We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the heart of Ottawa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Dalhousie Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7E9, Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Whitby
1 review
“Great hotel in the heart of Ottawa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

The hotel's location is great, centrally located, we had booked two rooms and total of 6 persons. We basically walked to all the site seeing venues, it was great. The only thing i was disappointed was we had to pay for parking which was $20p/day. Sauna would be a great addition to the hotel. Recommend the hotel for family, everything is walking distance restaurants and nightlife is amazing and safe also.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    237
    85
    21
    18
See reviews for
147
144
53
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

I was honestly expecting more from this hotel. The location is great, easy access to tons of restaurants and shops.

The walls are paper thin! I could hear my neighbour coughing for hours! The bed wasn't very comfortable either. I had a hard time falling asleep.

The business "table" is located right off the lobby and only has 1 computer, which sucks when someone is on it for a half hour while all you want to do is check your flights. Liked that they had a coffee station (even though the coffee was super bitter) in the lobby as well as a fruit basket.

I lugged my laptop with me thinking I could log on from my room since they offered free internet connection. Was surprised when they only had wireless. When I called the front desk, the agent did not offer to lend me the router and I didn't know that was an option until I read it in one of the brochures the next day. Needless to say, I did not use my laptop the entire time I was there!

For price paid, I bet there are better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

Not only is the Courtyard Ottawa Downtown in the best possible location, situated in the middle of the Byward Market within walking distance of all the best restaurants and shopping, this hotel has great rooms, and is elegant yet comfortable. The personel are more than happy to accommodate us, are warm and friendly and have our best interest at heart. We always feel like valued customers. The rooms are well-maintained, clean and beds are ultra-comfortable. We are in the middle of the action in the market area, yet we feel safe at all times. We love the fact that we can walk around where all the action is and come back to our room to relax. It really is the best value for such comfort and convenience!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAB8899, Cluster Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2010
Thank you for your review of the Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and as well as the Byward Market.
Our location in the heart of the Byward Market, means that our guests have a variety of dining and entertainment options available within a few short blocks of the hotel. It makes for a very vibrant and exciting neighborhood to be part of.
Hope to see you again soon.
Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

Great location; great breakfast buffet; not so good hotel. Staff very pushy and unfriendly. Stayed three nights. Changed rooms twice. Walls are paper thin. Heard EVERYTHING that was going on in the next room. Do not stay on third floor or anywhere street side. We felt like we were on the street; that's how noisy it was.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAB8899, Cluster Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay with the Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa. It is the feedback we receive from our guests that assist us in improving the services we provide.
I was very disappointed to read your review and the various challenges you had while you stayed at the Courtyard Ottawa. Each of the items you have outlined will be addressed with the appropriate department.
I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you regarding your experience. Please contact me at denise@ribm.ca or 613-369-5001.
Thanks
Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

The location of this Hotel is awesome. The pool and hot tub were great as well. The staff were friendly, and they have a great breakfeast buffet.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

My husband and I stayed here because we had Marriott points. Turns out the hotel couldn't have been in a better location to walk to all the downtown attractions (Byward Market, Confederation Park, Parliament Hill, Rideau canal). If I were to go back, I would want to stay here again even if I had to pay, since the rates where pretty good anyway. I had also thought that we would have to pay $16/day parking, not unusual for a large city, but they never charged us for that. Location is the best thing about this hotel, and you always get a great room from Courtyard Marriott.

Oh yeah, one last thing. They had a fabulous breakfast buffet, better than the average Courtyard. Great food, omlette making station, fresh fruit (they even peeled and cut the grapefruit for you! Yum!). We ate there each morning.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAB8899, Cluster Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2010
Thank you for your recent review of the Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa. I was happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. We always enjoy having our Marriott Rewards members stay at the hotel since it means you are a loyal client of the brand.
Our breakfast buffet does receive a lot of good comments and is a great selling feature of the hotel (that and the location!).
We are looking forward to your next trip to Ottawa.
Sincerely
Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

This Marriott Courtyard is in a good spot in downtown Ottawa with a number of restaurants nearby. The hotel itself is in good shape and the staff is courteous. The staff at the breakfast buffet are particularly friendly and upbeat.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAB8899, Cluster Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay with the Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa.
Your feedback will be shared with the staff as we always enjoy celebrating their success. We are very proud of all of our staff members and their focus on customer-service. We feel it is what brings our guests back to the hotel time and again.
Thanks again for posting.
Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown

Address: 350 Dalhousie Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#26 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Ottawa Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.