We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome staff, fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Dalhousie Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7E9, Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Kingston, Canada
1 review
“awesome staff, fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

front desk staff "Michele" went above and beyond there duties, we have never encountered such caring and informative personel. the hotel was under repairs at the time but didn't interfere with our stay. the room was excellent and quiet. the location was excellent for our walk to parliament hill and to byward market as well as sparks st. We had breakfast at the lounge area , again staff and meal were excellent. We will be staying again!!

Room Tip: inside rooms to the courtyard are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We appreciate the kind words! Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor.

Customer service is an important aspect to any guests’ stay and we do our best to make each person’s stay enjoyable. We are currently finalizing the last of our renovations. However, the guest floors have been completed and upgraded to the new Courtyard style.

Our location truly is great. We are within walking distance to all major sites in the downtown core including over 130 restaurants in the Byward Market. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy the area. We are always glad to make recommendations for meals if guests choose to dine outwards. However, we do also have our Bistro on site which is open for breakfast and dinner. This offers guests the opportunity to dine on site. We are delighted that everything went well during your stay here.

Thank you again for posting on TripAdvisor. We look forward to having you return!
-Monica Schoeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    237
    85
    21
    18
See reviews for
147
144
53
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beacon, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was excellent in every way! My husband and I arrived at about 11 am, not expecting to be able to check in but just hoping to park the car. Instead, we were welcomed and given a key to our room! The location is perfect-walking distance to almost everything we wanted to see in the city. Once we parked our car, we didn't drive it again until we checked out. The room was very comfortable. However, on our first night (a spring-like Saturday night) there was a lot of noise from the street and restaurants below us. We decided to ask the next morning if it would be possible to change to an interior room with less street noise. They said yes, and immediately gave us keys to a different (and larger) room for our second night. That night we had a wonderful, quiet night's rest. The snacks in the lobby every night were tasty, and the staff extremely helpful at all times. I would highly recommend this hotel for a fabulous and reasonable stay in Ottawa!

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room to avoid street noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Firstly thank you for the thoughtful review!

We are happy to hear that an early check in was possible! We cannot guarantee early check ins for guests but if there is a room available we will gladly provide you with a room and keys. However, should there be no rooms available at that time (for various reasons) we will definitely allow guests to park with us should they wish to tour the city.

On certain nights of the week there is more activity in the market and the noise in the immediate area could escalate more so than usual. Nevertheless, should a guest request a certain room type or a room transfer we will do our very best to accommodate them.

As mentioned our location is phenomenal and often the use of a vehicle is not required since we are within walking distance to several great restaurants, attractions and tours. We are glad to hear you were able to make the most of your time in Ottawa.

Overall we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you with us again during your travels to Ottawa.
-Monica Schoeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Special mention shoudl go to the staff at this hotel who were above par with the front desk being notably friendlier than their peers at the downtown Marriott. The hotel also offered welcome extras like cookies and popcorn in the lobby during certain times of day.

This hotel is located in an ideal location for touring Ottawa. It is within easy walking distance of Parliament, the National Gallery, and it is in the heart of the ByWard Market which allows easy access to a number of restaurants and other treates. You can also walk to the Governer General's mansion (get a map), the Rideau Canal, and the Museum of Nature.

Parking was a bit expensive. It may be more affordable for you to park in the City lot nearby. Caution: the public lot is likely less secure. If you have used other methods of transportation to arrive in the city you will not require a vehichle to see most of the City if you are staying here.

The property is being rennovated with rennovations on the 3rd floor having been completed. The rooms themselves are not special; they are regular Courtyard style and quality.

Assuming you can obtain a reasonable price this is a good choice as a base of operations while in Ottawa.

Room Tip: Interior rooms will be quiet while exterior will give you a view of downtown but more noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Your review is valued and we would like to thank you for posting on TripAdvisor.

Our staff does their best to provide friendly service from start to finish. We would like our guests to feel welcome and to enjoy their stay. From the arrival experience to the checkout we hope that guests find their time here to be pleasant.

The downtown location is a great advantage because guests, such as yourself, can tour the market area for various restaurants and still be within walking distance to Ottawa’s biggest attractions.

We do offer limited parking onsite (both above and below ground) for $20 with taxes. The parking at our hotel does allow guests in and out privileges throughout their stay. This price is competitive to our hotel counterparts. In the immediate area to the hotel there are other parking lots and pay as you go options. However, the majority of them do not offer rates for a 24 hour period, which means that often the day rate paid will expire around 4 am.

We are now finalizing the last of our renovation in the lower level and everything else is up to date with the new Courtyard look and feel.

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you in the future!
-Monica Schoeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I think that most reviewers have been "blinded" by this hotel's fantastic location in the Byward Market. First of all, the renovations are NOT complete. The unfortunate lighting and yellow wallpaper in the hallways combine for an (almost) institutional effect.

Things are much better in the rooms, however, as the red wallpaper on the walls behind the deep cherry red headboards really makes the room "pop" for a good first impression. The beds are flat, firm, & comfortable and are made up with high quality sheets and pillowcases.

