We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Dalhousie Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7E9, Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Dexter, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated near the Byward market. It is within walking distance of everything that we wanted to see. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They have a great quiet time policy that allowed us to get a good sleep both nights that we stayed. And best of all, it was a not pets allowed property which we try to find wherever we stay. The only negatives were that the air conditioning was a little noisy but at least it worked and the bathroom is a little tight for space.

Room Tip: We stayed around the back of the hotel facing the courtyard. Not much of a view but nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor.

The hotel does have a fantastic location because of the added convenience for our guests to be able to walk to the mall, restaurants, attractions etc.

We are happy to hear that you found the staff to be helpful. Our customer service is an important to us. We do try to take time to answer guest questions, provide directions or provide recommendations.

The staff looks forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Ottawa.
-Monica Schoeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    237
    85
    21
    18
See reviews for
147
144
53
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My gf and I stayed here over the Easter long weekend and it was great! The location is awesome, the rooms are a good size and the people that worked there were very nice and helpful. Anyone that wants to spend time in the market or on Elgin or shopping in Rideau mall would find this a perfect location.
Parking is a bit expensive, both above ground and underground. The breakfast buffet was misleading but I think it was just due to a miscommunication with the young girl that was working at the time. The lack of choices in the buffet would be our largest complaint. However, my gf mentioned that she was acually looking for some other options (based on a breakfast option that was the same prize as the buffet) and the cooks happily made her a specialized order (plus seconds). No problems or question asked! Highly recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Your review is very much appreciated. Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor!

Our location as you mentioned is a great advantage especially for those looking to go shopping, exploring the market area or heading out for a meal. There is a Bistro onsite that serves breakfast and dinner. However, our buffet was a special which was offered exclusively during the Easter weekend. On a day to day basis there is the a-la-carte option for our guests which has breakfast options that include (but are not limited to): scrambled eggs, parfaits, bagels and French toast.

We are thrilled to hear that the staff took charge and made your girlfriend the breakfast she preferred. We do take customer service to heart and we try to make each guests stay memorable and enjoyable.

Parking in the downtown core is at an additional charge. For our hotel it is $20 (with taxes) which allows guests in and out privileges. However, we are priced competitively with other hotels in the vicinity.

Thank you again for the review. We hope to host you during your next travels to Ottawa.
-Monica Schoeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here as part of a group booking for a women's hockey tournament. The hotels in the city were booked solid due to both the Women's World Hockey Championships as well as the Ontario Women's Hockey championships. The location was awesome. Right downtown close to the Market area as well as the Rideau Centre. The rates were a little pricey. All hotels raised their rates due to the tournaments. We also had to pay for parking $20/night. The hotel had not planned on so much parking and patrons were very upset about having to park down the street. They did their best though trying to accommodate all the extra business. The rooms very large which was awesome for my 2 hockey players. The rooms were also very clean. Our room had a fridge which was convenient because my daughter is Ciliac and needs all her food with her. Although the location was good it was also a curse since it was quite noisy outside the hotel. Good thing I brought along ear plugs.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Your review is appreciated! Thank you for taking the time to post your positive experience on TripAdvisor.

The past weekend was extremely busy in the city with the two tournaments you mentioned. However, we did our best to accommodate everyone. Although there is limited parking onsite we do have access to a parking house down the street from the hotel that allows hotel guests in and out privileges much like our own parking lot.

Our location is one of the best in Ottawa. We are in the heart of the market, this means guest are within walking distance to various attractions and over 130 restaurants. It makes guests’ stays convenient, especially for families visiting because there are several dining options within walking distance.

Each room in the hotel is equipped with fridges for added convenience. We are pleased to hear that it was helpful for your daughter. We are pleased that you found the rooms spacious and that you had an enjoyable stay.

We sincerely hope to host you again in the future!

-Monica Schoeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for one evening during easter weekend visit. I wasnt sure what to expect, it's the only hotel in byward market and it doesn't have the most appealing exterior. But didnt judge book from cover...The front desk agent, Lina, was very friendly and was able to check me in earlier and was also able to assist in finding taxi estimates and anything else during my stay. She really made the experience that much better. The hotel and rooms smell freshly renovated and every area of the hotel was spotless. Occupancy was 75% too.The bed was a little stiff and not the pillow top you've come to expect at other Marriott's brands, however when asked about comfort to FD they sent housekeeping up right away to rectify with a layered mattress pad...The next day they remembered and asked how I slept with it. Little touches here and there. Always helpful and anticipating needs...The pool area is immaculate and hot tub has sliding doors behind and around it to catch that morning breeze. I booked through priceline...Expect this: You get more than u pay for. Can't wait to stay again!! Thanks front desk and housekeeping team for a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for room with no street view. Less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback and comments!

