We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heartland Ottawa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Dalhousie Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7E9, Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Grand Bend
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Heartland Ottawa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel was chosen as it was central and close to my daughter's residence. I travelled on the first of December to celebrate her birthday. I was impressed by the lobby. Small, but extremely functional. The staff was very friendly and efficient. I was given the impression that they really cared about my well being and the quality of my stay. The single room was ample. I was surprised by its great size, the cleanliness and quality of the linens. The flat screen tv was tech trendy. Despite being known for the surrounding night life, I found the hotel to be very quiet and enjoyed my sleep. I had a look at the rec facilities and was very pleased. Breakfast was buffet style and very healthy with the price being right. I plan to regularly visit Ottawa in the future and will always seek out this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDutyManager, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such positive feedback about your stay!

We’re glad you liked our renovated lobby and rooms. We aimed to make the space practical and comfortable at the same time. I look forward to passing on your kind words about our staff. Knowing we have helped make a guest feel welcomed is one of the best aspects of working in the hospitality industry. Our location is one of the best in Ottawa as we’re located in the Byward Market. While this does offer a lot of activities for our guests outside the hotel, we make sure that inside the hotel remains a peaceful environment so guests can rest and relax.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with other travelers! We certainly look forward to seeing you again in Ottawa!

-Michelle Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    251
    90
    21
    18
See reviews for
154
154
54
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stay at Courtyard Ottawa Downtown once a year for business because of its convenient location. It's right smack in Byward Market where there are several shops and restaurants to cater to different tastes. A few meters is Rideau Centre while onwards is a Chapters bookstore. You're 1 to 2 minutes away (walking) to popular Dunn's deli/diner and the famous beaver tails shop.

5 minutes walk would bring you to Cora's for a wonderful breakfast and head on another 3 to 5 minutes and you'll get to Loblaws supermarket. The hotel is also a 10-minute walk from Parliament Hill.

The rooms have been renovated since 2010 I think so the design is modern and functional, far from its old, tired image when I first stayed there in 2008.

There's a small swimming pool but they removed equipment already in the fitness room. There's a coin-operated washer and dryer that are really helpful for those traveling to several cities.

Would recommend this hotel to those who would want to get the most of their time in Canada's beautiful capital.

Room Tip: Do not choose those rooms fronting the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDutyManager, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We thank you very much for the review you have posted on TripAdvisor for fellow travelers to read.

We agree 100% that the hotel’s location is fantastic. Like you said, we are close to many attractions, stores and restaurants. Our staff is always happy to provide suggestions of where to eat since there is over 130 different options!

The hotel did recently get renovated in the guest rooms and lobby/Bistro area, and we are currently working on the second phase which will focus on the hallways. We are equipped with a pool, hot tub and fitness area with ellipticals, a treadmill and a weight section.

Thank you again for the review! Your loyalty is appreciated and we look forward to hosting you again!

- Monica Schoeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowville, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed only a couple of nights at the Courtyard but were very pleased with the friendliness, cleanliness and comfort there. This location is perfect for walking to all downtown attractions and shopping. Sometimes we are a little hard to please but Marriott always does it for us.

Room Tip: Check the layout, some rooms are a long way from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDutyManager, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you very much for the great review and kind comments! We're always happy to hear guest feedback.

We always strive to provide great service with friendly, helpful, and knowledgable staff. Our housekeeping department also takes their responsabilities seriously in providing a clean environment for our guests.

Our location is our one of our greatest advantages since it's in the downtown core and close to many restaurants, attractions and businesses.

We sincerely hope to host you again in the future.

-Monica Schoeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nowhere
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed for a week in October and was very satisfied with the Courtyard Marriott, The room was clean and fresh as was the bathroom which is always a make or break for me. Very convenient ironing board and iron located in the room which I did need. The hotel has undergone renos quite recently and they seem to have done a good job. The only complaint I had was slow internet but apparently they are upgrading to bad timing for me. The hotel is near bars, restaurants, shopping, ABMs and the Parliament Bldgs if you want to go for a sightseeing tour. Location is the selling feature for the Courtyard. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDutyManager, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for your comments!

We did renovate recently and we’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed the rooms with the amenities included. We take our cleanliness and customer service seriously and it’s great to receive positive feedback.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the poor internet connection. However, we are working to improve the network and to ensure a fast connection as we understand the importance of the connectivity.

Again, thank you kindly for your feedback. We hope to see you again for future stays!

-Monica Schoeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The rooms are fine and you can always count on the beds being comfortable at Marriott, but the basically useless "free" internet service was a big drawback during my recent four-night stay. The lack of room-service is also a negative factor. The food at The Bistro is ok for a light breakfast but very mediocre otherwise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDutyManager, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to provide future guests your feedback!

We’re sorry to hear that part of your stay was not up to your expectations. Unfortunately, the Courtyard brand is not a full-service hotel and therefore we do not offer room service. That being said, we do have a “Bistro To Go” concept whereby guests can call ahead to the restaurant to make an order and we will call them in your room when the order is ready for pick-up. The Bistro was designed to be quick and convenient place for those wanting to get something to eat within the hotel. As we are located in the Byward Market, there are over 100 restaurants within a short walking distance which offer guests a large variety of cuisine types and price points. We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the work currently being done to improve our internet connection. Please rest assured we understand the need for a fast connection and we are working very hard to have the work completed as quickly as possible. As our guest’s rest is one of our top priorities, we’re glad that you found our beds to be comfortable.

Again, we’d like to thank you for taking the time to tell others about your stay and we hope to have the chance to host you again we will have the chance to show you what Courtyard Marriott Ottawa truly has to offer!

-Michelle Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Really liked the location, lobby, bistro & the employees. The renovated rooms are nice, although on the small side & with tube tv.

The hotel should have a warning that the internet doesn't work. I had to go to a nearby coffee shop to conduct business/work for six hours because of internet issues.

I would have given hotel otherwise four stars had the internet worked.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDutyManager, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at Courtyard Marriott Ottawa with other travelers!

It’s so nice to hear how much you enjoyed our wonderful location and great staff! The Bistro is a new concept implemented during our renovations so we’re glad you had a chance to try it. It’s always good to get feedback on it. As a side note, we do have executive rooms available which will offer more square footage for those wanting a larger room.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the work currently being done to our internet service. We understand the need for a steady, reliable connection so please rest assured we are working diligently to have the upgrade process completed as quickly as possible.

Again, we’d like to thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon in the Nation’s Capital!

-Michelle Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I typically stay at the Indigo whenever I visit Ottawa, but which the promo is going on, and as I had two back to back week long stays on business in Ottawa, decided to stay here. Glad I did.

Check in is nice and friendly. Recognize as elite and you get a welcome food/snack bonus.

Free internet, excellent workout facility (little small but well maintained), great location as you are right in the byward market!
Rooms are clean, modern and on par with other Courtyards, but I did find the bathrooms a bit dated in the rooms.

I can't say enough about this place. It's now my go to place for Ottawa trips!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYDutyManager, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We’d like to thank you for taking the time to give us your comments about your recent stay with us!

We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here! I certainly look forward to passing on your kind words about our staff. We do appreciate our loyal guests and therefor try to always recognize them with little bonuses at check-in, such as a tasty snack for later! We do have a wonderful location offering guests so much to see and do within close proximity and we’re glad you were able to enjoy some of our amenities too.

Again, we’d like to thank you for sharing your thoughts with other travelers and we look forward to hosting your next trip to Ottawa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown

Address: 350 Dalhousie Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#17 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#25 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Ottawa Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Ottawa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.