We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Downtown to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Downtown
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   475 Rideau St., Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5Z3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a FREE Night
Ranked #60 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Affordable and nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night because we wanted an acceptable, yet affordable place near the center. That is exactly what I got. It's true that it was a bit sketchy, and the area was not the best to walk past, but I did not feel unsafe at any point and it was just minutes away from Parliament Hill. The room was perfectly clean, had a television, a fridge and functional A/C. Can't complain. Continental breakfast and free parking are an additional plus. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    24
    43
    24
    36
See reviews for
25
46
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boisbriand, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

When we got there, we opened the doors to our rooms (we had 3) and they all smelled of mold and mildew and the smell was so strong that we coulnd't stay in the rooms. They looked dirty, the wall paper was coming off the walls, the furniture was broken and other units had their doors opened with kids running around everywhere and people cooking in their rooms!! It looks like the stuff you see in movies when they're looking for criminals! It didn't feel safe! We left and got our money back after debating my point with the clerk and calling the manager. I had several kids staying there for a soccer tournament and there was no way I would let them stay there. I wouldn't leave an animal in those rooms. There are other affordable options in Ottawa or Gatineau that are much better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Staff was friendly, very personable and helpful able to book last minute for a long stay staff move me from original room to a room that would accomodate a longer stay without problems room clean even if dated didn't expect the ritz and got what I expected. Easy walking distance to downtown and if willing 2 bus stops close for use of the local transportation services. Free parking, breakfast, and wifi really make this a great deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Hotel staff rude on check in. Complex seems to be used for subsidized housing. Our room was filthy and when we walked in the smell of urine was overpowering. It was dark, dingy, beat up and old, dirty, and the smell of urine was soo bad that we in fact did not even end up staying the night. The hotel is located maybe 10 blocks from the downtown core and the closer you get to it, the sketchier the area becomes. We did not feel safe and with so many random children running around the parking lot, we didnt figure we would get god night sleep anyway. DO NOT STAY HERE!! We will be fighting to get our money back from Expedia.

Room Tip: Dont stay here--spend the extra 50 bucks to stay in a better hotel closer to the downtown core.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed one night to enjoy the nightlife downtown. Booked it online through hotels.com and got a good price. Free parking and wifi. Breakfast was simple but satisfactory. The fridge was on, cold and quiet so there was little waiting for cold beer. The staff were welcoming and helpful. Would consider it again.

Room Tip: Motel concept. All rooms have doors to the outside. They all (I think) face the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The hotel is a little dated but we chose it for the location. We were able to walk to Byward Market and also to the Parliament building. So renovation work was underway at the hotel. Breakfast was basic free waffles, cereal and toast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Needed a bed close to downtown for an early meeting. The Econo Lodge had a great price and was a short walk to Byward Market. The room was a little beat up - the sink had half the laminate ripped (?) off it and was showing particle board, but nonetheless the bathroom was clean, as was the rest of the room. Bed was comfortable and, although on the ground floor, it wasn't too noisy. All amenities there, including a reasonable iron and ironing board (very important!). Simple continental breakfast was fine and I was on my way quickly. For the price and location, I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Address: 475 Rideau St., Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Econolodge Hotel Downtown
Econo Lodge Ottawa
Ottawa Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.