There is a small work area built into the combined clothes dresser/refridgerator stand/TV stand. My unit had several small chips in it and didn't look particularly new. The TV was a Phillips flatscreen, but there were no HD channels.

The climate control won't go lower than 68 degrees, so if you like it cool when you sleep, you're out of luck at this property.

The biggest disappointment, however, was the bathroom. The sink area was fine, as it was brand new. Counter space was very limited (I even set up the ironing board and used it for my toiletries during my 5 night stay). The bathroom/tub area had not been renovated (except for a new toilet and shower curtain). The tub, shower, and fixtures were old. The splash walls above the tub were very unattractive and appeared to be very old.

I can't comment on the fitness room/pool, as it was under renovation during the week I was there.

The big star of this hotel is the main floor which contains the lobby, lounge, restaurant, and business centre. All have been completely renovated in a very smart red colour scheme.

The staff at the hotel are both helpful and plentiful, as there was always 2 or 3 people on duty at the front desk at anytime.

Also, the housekeeping at this property was top-notch. I didn't see any problems whatsoever during my 1 week stay.

Room Tip: Get a room on the courtyard side, and you won't hear any noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor!

We are proud to say that the hotel was recently renovated to the new Courtyard style. The rooms, hallways, lounge, Bistro and meeting spaces have all been redone to match the brand’s new look. We’re pleased that you enjoyed the room especially the color contrasts of the design concept.

Each room does come with a credenza combination that covers the majority of the wall. In this we have some shelving with our ice bucket, glasses, and coffee machine. Additionally, in the lower portion there is a bar fridge. This piece of furniture also has our TV on it and the remainder of the space is a desk area with a rollout table that can be stored under it for additional work space.

In regards to our climate control, it is a self-regulating system so once the desired temperature is inputted it will cool and/or heat as necessary to keep the room at the temperature selected.
The pool and fitness area were closed for some regular maintenance and painting. We do apologize for any inconvenience that the pool/fitness closure had caused. We did our best to alert guests in advance by sending out an e-mail to incoming guests on the days it was to be closed.

Thank you very much for the kind comments of our staff. We take pride in our hotel and do the best we can to ensure that each guest has an enjoyable stay.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post to TripAdvisor!
-Monica Schoeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

It did not happen by design...my best friend cancelled out on me due to sickness. I arrived in Ottawa on March 2nd to visit with my daughter and thought that I had a place to stay. When my plans changed, I went to visit "old friends." What a special treat. The reservation staff was very accommodating. The check in process was very efficient. The room was incredibly, clean, safe and comfortable. The price was right. Once again, I had a great night's sleep and when I return to Ottawa, I will definitely stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room at a higher floor level and not on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback.

We always enjoy having repeat guests and we are pleased to hear your stay was pleasant. We do our best to provide guests with great customer service by having efficient check ins, providing guests with local maps, answering questions etc.

We did recently renovate our guest rooms so everything is up to date and matches the new Courtyard style. We take pride in our hotel and want our guests to enjoy their stay, feel welcome and feel safe.

Again, thank you for your review and comments. We hope to have you back in the near future!
-Monica Schoeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed while we were in town for a sporting event and each time we come, we find ourselves coming downtown for shopping and eating. The location is in the middle of all shops and restaurants. Underground parking kept te vehice safe. Rooms were clean and staff were excellent. My wife, my 9yr old and I enjoyed the large pool and hot tub. The breakfast was the best we have ever had at a hotel and it was reasonably priced. Well worth the money.

Room Tip: Lots of noise from Dalhousie street during the night. They gave us the option to be on the other si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Firstly, we would like to thank you for the review. Your kind words are appreciated!

The hotel does have a fantastic location with access to all sorts of restaurants, attractions and businesses. Guests enjoy the easy access to everything they need.

We take our customer service earnestly and we are thrilled to hear that the staff was helpful and kind. We are happy that your family was able to make the most of their time here and you were able to use the pool/hot tub.

The breakfast in our Bistro is an a la carte menu and can provide guests with a variety of options ranging from yoghurt parfaits to French toast and more. We are happy to hear you enjoyed it.

Once again, thank you for your review. We hope that we will be seeing you again in the future!

-Monica Schoeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated near the Byward market. It is within walking distance of everything that we wanted to see. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They have a great quiet time policy that allowed us to get a good sleep both nights that we stayed. And best of all, it was a not pets allowed property which we try to find wherever we stay. The only negatives were that the air conditioning was a little noisy but at least it worked and the bathroom is a little tight for space.

Room Tip: We stayed around the back of the hotel facing the courtyard. Not much of a view but nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor.

The hotel does have a fantastic location because of the added convenience for our guests to be able to walk to the mall, restaurants, attractions etc.

We are happy to hear that you found the staff to be helpful. Our customer service is an important to us. We do try to take time to answer guest questions, provide directions or provide recommendations.

The staff looks forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Ottawa.
-Monica Schoeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown

Address: 350 Dalhousie Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#26 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Ottawa Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.