappointed by our stay here. It looks good from the outside, but beware! Check your bill carefully for hidden charges! Inside, dingy rooms, broken elevators and escalators, few services, and unfriendly staff. There's lots of good business and family hotels in the area. Next time we'll try our luck elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We are so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent stay with us.

We have a great team who are usually well recognized for going above and beyond. We would like to hear more details of your experience so we can address the issues you raise in your review. If you could please contact us directly at 800-267-4298 to provide more detail. You may also email me at ameelker@lordelgin.ca. It's not usual for us to have such negative feedback, so we need to get to the bottom of it.

I thank you for taking the time to share and look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,

Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Chose the Lord Elgin for the proximity to the downtown conference hotel. This worked out well. Picked the hotel, breakfast and parking package as we thought it gave us a break on the conference hotel rate. Asked for and received a quiet room on the 10th floor facing west. Fair sized room and bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the floor was quiet. The heating unit was a bit loud, but did not bother us once we went to sleep. Service was good and helpful. The buffet breakfast was average. Good choice but nothing exceptional. We were not informed that when one takes the breakfast buffet package, that the gratuity is included. Wish this had been made clear when we selected the option or on the breakfast tickets.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We greatly appreciate the feedback you have shared regarding your recent stay and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We shall pass along your feedback regarding the gratuity inclusion. It is a very valid point and our desk staff will point that out going forward.

We hope you will be back in Ottawa again and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

With much appreciation,

Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My stay at the Lord Elgin was wonderful. The location could not be better: walking distance to Parliament Hill, museums, shopping, and restaurants. The hotel itself is beautiful, and immaculately clean. I stayed in a park view room, with a nice view of Confederation Park. The room was spacious, and the bed was wonderful. The housekeeping staff is probably the best of any hotel I've ever stayed. After the room was cleaned each day, you could not tell that anyone had ever stayed there. This was my first trip to Ottawa, and all staff were friendly and helpful, and were happy to give suggestions and recommendations. I wish I had been able to stay longer. The next time I'm in Ottawa, I know where I will be staying.

Room Tip: The view from the Park view rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Wow...thank you so much for that glowing review. In particular, our Executive Housekeeper will be thrilled. She is a veteran of this business who takes her role very seriously and she has a very devoted crew. They will be so tickled to read this.

We hope to have the pleasure of your return soon.

Thank you again,

Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Location. Character. Comfort. Convenience. And compared to other hotels in the downtown core, the Lord Elgin is a tremendous value. My room was on the 11th floor at the end of the hall and was very quiet. Given that my first night there was a Hallowe'en, the long, old hallway to my room became somewhat reminiscent of those scenes with the two little girls appearing at the end of the hotel corridor in 'The Shining' - but nothing out of the ordinary transpired! I had a standard-sized queen room - very comfortable bed, excellent shower, wifi, and it was nice to have the TV swivel 360 degrees. Very pleasant interactions with all employees!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much! What a great choice of words to describe the hotel.

I love the 11th floor (top floor), as there are only a few rooms there, so it is like having your own private floor. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the 'character' of the hotel. It is one of those elements that makes us unique.

We do hope you will be back and certainly ask for the same floor /room if you wish.

With best regards,

Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Elgin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Elgin

Address: 100 Elgin St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5K8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#17 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lord Elgin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the nicest Ottawa hotels and ideally located in the heart of downtown Ottawa - directly across from Confederation Park and the National Arts Centre. The Lord Elgin Hotel - steps away from the Rideau Canal, Ottawa Congress Centre, Parliament Buildings and the Ottawa Rideau Centre.Guestrooms reflect Ottawa's elegance. From the tall picture windows, bold tulip inspired artwork, to Biedermeier style luxury furnishings, you cannot help but feel pampered. Ottawa hotel guests enjoy the lap pool with adjoining whirlpool, sauna and fitness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lord Elgin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Elgin Hotel Ottawa
Lord Elgin Ottawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Elgin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.