We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home away from home!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ARC The Hotel

Save Saved
You added ARC The Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ARC The Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5H6, Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 66 hotels in Ottawa
1 review
“My home away from home!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at arc for 6 consecutive days in december and was blown away by everythimg the hotel has to offer.

The rooms are always clean, comfortable and cozy. A great touch every night is the turndown service with chocolates and water delivered to the room.

Dinner from both room service and the lounge was spectaucular and filling.


The arc has a great gym facility!!! It has all the free weights you could want along with treadmills and elipticals and fresh towels to boot!

The amenities are fantastic but the service sets this property apart from the rest. When living out of a suitcase its always great to feel comfortable and taken care of and that is exactly how my stay at the arc made me feel.

I will definitely return on my next trip to Ottawa!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thorough and complimentary review of ARC The.Hotel. We are thrilled that our associates and facility were able to exceed your expectations. We are proud to be your hotel of choice in Ottawa and look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    259
    232
    105
    62
    22
See reviews for
47
271
69
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I've been travelling extensively on business lately and have made it a point to stay at boutique hotels given the usually exceptional level of service.

At Arc, they make a point of the luxury finishes and appointments that adorn their suites. To their credit, the room I stayed in was very nicely appointed, however the devil is in the details and that's where they fell short.

Firstly, upon checking in, I noticed a particularly horrific scuff mark on the back of the door to my room. These things happen of course but I'd expect staff to address it as soon as possible.

Secondly, there appeared to be a stain on the carpet near the closet.

On the subject of service, they were attentive and helpful in providing me with a phone charger after realizing I had left mine at the office, however I found housekeeping to be somewhat lazy.

Specifically, I had pulled out the ironing table and iron before my morning's appointments and upon my return I was surprised to find the iron on the desk and the ironing table leaning against the wall in the room.

Additionally, the (very nice) bathrobe I had been using was hung over the back of a chair instead of a hanger.

Hardly deal breakers, nor would I complain about these things to hotel management but the next time I'm in Ottawa I'll likely stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Keep your expectations low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
The management of ARC The.Hotel was distressed to read your review and would like to thank you for taking the time to leave such candid feedback. By reading each of these reviews we are able to recognize areas in need of improvement and take the appropriate actions to correct them. We do hope that you would reconsider and stay with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Our office has hosted several cocktail parties at different venues in Canada but never has our experience been so easy and pleasant in organizing such an event.
Nadine Tremblay the catering and event manager and the staff at the Arc where wonderful to work it!
Throughout the evening we only heard positive comments from our guests and colleagues about the food and the exceptional and friendly customer service that the Arc provided to us that evening. We would not hesitate to book another event at the Arc.
Thank you
Anna B

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thorough and complimentary review of the ARC The Hotel. We are thrilled that our associates and facility were able to exceed your expectations. We are proud to be your hotel of choice in xcityx and look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Arrived very late to the hotel after a delayed trans-continental flight. When I woke up I noticed the carpet was stiff and stained, and the bathroom really wasn't clean. I'll spare the details but suffice to say if I was alert enough I would have gone back down to the front desk for another room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate your comments and vital feedback. We are always striving to do our best for our guests and your experience will ensure we do just that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Convenient downtown hotel, nearby everything at a very reasonable price!! Kristina our sales manager was very helpful with reservations and provided a very great deal! Thank you very much! We look forward to visiting the ARC hotel again!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will continue to stay at the ARC The.Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I don't normally stay at The Arc Hotel when in Ottawa but due to a late reservation and my usual hotel being booked up at all their reasonable rates, I opted for The Arc. In a previous visit, I had a much smaller room that was over-furnished but this time I had a beautifully appointed big room with lots of space and a luxurious bathroom with a great tub and a massive shower head. The bed was very comfortable, on par or better than my own bed which is pretty hard to beat. I'd come back just for the great night's sleep I had.

There were a few things that I didn't like but not so much that they would dissuade me from returning. The bathroom has no heater so in winter it could get much colder than it was in mid-November when I was there. Room service was inconsistent. One day breakfast was akin to something you'd get at a greasy diner but the next day it was much more in line with the kind of hotel it is. It was good and made up for the day before.

Other drawbacks are not enough room at the front of the hotel to pull in and drop off and pick up people as the taxi-cabs hog the space and make no bones about honking their horn if they feel you've encroached on their territory. Also there are several steps up to the lobby from the street so if you have a lot of luggage or are disabled, you will find it challenging. There is a doorman but he was never there to assist when I could have used the help.

The hotel is located in downtown Ottawa but it is close enough to walk to the Market area where you can find lots of places to eat and to shop. In a pinch there are a couple of Starbucks within a block plus other fast food places like Subway and Tim Hortons.

The service was pleasant and efficient. I would give this hotel a 3.5 stars but since there are no half stars, I've opted to go with 4 as it is closer to that than a rating of 3.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the brick wall of an adjacent building. If you don't care for views, it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review ARCThe.Hotel.. We are glad you were able to enjoy all our hotel has to offer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

If you are in need of a stylish space for your wedding and reception, look no further than the Lounge at the ARC The.Hotel! Nadine Tremblay, the Catering and Events Sales Manager, went WAY above and beyond the call of duty and made our special day absolutely perfect - she kept the ceremony and reception - and us - on track! The food was spectacular, the staff extremely kind and helpful, and the space chic and sophisticated. We stayed overnight and our King Deluxe room was incredibly appointed. Our guests, too, had a wonderful and relaxed time. My husband and I have no complaints or regrets about choosing the ARC - it was truly memorable! THANK YOU! Christopher + Éric, Ottawa

Room Tip: Some of the King Deluxe rooms have a HUGE bathtub - be sure to ask and take advantage of this featur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
ARC The.Hotel would like to express our gratitude to you for taking the time to leave such a complimentary review. We make every effort to ensure our guest’s experiences are superb. We sincerely hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your first anniversary and sooner if the opportunity presents itself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ARC The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARC The Hotel

Address: 140 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5H6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#14 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ARC The Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of calm in this busy city, ARC The.Hotel welcomes its guests into a softly lit lobby with hardwood floors, designer furnishings, modern art wall hangings, and Japanese-inspired architectural flourishes. Business travelers appreciate the downtown location and high-speed Internet access throughout, but the hotel is also a favorite with couples indulging in weekend getaways. Guests at this boutique Ottawa hotel enjoy a glass of sparkling wine at check-in as well as complimentary 24-hour ARC Private Selection Blend coffee and tea service in the lobby. The hotel also offers the Arc Lounge & Dining, a virtual business center with high-speed Internet access (surcharge), concierge and valet services, 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary shoeshines. A library lounge offers a selection of books, magazines, and CDs for in-room use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your ARC The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Hotel Ottawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ARC The Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.