We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Laurier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Chateau Laurier to your Saves list
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rideau Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 8S7, Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The Laurier is special. Yes it is turn if the century and standard rooms are a little dated but it exudes a charm. Staff are professional and welcoming. If you get a good rate stay in a Fairmont Gold room. They are very nice.

Room Tip: Fairmont Gold if the rate is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Roozel,

I always enjoy reading the nice remarks about our colleagues at the Fairmont Château Laurier.

I will be sure to pass along your comments to our colleagues.

Sincerely,

Claude J. Sauvé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    436
    203
    88
    50
See reviews for
288
496
80
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

went thee for business, but stayed with my boyfriend as we wanted to watch the Sens/Leafs game. beautiful hotel- just liek the pictures. the room is a little outdated but it wouldnt make sense to have a fancy modern interior and a turn of the century castle. i was a little thrown off that while we were sleeping the next morning the maid came right into our room at 10am and asked if 'everything was alright". and when we said 'yes.??' she just left. LOL.anyways- the beds were really comfy- the toiletries were really nice to use. the lobby was beautiful- i couldnt get over the look of the elevators. the hotel is right downtown and it wa perfect cause there was a market of somesort right outside- so close to so many resteraunts. i wish we could of stayed longer just so we could try everything. besides the maid walking into our room randomly to ask if 'everything was ok" and the gentle hazeing from the bell boys because we were wearing out Leafs jerseys i would say our stay was 10/10

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Janice,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We will share your 10 out of 10 comments with our colleagues.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collette
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Keep the good work,I enjoyed my stay. You made me feel so special...Everyone are always ready to help you...very very friendly staff with a smile ;) I would recommend this Hotel to anyone that want a nice vacation in Ottawa X0X Thanks...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Andrea,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Fairmont Château Laurier.

I hope that you will be back soon.

Best regards,

Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stay on the 4th floor, it's beautiful. Super hotel, superb location. One of the most elegant hotels in the world. Always worth staying here should you be on a trip to Ottawa. The staff are incredibly well trained.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your kind remarks on Trip Advisor.

I look forward to passing along your comments to our colleagues.

Again thank you,

Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I attended a conference at the Chateau Laurier in March and was wowed from the minute I spied it in the cab ride from the airport. What a jewel of Old Ottawa. I rank it the best bathtub of any hotel I have ever stayed. From the 1920's I think, and long and deep enough to float in! A perfect end to a frigid walk around the area's fantastic bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Christine,

It sounds like despite the cooler weather, you were truly able to enjoy Ottawa and the Fairmont Château Laurier.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comment on Trip Advisor.

Warm regards,

Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Every time I visit Ottawa for work I try to stay at the Chateau Laurier. The location couldn't be better as it's walking distance to all the sites, lots of restaurants and bars. The reception is very friendly and helpful. I generally don't have to queue to check in. The hotel lobby, hallways, bar, elevators, etc. are very regal. Not modern but old school elegant which makes it kind of cozy. Some rooms can be smaller than what you might find at at Hyatt or Delta but the furnishings are nice, comfortable bed, and I've always found them really clean. The fitness centre on the lower floor is really well equipped too which is a plus when on business trips in winter. I've never had a bad experience at the Chateau Laurier. In fact, on my last visit they upgraded me to a Fairmont Gold room which was bigger and came with complimentary breakfast and other amenities!
I will definitely stay here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
We greatly appreciate you taking the take to share your thoughts about Ottawa’s castle with others on Trip Advisor.

I would agree that our old-world charm is what truly sets us apart.

Thank you,

Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

An elegant place to stay in Ottawa that's steeped in history and centrally located.
The architecture of this old lady is truly impressive with updated rooms that blend stylish with sophistication. A special experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Bruce,

What a wonderful posting!

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Fairmont Château Laurier, it is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Chateau Laurier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Laurier

Address: 1 Rideau Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 8S7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#2 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#8 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#11 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Laurier 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the confidence, dignity and style of Ottawa, Fairmont Chateau Laurier stands as a testament to this dynamic, thriving city. Located in the heart of Canada's capital next door to the Parliament Buildings, the landmark Fairmont Chateau Laurier hotel in Ottawa is a magnificent limestone edifice with turrets and masonry reminiscent of a French chateau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Laurier Hotel Ottawa
Fairmont Hotel Ottawa
Fairmont Hotel Chateau Laurier
Fairmont Ottawa
Ottawa Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Laurier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.