We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style grandeur with modern facilities and a friendly atmosphere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Laurier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Chateau Laurier to your Saves list
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rideau Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 8S7, Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Old style grandeur with modern facilities and a friendly atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Chateau Laurier has a real presence and by its consistent style over the last 100 years competes for attention with the many grand buildings in the Parliament precinct of Canada's national capital where it is conveniently located. The rooms are large and comfortable, very clean and well maintained. The quality of the cuisine in the restaurants and bar is consistently high with the Sunday brunch not to be missed. The staff are friendly and helpful. Take a stroll down memory lane by viewing the hotel's photographic record over the last 100 years on display near the gift shop. Chateau Laurier is the type of hotel where you could easily spend several days without ever leaving the hotel and still leave feeling you've had a good time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the water in the direction of the nearby Parliament.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
What a pleasure it was for me to read your post on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel and its attributes. I hope that we will have the distinct pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    437
    203
    88
    50
See reviews for
288
496
80
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
YYC
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Admittedly I like traditional places. It is often the case that newer constructions do offer what for a while may be perceived as better quality. But in my book history has value. I generally like the older Fairmont, formerly Canadian Pacific places.

First, there is location, arguably the best in Ottawa, with nice views from most rooms. Together with location, the place is quiet. This contrasts with these places further east, such as for instance the Marriott, but also others, located on narrow streets with streetcars, where no matter how high you stay, noise from the street reaches your room. But at the Chateau Laurier, noise does not wake you up at 6:30 am.

Fairmont service is always nice. Somehow they had gone out of the cheapest rooms with king size bed, which I had booked, so they moved me up to a very nice, larger room.

Fairmont is also quite good at dealing with these historic properties, keeping bathrooms updated albeit on the small size, and they seem able to maintain these places spot clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I visited Ottawa in July 2013 to see the Eagles concert. Having never been to Ottawa before we decided to spend a few days there and see all the major highlights. Being a fan of the Fairmont chain we had to stay at the Chateau Laurier. Having read the reviews here we knew our stay would not be perfect... and true to form... it wasn't. We reserved a suite with a king-sized bed on the gold floor. Our flight arrived late and we didn't get into our room until well past midnight... right away we noticed that the bed was a queen sized. It was late and we were tired so we just hit the pillow, we'd call them the next day. It has been very warm in Ottawa lately and when we woke up.. in the middle of the night, we realized the air conditioner wasn't working. So.. next day we phone the front desk and complain... we had a lot of sites to see so we were hoping our issues would be addressed when we returned later that day. Returning to our room we had a nice note on the door that said the AC was fixed. Yeah we thought! Upon entering the room... it was still sweltering hot... BUT... there was now a small desk-sized fan that was provided, laff. We called again... they said they'd fix it. But they never did. Add to that... that it was past 4:30PM in the afternoon... and our room hadn't been made up yet. Being in a suite on the gold floor.. and paying $500+ a night... we had higher expectations. The gold floor 'lounge' is extremely small... and we were very lucky to get seats whenever we went. Don't get me wrong, this is a very nice old-world style hotel that is very charming and in pretty good shape for it's age. This hotel is really all about LOCATION. In that regard I give it 5 stars all the way. Being able to walk to all the major sites was invaluable. The proximity to Parliament hill is just incomparable. If it wasn't for the location of the hotel the 'tone' of this review would be decidedly different. However, this is a good solid hotel, right in the heart of the action in Ottawa. Is it up to Fairmont standards (especially gold floor) that you are used to. No.. it isn't. Having said that... you are really paying for the location of this hotel, and in that regard it scores very well indeed. We're glad we picked this hotel and would probably stay there again if we return to Ottawa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
I am sorry to read that your stay did not provide you with the outstanding experience we aim to provide to all of our guests.

You are correct that the temperature in Ottawa was far above what is normal, therefore air conditioning was not performing at its normal capacity.

I would be happy to review your stay with you should you wish to contact me directly at 613-241-1414. In the meantime, thank you so much for your comments.

Wishing you a pleasant day.

Claude J. Sauvé,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Chateau, one of Canada's venerable railway hotels maintains its charm with all modern amenities. The rooms are largely redone and the architecture, both within and without is spectacular. Even if u don't stay there, look at the lobby sometime, you can feel the history. The hotel is steps to Parliament, the Byward Market, the NAC and good shopping and business. It is my first choice for my frequent trips to Ottawa.

Room Tip: Every room is unique but try for views of Parliament or National Conference Centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel is a real charmer. The décor is absolutely gorgeous and the rooms quite lovely. We had a two bed/bathroom suite that was more than adequate for our 4 nite stay.Brought our Grandson along to see Parliament Hill, a beautiful sight from our breakfast table in LaTerrasse. The food was delicious, presentation and staff top-notch. We utilized the services of the concierge and they were most helpful for tours and restaurants. Staff are very friendly and helpful, from the front desk to the maid service. Would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel! Also, the location is close to Parliament and the Byward Market, a must see!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Chateau Laurier on a weekend get-a-away. We were incredibly impressed by the entire experience. We we arrived, we were greeted at check in by Michael, who asked if we wanted to be upgraded for a modest fee to the Gold floor. We opted for this option and were very pleased we did. The continental breakfast and snacks at the end of the day were well prepared and delicious. The service from the wait staff, concierge, waitresses and other personnel was top-notch. The room was spacious, updated, quiet and very clean. We also liked the pool, work out room as well as checking out the architecture and historical photo's.

The proximity to attractions such as the National Gallery, Parliament Hill, Rideau Canal is perfect. I've traveled on business to Ottawa many times staying at the ARC The Hotel, Westin, Hilton and Embassy Suites and there is no comparison. This is a great place to stay for a relaxing and memorable time in Ottawa.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Gold. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
It is always such a pleasure to read these wonderful comments.

I will be sure to pass along your notes to the team, especially Michael who by asking you if you would like to upgrade to Fairmont Gold, helped enhance your stay further.

Thank you for sharing.

Sincerely,

Claude J. Sauvé
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Unbeatable location. Near rideau canal, good restaurants, rideau shopping centre and parliament. No free buffet breakfast which is a minus. The rooms are small and pretty dated. They need to do good renovations. Service is good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Chateau Laurier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Laurier

Address: 1 Rideau Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 8S7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#2 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#8 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#10 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Laurier 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the confidence, dignity and style of Ottawa, Fairmont Chateau Laurier stands as a testament to this dynamic, thriving city. Located in the heart of Canada's capital next door to the Parliament Buildings, the landmark Fairmont Chateau Laurier hotel in Ottawa is a magnificent limestone edifice with turrets and masonry reminiscent of a French chateau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Laurier Hotel Ottawa
Fairmont Hotel Ottawa
Fairmont Hotel Chateau Laurier
Fairmont Ottawa
Ottawa Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Laurier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.