The Courtyard Marriott Ottawa Downtown is the only hotel in the Byward Market and it provides our guest with a great advantage because they are within walking distance to many restaurants and attractions. Our customer service is important to us and we are pleased that our staff was able to assist you to make your stay better.

We did recently renovate the guest rooms in May 2011 to the new Courtyard standard. Currently we are finalizing the hallways renovations so that the entire hotel matches the new style.

We take pride in our hotel especially the indoor pool and hot tub. It provides our guests with a way to relax and enjoy their stays.

Thank you for your review. We look forward to hosting you again.

-Monica Schoeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel itself would get a 3 (average mid-range Marriott property) but the majority of the staff take it up an notch and make it a 4. They were very proactive in trying to meet our needs and that was very much appreciated.
The rooms are typical Courtyard with decent beds and the usual amenities. Walls are a bit thin and the room was a little noisy but running the fan all the time blocks out pretty everything.
The location is very convenient to restaurants and shopping. Wifi is fast and consistent.
They are doing lots of renovation and I think with the new polishing up this is going to be a really nice mid-range hotel.
The one thing that is really annoying is the luggage carts are too big for the elevator and getting them in and out is a real workout. I'm hoping that is being addressed as the renovations are being completed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Your review is very much appreciated! Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you found the staff to be helpful. We take our customer service to heart and do our best to ensure everyone’s stays are enjoyable.

There are currently some renovations that are ongoing. However, they will be finalized shortly. Our hallways are being redone to match the rooms and the overall new Courtyard style. The rooms themselves were re-done in May 2011.

As mentioned our location is a great advantage. It allows guests to walk to Ottawa’s attractions and restaurants.

We also recently upgraded our internet connection. The new network is very quick and efficient to meet our business and leisure guests needs. We hope you were able to take advantage of this during your stay.

Again, thank you for posting on TripAdvisor. We hope that you will choose our hotel again during your next visit!

- Monica Schoeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Clean cozy rooms with very small bathrooms and marginal water pressure. You'll be fine, but a little extra pressure would be nice! Walls a bit 'thin', but typical for this price point.

The bed is 'plank stiff' & I prefer firmer mattresses, not this one!!

Hotel parking is $20 per day, in case you care. It's self park either above or underground.

This morning had hot oatmeal, eh! A bit mushy, but washed it down with a Starbucks coffee which the hotel brews/serves.

Overall, hotel staff is friendly & it's in a great location. If you keep in mind the 'plank stiff' bed, you'll do fine to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Firstly, we appreciate the review and feedback for future guests!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the rooms. They were recently renovated in 2011 to the new brand style. We apologize that you found the bed to be too stiff. For future stays please feel free to contact the front desk with any concerns and we would be glad to assist you.

Our location is one of the best! We are in the heart of the market and very close to over 100 restaurants. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly.

Thank you again for the review. We hope to host you again the next time you return to Ottawa!
-Monica Schoeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

I made a reservation 3 weeks prior, as part of of a group of 5. When I arrived after midnight, the clerk informed me that they had given my room away, and wanted to send me to another Marriott 20 minutes away. Which would have made it really difficult to meet my party for breakfast at 7 AM. Luckily a great cab driver found me a room at a Quality Inn 3 blocks away.

As Marriott doesn't honour confirmed reservations, I will NEVER book with them again. And I would advise avoiding this hotel completely. They cannot be trusted.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer R, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for giving us your feedback on TripAdvisor as it helps use to improve our service for future guests.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. Your room was not given away, however due to unforeseen circumstances beyond our control we unfortunately did not have a room available for you. When a situation such as this arises, it is our policy to pay for your accommodations at another hotel and also for the cost of transportation to the hotel as well as back to your meeting in the morning. Those accommodations will always be made at a comparable hotel with the same level of quality and service Marriott hotels provide which is why we had made arrangements for you to stay at the Courtyard Marriott East which is located only one exit away from the downtown core or a ten minute taxi ride. We understand the frustration that a situation like this can cause and therefore try to minimize the impact as much as possible.

Please accept our apologies and we hope to have the opportunity in the future to show you what the Courtyard Marriott Ottawa truly has to offer.

-Michelle Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown

Address: 350 Dalhousie Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#26 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Ottawa Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.