We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Elgin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lord Elgin to your Saves list
Lord Elgin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Elgin St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5K8, Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Staying at The Lord Elgin hotel is a wonderful, easy stay. The location is perfect for exploring the town and enjoying the wonderful nearby restaurant precinct. The rooms are very good sizes, with the fitness centre a well fit out facility. The only disappointment was the valet parking. You have to park with a valet but when we arrived there was no valet to be seen. We had to park and locate the man inside the lobby, not stationed at his post. We needed the car on several occasions during our stay and the valet each time was no where to be seen, and the front driveway was often a carpark. It seems as though they either need more staff or better processes in place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    619
    244
    76
    31
See reviews for
295
508
86
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed at the Lord Elgin for 6 days for business. It is perfectly located in a central location walking distance to Parliament. There are many good redcurrants in the area and walking distance to the Rideau centre and Market which has tons of awesome restaurants and patios for the summer months.

The staff at the hotel are very nice and helpful. My room was higher up in a corner so the view of the park out front was amazing. Only downside was that I was staying in the hotel during a festival that was taking place in the park until really late at night.

The room was perfect! Very clean, spacious, comfortable bed, quiet and felt like home. The washroom was also very clean and upkeep during my long stay was good as room service always came to clean. The room service was also impeccable with breakfast arriving on time to the room steaming hot!
Special points for the Starbucks on site!

Overall, very nice hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Recently, in Ottawa on business and stayed two nights at the Lord Elgin; a wonderful old gem in a fantastic location in Ottawa. The hotel is close to Parliament, Rideau Centre, Byward Market and the wonderful canal.
I love the old world charm of the hotel. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable - especially the bed. I had a corner room facing Elgin Street and had windows on two sides which provided lots of light. Enjoyed lunch and breakfast in the dining room.
Staff throughout the hotel were very courteous and friendly. Definitely, a hotel worth considering if you are visiting Ottawa for pleasure or business and you want to be in central Ottawa.

Room Tip: some rooms at the front of hotel are corner rooms due to layout; the added windows provide wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during the Winterlude Festival. It is a lovely hotel, in a great location - close to the canal, the Parliament buildings and the bridge to get to Quebec. The pool and gym are nice, and there is a restaurent and a Starbucks on site. Comfortable, clean rooms with coffee making facilities and an ipod docking station, wide screen TV, etc. Would recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smith Mountain Lake, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just spent a week at the Lord Elgin and we could not have been happier with this lovely old city hotel. Absolutely fabulous service, at every level, especially the front desk. Special kudos to Catherine C. who recommended so many great places to eat and shop, all nicely marked on a map for us! We stayed in the spotless and nicely furnished, well-equipped Rideau Suite, Room 340, with a view of Confederate Park. Even though the other view of our corner room was overlooking building construction across the street, we were never bothered by noise from it. Our housekeeper did a lovely job every day, everything was always spotless, including the very nice little kitchenette area. As it was a birthday celebration trip, we were nicely surprised by four free tickets for Starbucks coffees or teas in the lobby during our stay. The common areas were nicely furnished, with welcoming fireplace and comfy chairs for relaxing moments. Lunch at Grille 41 in the hotel was quite nice and excellent service. We used the hot tub/lap pool area a few times and locker rooms were clean and well lit with lockers for storage. Best of all was the superior convenient location of the hotel, within easy walking distance of so many good restaurants, shops and attractions! Our kind of place and we received a lovely thank you from the hotel in e-mail account on our arrival home! My one criticism is that the bath towels were somewhat rough and could use some softening, but they were spotless and plentiful. While it is not inexpensive, we felt that got more than our money's worth. I can highly recommend this terrific hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Park View. The King Suite was supremely comfortable, roomy, quiet, and not to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I took my girlfriend here the first newyears we were together in 06 also. The service and rooms were excellent. The pool area was closed that time though, and was one of the key points to spending that kind of cash for the holiday.

Room Tip: Check to see if the pool is in order before booking ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto North
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I travel to Ottawa a couple times every year and love to take each of our grandchildren in turn. We made a good choice to stay here. This was the first time we've stayed in this hotel. We will likely be back again next month and this is where I'll book us.

Of course, with the kids, it's the pool that counts. The size was lovely though the water needed a little attending to. It was 'smokey' which was just from much use, I assume. The hot tub was a pleasure after a long day of sightseeing.

It's location to all the downtown attractions is perfect. The staff are the most welcoming I've experienced for some time. It was like they were truely happy to have you stay with them.

Our room was quite cozy and the thing that my husband looks for was the fact that we could open the windows. It's always lovely to have a little fresh air. The beds were quite comfortable and the linens were great. Even though there was considerable construction going on near-by, with the windows closed, it was inaudible

We only had luch in the restaurant and I wish I could say it was a good one but I can't and that's the main reason I'm not giving this location a 5-star rating. Again the staff was great but our broccoli soup was too peppery to eat, especially for the children. And my steak sandwich was not only cold, but very hard to eat because of the gristle running through the meat.

Having said that, I'd still go back here for the value and location of the hotel. There are restaurants close by in any direction and it will be an adventure to find what we want.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meelker, Director of Sales at Lord Elgin, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay. We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It was the comments about our staff however that really made our day. We do have an incredibly friendly bunch and we are so very proud of them.

We are sorry to hear your lunch was such a disappointment. Our director of food and beverage would like to reach out to you personally. I will put you in touch, if you would care to contact me by email at ameelker@lordelgin.ca.

We are so happy to hear you are planning to visit us again. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Ann Meelker
Director of Sales & Marketing
LORD ELGIN HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lord Elgin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Elgin

Address: 100 Elgin St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5K8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#14 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lord Elgin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the nicest Ottawa hotels and ideally located in the heart of downtown Ottawa - directly across from Confederation Park and the National Arts Centre. The Lord Elgin Hotel - steps away from the Rideau Canal, Ottawa Congress Centre, Parliament Buildings and the Ottawa Rideau Centre.Guestrooms reflect Ottawa's elegance. From the tall picture windows, bold tulip inspired artwork, to Biedermeier style luxury furnishings, you cannot help but feel pampered. Ottawa hotel guests enjoy the lap pool with adjoining whirlpool, sauna and fitness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Lord Elgin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Elgin Hotel Ottawa
Lord Elgin Ottawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Elgin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.