We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop Over Enroute to Tremblant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa

Save Saved
You added Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   141 Cooper St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P OE8, Canada (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe - Ottawa - Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #43 of 67 hotels in Ottawa
Toronto
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Stop Over Enroute to Tremblant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed here, on our way to Tremblant from Toronto. Thanks to Priceline, I was able to get a deal for the one night we stayed here ($75 taxes in).

Check-in was very easy, and so was check out. We arrived too late to be able to park at the hotel, however we were able to get (free since we left before 8am) street parking right across from the hotel.

Our room included a fully equipped kitchen. The bathroom was updated and clean. The bed was firm but comfortable.

If you are looking for a clean place to shower and sleep, I'd recommend this place. Otherwise, if you are looking for something fancy look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    96
    85
    47
    27
See reviews for
71
77
21
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I stayed their on Oct 14th to Oct 16th 2011. It is an average hotel with acceptable standard. I arrived there earlier than the check in time, the receiption girl helped me to search the available room and let me check in early. That is very nice of her. The hotel has offered free local phone calls, free internet and full kitchen. The location is at heart of downtown Ottawa and very easy to access. The only things I do not like are the construction at the back and drunk people on the street in the mid night, but the hotel can do nothing about this. Overrall, needs a place to stay and sleep, no problem with this hotel, look for something fancy, try somewhere else.

Room Tip: Room on the front side might be better, the construction is on the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

it is an acceptable hotel, in fact, it uses an old apartment and converts it to a hotel. Therefore, each unit is a suite with a bedroom, and a living room. A Full Kitchen is available. the building is old, and the hotel has not really renovated the building, but the carpet or walls being painted. i can testify that the washroom has been upgraded and the shower, tiles, floor and faucets are all like new. the mattresses are terribly soft, so i got back aches from it for the whole 2 days of staying in there. the Aspirins did the job though. In terms of location, it is top notch. it is just 200 yards from the main street Elgin where all the restaurants are located. you can find any type of food three, including Montreal's Dunn's smoked meat. Falafel is the standard fast food in Ottawa and you can be rest assured to find one on the street. There are lots of pubs, italian restaurants. All have their menus listed at the front doors and i find that their prices are no more expensive than any big cities. It is within walkable distance to the parliament. To go to other museums, you will need to drive. Nonetheless, they have in and out privilege for the parking lot if you pay $14 a day for using the hotel parking lot. If they run out of space, you can park your car in the parking lot of the City hall whcih is just located half a block east of the hotel. yo ualso pay just $14 for the city hall parking lot. The hotel is not upscale, 2-1/2 stars is bang on, but its location is truly worth considering if one does not care much about the soft mattresses. I may consider staying there again when i go to the capital city next year. Finally, there is no bed bug, i stayed in Days Inn nearby, my son got bitten by these buggers.

Room Tip: you got to pay for parking, but for $12 with in and out privilege, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Clean, safe. Quiet internally, but oh, my, that construction at the back!!!! Good thing I was up and out soon after 7 - the suite would have been unusable during the day. Space was great, but amenities were lacking - small, thin towels, no shower cap, conditioner or body lotion, so pack your own.

Kitchen would have been a disappointment if I'd been hoping for even light cooking. Utensils - one frypan. A few dishes & scraps of cutlery. Toaster & coffeemaker, but oops- no electrical outlet in the kitchen. If the outlet on the stove had been in working order, I could have used it by balancing one of the coffeemaker on one of the stove burners,, but that's not a great solution.

Flat screen TV in bedroom juts out into narrow walkway between the wall and the foot of the bed -- a real safety hazard, especially at night. Allergy sufferers will want to be aware that heavily sceented cleaning products are used.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you on the back - you'll be against the construction site. And that's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I booked this hotel through hotwire for our visit to Ottawa. When we arrived at the hotel we noticed that the lobby smelled really bad (like old smoke and filth). When we went up to the room the hallway was in really poor condition and the room was along the same lines. Old old old. Old paint, small bedroom and bathroom and there was filth built up in all of the nooks and crannies. Definitely not somewhere where you want to lay your head down for even a second. We should have taken pictures to post.

We checked our within 20 minutes and ate the money we'd paid on Hotwire. Will never book another 3 star hotel in hotwire again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Region39, Regional Director Of Operations at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
"I recently received a copy of your review of the Extended Stay Deluxe Ottawa-Downtown. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

We know that our guests have multiple hotel choices, which is why our mission is to provide clean, comfortable rooms at an affordable price that guests want to come back to. The room condition you describe is totally unacceptable to me and not at all representative of our quality standards. In response to your post, I have met with our hotel staff and used your review to help coach them on room cleaning and inspection policy.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Ontario
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We booked through an internet service. When we arrived, we asked for a rrom with a balcony. We were told that there were no balcony rooms left for the pricerange we had booked. Then Erin at the front desk (without any encouragement) said "I hate to tell you this, but I'm upgrading you." Erin booked us in a suite!! Beautiful. Location is great....staff were great, and the suite was a real treat. I've stayed here before on business, and again was very satisfied. I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Region39, Manager at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
"It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Extended Stay Deluxe Ottawa-Downtown. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. Our staff is continually coached on how to best provide professional, accommodating, and friendly service to every guest. It sounds like we hit a home run in your case!

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teslin, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

had a blow out with my father & needed a place to stay on x-mas day.
got this hotel though priceline & it helped save my holiday.
it was a FULLY furnished one bedroom suite with a FULL kitchen in a great location in downtown Ottawa!
thank you extended stay suites & priceline!!! :)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Region39, Manager at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
"I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Extended Stay Deluxe Ottawa-Downtown. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. Our business is one in which the staff gets to know our guests, who sometimes stay with us for weeks or months. We believe that building a professional, courteous, and accommodating relationship with our customers will continue to bring them back for future stays.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa

Address: 141 Cooper St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P OE8, Canada (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe - Ottawa - Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 67 hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Extended Stay, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Deluxe Ottawa - Downtown Hotel Ottawa
Extended Stay Ottawa
Ottawa Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.