We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference stay turned out to be a good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Elgin

Save Saved
You added Lord Elgin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lord Elgin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Elgin St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5K8, Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Save 25%
Ranked #20 of 67 hotels in Ottawa
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Conference stay turned out to be a good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Chose the Lord Elgin for the proximity to the downtown conference hotel. This worked out well. Picked the hotel, breakfast and parking package as we thought it gave us a break on the conference hotel rate. Asked for and received a quiet room on the 10th floor facing west. Fair sized room and bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the floor was quiet. The heating unit was a bit loud, but did not bother us once we went to sleep. Service was good and helpful. The buffet breakfast was average. Good choice but nothing exceptional. We were not informed that when one takes the breakfast buffet package, that the gratuity is included. Wish this had been made clear when we selected the option or on the breakfast tickets.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We greatly appreciate the feedback you have shared regarding your recent stay and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We shall pass along your feedback regarding the gratuity inclusion. It is a very valid point and our desk staff will point that out going forward.

We hope you will be back in Ottawa again and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

With much appreciation,

Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    392
    473
    193
    60
    28
See reviews for
228
382
67
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My stay at the Lord Elgin was wonderful. The location could not be better: walking distance to Parliament Hill, museums, shopping, and restaurants. The hotel itself is beautiful, and immaculately clean. I stayed in a park view room, with a nice view of Confederation Park. The room was spacious, and the bed was wonderful. The housekeeping staff is probably the best of any hotel I've ever stayed. After the room was cleaned each day, you could not tell that anyone had ever stayed there. This was my first trip to Ottawa, and all staff were friendly and helpful, and were happy to give suggestions and recommendations. I wish I had been able to stay longer. The next time I'm in Ottawa, I know where I will be staying.

Room Tip: The view from the Park view rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Wow...thank you so much for that glowing review. In particular, our Executive Housekeeper will be thrilled. She is a veteran of this business who takes her role very seriously and she has a very devoted crew. They will be so tickled to read this.

We hope to have the pleasure of your return soon.

Thank you again,

Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Location. Character. Comfort. Convenience. And compared to other hotels in the downtown core, the Lord Elgin is a tremendous value. My room was on the 11th floor at the end of the hall and was very quiet. Given that my first night there was a Hallowe'en, the long, old hallway to my room became somewhat reminiscent of those scenes with the two little girls appearing at the end of the hotel corridor in 'The Shining' - but nothing out of the ordinary transpired! I had a standard-sized queen room - very comfortable bed, excellent shower, wifi, and it was nice to have the TV swivel 360 degrees. Very pleasant interactions with all employees!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much! What a great choice of words to describe the hotel.

I love the 11th floor (top floor), as there are only a few rooms there, so it is like having your own private floor. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the 'character' of the hotel. It is one of those elements that makes us unique.

We do hope you will be back and certainly ask for the same floor /room if you wish.

With best regards,

Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

If you are looking for a 3-4 star hotel, clean and comfortable, Lord Elgin is it.

We stayed there for 2 nights and had a spacious corner room.

LE is located near to most of attractions and you can easily walk around to everything.

They have a well equipped gym and no items on minibar so vending machines are everywhere.

He concierge suggested a very nice Italian close by called Johnny Farina. Great Italian food and excellent service.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed both the location and service. There are so many eateries near us, that it is tough to make a choice. Johnny Farina's is definitely a popular one. Our own Grill 41 is also wonderful and reasonable.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

With best wishes,

Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I've stayed here twice this year for business. Absolutely love the location - so close to everything - the Parliament Buildings, Rideau Canal and Mall, Byward Market.....The hotel has character. I had different rooms this time - enjoyed my first one more as I had a view towards the Parliament Buildings, a king-size bed, and fridge - which is important for me when i'm staying a few nights. This last time i had a king-size bed but no fridge and my view out the window was over of an indent in the building to a cement wall. The other unfortunate thing was the room was so warm and the air conditioning had been turned off for the winter - but it was so warm outside. However, all it took was asking at the desk for a fan and it was no problem having one sent to my room.
I love the lobby and the attached restaurant/bar and again - the staff are great! Can't wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the front or back of the hotel if you want to see the Parliament Buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review. Its so nice to hear from a returning guest and always love to see a familiar face. It's our best indication that we are getting in right.

We have a number of guests who have their favorite rooms and we try to accommodate their preferences as much as we can. Please let us know when you book next what those are. We always recommend you book directly with our reservations team on property so we can ensure all those individual requests are identified clearly. Email us at reservations@lordelgin.ca.

Many thanks again. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes,

Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The location is great but the hotel and rooms are quite shabby (& not chic) - the whole place needs modernising.
Our room size was OK and service there was Ok too and they had free wifi in the room although they threatened to bill you extra if more than one devise is used in each room!! Now that was a bit shocking, I mean most rooms where for couples and we had phones, tablets and a computer with us! Anyway we didn't stay long enough there but wouldn't go back again if I had the chance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to share your thought following your recent stay.

We are in the process of choosing new carpet and furniture for our lobby and will next be doing our corridors and guestrooms. We are excited with the new plans and know our guests will enjoy the changes.

We have increased our bandwidth significantly and currently cap the number of devices in a room to two. We did discuss your feedback at our meeting and will increase the number of connections to see how it affects our bandwidth. We did bring in new fibre optic lines so we should have sufficient to cover.

We are glad to hear you were happy with the services of the hotel and do hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back.

With best regards,

Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnville, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I've stayed at the Lord Elgin a few times now, for business purposes. It's a great location, the staff are excellent! The restaurant Grill Forty One has amazing food that keeps you coming back for more. Serving staff and manager Kasinya are professional and friendly with a desire to make your experience a "good one".
I'll be back and recommend you give them a try - you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
What a lovely review. Thank you. I know the staff in Grill 41, as well as our Chef will be so happy to read this.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Ottawa.

Kind regards,

Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lord Elgin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Elgin

Address: 100 Elgin St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5K8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#20 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lord Elgin 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the nicest Ottawa hotels and ideally located in the heart of downtown Ottawa - directly across from Confederation Park and the National Arts Centre. The Lord Elgin Hotel - steps away from the Rideau Canal, Ottawa Congress Centre, Parliament Buildings and the Ottawa Rideau Centre.Guestrooms reflect Ottawa's elegance. From the tall picture windows, bold tulip inspired artwork, to Biedermeier style luxury furnishings, you cannot help but feel pampered. Ottawa hotel guests enjoy the lap pool with adjoining whirlpool, sauna and fitness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Lord Elgin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Elgin Hotel Ottawa
Lord Elgin Ottawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Elgin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.