We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying in a nuclear bunker and not a very clean one at that!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Dalhousie Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7E9, Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Warrington
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Like staying in a nuclear bunker and not a very clean one at that!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

Arrived in Ottawa after a long drive from Quebec in the rain and arrived at the hotel, first impressions were not good, the area looked scruffy and the hotel looked tired and dated from the outside. The reception staff were excellent, as they always are and we parked the car in the car park at the front, hoping it'd still be there in the morning!
The room had a view of an internal courtyard and the bathroom was awful, tiny and full of someones black hair, uurgh! The sink and wardobe were in an alcove next to the bathroom and the steam from the bathroom entered the wardrobe, the fan in the bathroom didnt work and the bath was blocked and drained very slowly. The hotel was located next to the Byward market and had bars and restaurants at the back, glad i didnt have one of those rooms at the back i thought they'll be noisey! Then a bus load of japanese tourists arrived and the noise began. The walls are paper thin, the long corriders (like being in a bunker) mean noise carries all over the building, the plumbing sounds like niagra falls, it was awful, i think we got about 4 hours sleep. This was the worst hotel we stayed in during our 2 weeks in Canada, over priced and dirty, i wouldnt stay here again, definately the poor relation of the hotel chains outlets!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAB8899, Cluster Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, October 19, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on tripadvisor about your visit with us. It is the comments and reviews from our guests like yourself that helps us improve upon our product and service.
I was extremely disappointed to read your comments and ask that you please accept my sincere apologies for the less than satisfactory stay you had in our hotel. There really is no excuse for some of the problems you encountered. There are training items that will need to be addressed with our housekeeping and maintenance departments immediately.
On a positive note, I am happy and relieved that our front desk staff inspired you enough to comment on their service. We really do have a good team at our hotel but we obviously failed to deliver the type of experience you expected and deserved when staying with us.
I would really like to discuss your stay with you in person and to be able to apologize in person. If you would be so inclined to do so, please contact me at the following phone number (613-369-5001) or email address, denise@courtyardmarriottottawa.ca.
Again, thank you for providing your feedback and please accept my apologies on behalf of my team and the brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    251
    90
    21
    18
See reviews for
154
154
54
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

Having stayed in 4 Canadian hotels on this trip we both voted this one as having the most comfortable beds - king sized. The location is brilliant and the staff very helpful. We arrived early and asked if they could mind our bags until check in time but they were kind enough to check us in. Loads of eateries around - my 'meat and potato lover' hubby was delighted to find The Keg Steakhouse over the road but there were plenty of others.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAB8899, Cluster Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, October 7, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay with the Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa. Your feedback will be shared with the staff as we always enjoy celebrating their success. We are very proud of all of our staff members and their focus on customer-service. We feel it is what brings our guests back to the hotel time and again.

Whenever possible, our Guest Service Associates will always check-in a guest earlier than the scheduled check-in time. This is based on availability of rooms at the time you arrive at the hotel. I was pleased to hear that there were rooms available for you.

Our location in the heart of the Byward Market, means that our guests have a variety of dining and entertainment options available including the Keg which is located just behind the hotel.

Again, many thanks for posting the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We arrived very late in Ottawa from Chicago and it was great to have friendly faces at the Hotel. We were checked in with great efficiency, welcomed and asked several times if there was anything they could do make our stay a 5 star stay. The night security was wonderful and a comfort for 2 women traveling alone at arriving late at night. We asked the day staff for directions and they went out of the way to help us.

If back in Ottawa, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAB8899, Cluster Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, September 29, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay with the Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa. Your feedback will be shared with the staff as we always enjoy celebrating their success. We are very proud of all of our staff members and their focus on customer-service.
All of our staff members work hard to be knowledgeable giving directions and local information. In fact, many of our front line staff have worked for the hotel for many years and pride themselves on their knowledge of Ottawa.
Again, many thanks for posting the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

This hotel is located in the heart of the downtown, close to the wonderful market, varied eateries and of course the Parliament Buildings of the Nation's capitol. My stay in Ottawa was enhanced by this clean, hospitable hotel. The staff were pleasant and went out of their way for the traveller.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAB8899, Cluster Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, September 29, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay with the Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa. Your feedback will be shared with the staff as we always enjoy celebrating their success. We are very proud of all of our staff members and their focus on customer-service. We feel it is what brings our guests back to the hotel time and again.
Our location, in the heart of the Byward Market, means that our guests have a variety of dining and entertainment options available within a few short blocks of the hotel. It makes for a very vibrant and exciting neighborhood to be part of.
Again, many thanks for posting the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

It's right at the center of the market. We arrived Thursday night around 1pm and we hit traffic. There were probably 20 bars and even a Mideastern eatery still open.

Great place for night life in Ottawa and walking distance to the Parliament Hill. Same time, it's a bit noisy for our rooms facing the street. If you want to be quiet, asking for rooms facing the back.

The room is big, clean, and comfortable. No complains and will stay again next time I'm in Ottawa.

It said $10 parking but we were not charged.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAB8899, Cluster Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, September 29, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay with the Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa. It is the feedback we receive from our guests that assist us in improving the services we provide.
The Byward Market is a thriving, bustling community, day or night, from the farmers market to the wonderful variety of restaurants. Requests can be made for our Courtyard view rooms however, these are available on a first come, first serve basis. Our Guest Service Agents always do their best to accommodate such requests.
Again, many thanks for posting the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

The hotel is located within walking distance of several restaurants and the local market place. I was a little concerned when I first arrived when a homeless guy tried to hit me up for money in the hotel parking lot. That being said, I felt relatively safe in the hotel. The rooms were relatively clean, but nothing spectacular. The staff seemed very friendly and helpul. Good breakfast, but it seemed a little pricey (darn that week US Dollar!). They do charge for parking (can't remember how much). The hotel had a nice indoor pool. They are renovating the exercise area, so they have moved the equipment to a temporary room. Not an ideal setup, but I'm sure the new area will be nice. Next time I go to Ottawa, I will probably try the downtown Marriott, but this place wasn't bad.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAB8899, Cluster Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, September 26, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay with the Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa. It is the feedback we receive from our guests that assist us in improving the services we provide.

I was concerned with your first experience of the hotel when you arrived. As you know, the Byward Market is a thriving, bustling community where tourists have the opportunity to buy local produce from farmers or dine in one of the many restaurants. However, like any major city's downtown core, it comes with some challenges. Our guest's security is always a top priority for us and we take every reasonable step to ensure that all of our guests have a safe and comfortable stay.

I am pleased to report that our fitness centre is open and ready for our first guests to workout. It is now located in a glassed in area adjacent to the pool. It has new, state of the art equipment and large sliding-glass doors to open during the warmer summer months.

Again, many thanks for posting your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

we spend one night , we arrived very early ,they let us put our luggage in storage.
then we come back and asked for earlier check in , no problem , very friendly stuff
and the next day we were allowed to stay a bit longer without charge .
the room was good size and clean, everything was there what you need
very good, will stay there again

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAB8899, Cluster Director of Sales & Marketing at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay with the Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa. It is the feedback we receive from our guests that assist us in improving the services we provide.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your short visit to the Ottawa area and that our staff were accommodating with your schedule. Your comments are a great example of the customer service our staff works hard to provide our guests on a daily basis.

Again, many thanks for posting the review and we hope to see you again soon.

Denise Breau
Cluster Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown

Address: 350 Dalhousie Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#17 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#25 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Ottawa Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.