We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ARC The Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added ARC The Hotel to your Saves list
ARC The Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5H6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Ottawa
Richmond, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I don't normally stay at The Arc Hotel when in Ottawa but due to a late reservation and my usual hotel being booked up at all their reasonable rates, I opted for The Arc. In a previous visit, I had a much smaller room that was over-furnished but this time I had a beautifully appointed big room with lots of space and a luxurious bathroom with a great tub and a massive shower head. The bed was very comfortable, on par or better than my own bed which is pretty hard to beat. I'd come back just for the great night's sleep I had.

There were a few things that I didn't like but not so much that they would dissuade me from returning. The bathroom has no heater so in winter it could get much colder than it was in mid-November when I was there. Room service was inconsistent. One day breakfast was akin to something you'd get at a greasy diner but the next day it was much more in line with the kind of hotel it is. It was good and made up for the day before.

Other drawbacks are not enough room at the front of the hotel to pull in and drop off and pick up people as the taxi-cabs hog the space and make no bones about honking their horn if they feel you've encroached on their territory. Also there are several steps up to the lobby from the street so if you have a lot of luggage or are disabled, you will find it challenging. There is a doorman but he was never there to assist when I could have used the help.

The hotel is located in downtown Ottawa but it is close enough to walk to the Market area where you can find lots of places to eat and to shop. In a pinch there are a couple of Starbucks within a block plus other fast food places like Subway and Tim Hortons.

The service was pleasant and efficient. I would give this hotel a 3.5 stars but since there are no half stars, I've opted to go with 4 as it is closer to that than a rating of 3.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the brick wall of an adjacent building. If you don't care for views, it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review ARCThe.Hotel.. We are glad you were able to enjoy all our hotel has to offer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    237
    107
    65
    23
See reviews for
50
276
70
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

If you are in need of a stylish space for your wedding and reception, look no further than the Lounge at the ARC The.Hotel! Nadine Tremblay, the Catering and Events Sales Manager, went WAY above and beyond the call of duty and made our special day absolutely perfect - she kept the ceremony and reception - and us - on track! The food was spectacular, the staff extremely kind and helpful, and the space chic and sophisticated. We stayed overnight and our King Deluxe room was incredibly appointed. Our guests, too, had a wonderful and relaxed time. My husband and I have no complaints or regrets about choosing the ARC - it was truly memorable! THANK YOU! Christopher + Éric, Ottawa

Room Tip: Some of the King Deluxe rooms have a HUGE bathtub - be sure to ask and take advantage of this featur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
ARC The.Hotel would like to express our gratitude to you for taking the time to leave such a complimentary review. We make every effort to ensure our guest’s experiences are superb. We sincerely hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your first anniversary and sooner if the opportunity presents itself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

As my husband and I walked into our reserved room we thought it was a studio apartment - it was so big. Great service from beginning to end however the hotel stated it had valet parking and when we arrived, it took a while for "valet" to show up. Great location, oober-size bed and futuristic bathroom (personally). As others stated the price was high but for 1 night, I think we deserved it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at ARC The.Hotel and would like to thank you for leaving a glowing review. We will look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I actually very much enjoyed my stay. One night, reserved online with my credit card and paid my night debit. To my dismay, a month later I get charged $258 on my credit card!!! I call, and they claim I made a reservation and never showed up, which was NOT THE CASE!!
So, I call management, thinking this is a simple accounting mistake and can be fixed. No...I must take it up with my credit card company! They will not re-imburse me.
Be careful!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your complimentary review of ARC The.Hotel. I have investigated your concern and discovered that you made two separate reservations for two different dates in two different months. The charge that appeared on your credit card was for the second date where we held the room and no one showed. You had provided your credit card number to guarantee the reservation. I am sorry that you felt this charge took advantage of your situation. I would be happy to discuss this with you should you require further information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed for 1 night and I found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating.
I'm not sure why the other reviews criticize the room size; it is more than adequate. Comfy bed, very clean. No complaints. Member of iPrefer club, which means you can get free wifi and $20 towards breakfast if you enroll before checking in, which I did.
The hotel restaurant is fairly small with no windows, but the food is excellent.
Will likely stay again if in the Ottawa area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
ARC The.Hotel would like to express our gratitude to you for taking the time to leave such a complimentary review. We make every effort to ensure our guest’s experiences are superb. We sincerely hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

With precious few nice places to stay in downtown Ottawa other than Chateau Laurier and the Westin, it is nice to have places like the ARC. It is a modern boutique hotel in a renovated building at Metcalfe and Slater. The rooms are small but quiet. The staff is helpful. This is definitely an option if other hotels are full.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
ARC The.Hotel is thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a recommendation of our property and we do hope that you will return on your next trip to Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was not impressed at all and would not recommend it. We must have had one of the smallest rooms in Ottawa! Id expect something like that from New York or Paris but not The capital! It took for ever to get to our room too with only one elevator and a ton of people in for some sort of conference. Not my favorite at all, prefer the hilton

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your candid review of ARC The.Hotel. It is always a great disappointment to hear of a guest that was not satisfied with their stay. We hope you will give us the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future so that we might show you the service and sophistication that we have become known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ARC The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARC The Hotel

Address: 140 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5H6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#16 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ARC The Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of calm in this busy city, ARC the Hotel Ottawa welcomes its guests into a softly lit lobby with hardwood floors, designer furnishings, modern art wall hangings, and Japanese-inspired architectural flourishes. Business travelers appreciate the downtown location and high-speed Internet access throughout, but the hotel is also a favorite with couples indulging in weekend getaways. Guests at this boutique Ottawa hotel enjoy a glass of sparkling wine at check-in as well as complimentary 24-hour ARC Private Selection Blend coffee and tea service in the lobby. The hotel also offers the Arc Lounge & Dining, a virtual business center with high-speed Internet access (surcharge), concierge and valet services, 24-hour fitness center, and complimentary shoeshines. A library lounge offers a selection of books, magazines, and CDs for in-room use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your ARC The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arc Hotel Ottawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ARC The Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.