We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Elgin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lord Elgin to your Saves list
Lord Elgin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Elgin St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5K8, Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed for one night at Lord Elgin's. I really enjoyed this place. This hotel buit in 1941 seems to be old fashioned but the staff is helpful and friendly. The room was large and clean and the location is wonderful : at a walking distance from the parliament, byward market, art museum and cathedral...
You could not ask for more for this price.

Room Tip: Choose the park view rooms. Sunny and lovely view on the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    608
    241
    75
    31
See reviews for
292
499
86
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Checked in early. Room was bright and very clean. Decor was nice. Comfortable bed! The pool and hot tub area were spotless and is one of the nicest offerings in Ottawa hotels. Nice area to relax. Enjoyed the fireplace area in the main lobby area. Nice to warm up in front of. Front desk staff were great as always (not my first stay). Catherine at front desk had a great sense of humour and very professional. Night staff were great too! Room service breakfast was fast and good. Only negative there was a fire alarm drill at 1030 am that noone had mentioned to us. Guest service said there was a sign in the elevator but we didnt see any signs. Not a big deal tho.
Recommend staying at this hotel whether it be romance or business! Lord Elgin is a great choice and has the park, parliament and shopping all within distance !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Usually, I prefer to stay at B and Bs, but couldn't find one for this mini vacation. ViaRail was offering a great deal for train and hotel, so I stayed at the Lord Elgin. It is so convenient to everything in central Ottawa, within easy walking distance. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. My room, which I'm sure was within their lower priced accommodations, was very comfortable, clean and had a coffee maker and empty fridge (no booze or candy bars) so I was able to have basic provisions available. Normally I don't eat at hotel restaurants, but found their menu both appealing and reasonable compared to local eateries. The food was very good and I ate there both nights. This hotel is definintely a great option for travel to Ottawa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed for one night on a Saturday. We had a ninth floor king/park view room. Nice room that had a 40 inch flat screen in it. Check in was fast and Valet were very good with putting up with us coming and going a lot. We had a package that included valet and a full buffet breakfast in the morning. It was actually really goo just no made to order stuff. The pool is a nice lap pool located in the basement. Starbucks in the lobby was also nice to have even though I never got a chance to gram anything. I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed just for one night, but I was very comfortable. The room was a double queen room.

I went for a run in the gym, which had two treadmills, two ellipticals, some weights, and a bench. There were also plenty of towels, which I guess were more for swimmers.

A couple of notes:
-the swimming pool entrance is through the gym, which can be distracting when you're trying to work out.
-the treadmills have ipod connections as well as tv's, so don't forget your headphones.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and felt at home. We are also delighted to hear you enjoyed our renovated gym. We have recently replaced all the equipment and have very good feedback. As well, many of our guests enjoy running along the Rideau Canal, which is just a block away.

We do, by the way, have extra sets of earphones available at our front desk for those that forget theirs.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best wishes,

Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just a great location not far from everything you want to see and do. Elgin Street is just a superb collection of restaurants, coffee bars, pubs and night life. You are walking distance from all you want to see in Ottawa including Parliament and Byward market. It is about a 20 minute to half hour walk but Ottawa is just so beautiful you won't mind taking the time to stroll. The Lord Elgin has a Starbucks on the main floor and a nice bar and grill. Great pool and adequate work out room. We'll be back !

Room Tip: you might want to check out the newer wings on each end of the building...(not sure but they look ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a gracious review. Our location is such a gift - it is great for our guests to be able just to park and walk to the best of our city. It sounds as if you have a chance to take in a great deal during your visit. We are also delighted as well to hear you enjoyed the hotel facilities. We all love having Starbucks on site.

We are so glad to hear you will be back.

With best wishes,

Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Great historic hotel in the core of Ottawa. Walking distance to almost everything! Historic building, but rooms are modern and completely clean. Extremely high standards! You will be impressed. Even has an indoor pool!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you appreciate our convenient location and our history, but even more, that you recognized that we strive for high standards. You have just made our day!

We certainly hope we will have the pleasure of your return.


With sincere best wishes,

Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL


Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Elgin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Elgin

Address: 100 Elgin St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5K8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#14 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lord Elgin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the nicest Ottawa hotels and ideally located in the heart of downtown Ottawa - directly across from Confederation Park and the National Arts Centre. The Lord Elgin Hotel - steps away from the Rideau Canal, Ottawa Congress Centre, Parliament Buildings and the Ottawa Rideau Centre.Guestrooms reflect Ottawa's elegance. From the tall picture windows, bold tulip inspired artwork, to Biedermeier style luxury furnishings, you cannot help but feel pampered. Ottawa hotel guests enjoy the lap pool with adjoining whirlpool, sauna and fitness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Lord Elgin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Elgin Hotel Ottawa
Lord Elgin Ottawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Elgin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.