We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albert at Bay Suite Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Albert at Bay Suite Hotel to your Saves list
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 7X4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This hotel was fabulous. Great customer service and the room was great. I had friends visit one evening and it was nice to have room in the "living room" area to visit with them without having to pack people in a bedroom and sit on a bed. We had a full kitchen, even with a dishwasher! and also a dining area, living room and spacious bedroom. Two big flat screen tvs were also nice perks. The location is okay, there is a little walk to the Parliament Building, Rideau Centre, or The Market. But with the nice weather, it was a nice walk and I didn't mind it at all. The restaurant was not the best food I've eaten, but the service was good. The 24 hour convenience store that is attached to the hotel is super convenient as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Tacmgp,

Thank you for choosing the Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are thrilled to read that you think our hotel was fabulous. Thank you for the kind words about our customer service, our suites and our location.

We hope to host you and yours again the next time you make the trip to Ottawa!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    350
    62
    23
    8
See reviews for
394
322
49
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Last weekend (May 31/June1/2014) my husband and I stayed at The Albert at Bay. Our experience was fabulous. We found the accommodations very pleasing. We stayed in a suite which consisted of a large bedroom with two queen beds, full kitchen, dining area and living room. The rooms were all clean and it was very quiet. Everything in our room worked well and the price was very reasonable for a downtown hotel. To top it off we had a restaurant on the ground floor and a convenience store which was very handy. The hotel is conveniently located downtown if you are flying in and wanted to take the bus directly to your hotel from the airport. Take bus 97 which drops you off at the door from the airport. I know where I'll be staying on our next trip to Ottawa.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Hapycamper0136,

Thank you for choosing the Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are delighted to read that you had a fabulous experience during your stay. Thank you for the kind words towards our clean suites and our downtown location. Your tips for our future travelers will be very helpful, especially in regards to the number 97 bus that goes between our hotel and the airport for under $4.00.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ottawa soon!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We marveled at the size and layout of our suite which was very well-equipped, really a large one bedroom, two full bath apartment. The location is a little out of the way from sites, a hearty walk to Parliament, and there are few good restaurants within walking distance. Our single complaint is related to access by car. With so many one way streets in the vicinity, it's a bit of a labyrinth to get to the garage. Signage in the garage about the exit, and as you enter the driveway from the street about needing to scan ticket/ room key could be more prominent. Still a nice choice -- great value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Ashley C,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent visit to Ottawa.

We appreciate you taking the time to submit your feedback online. Thank you for the kind words in regards to our spacious suites. We are sorry to hear that you had difficulty finding our garage, where the entrance is on Bay Street. Your recommendation for more signage has been forwarded to our General Manager for consideration.

Thank you again and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Nation's Capital!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had a great break in Ottawa the hotel staff were especially welcoming to our chatty children and went out of their way to assist is with events and directions in the city. They accommodated for our large vehicle in terms of parking and the suite was well equipped. There was a 24 hour convenient on the ground floor. From the English and beyond.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Amiebw,

Thank you for choosing the Albert at Bay Suite Hotel during your recent trip to Ottawa.

We are thrilled to read that you and your children enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the kind words about our welcoming staff. We are fortunate to have a team of employees who genuinely find delight in helping our guests enjoy a legendary stay in the Nation's Capital.

We hope to see you again on your next Family City Break!

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec (CANADA)
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hotel is in a very good location about a 10 minute walk to the Parliament Building and 5-15 minutes by car from many museums. We stayed in a two queen-one bedroom suite and it was very clean and large. The beds were firm (which I like) and the kitchen is very convenient.

We stayed on a Friday night and between 9:00pm and 11:00pm we kept hearing very loud music playing but we are not sure from where it was coming from. As well, we tried to have an early check-in (12:30pm) but the room that had specifically been put aside for us (we asked for a higher floor away from the elevator) was not ready. We were surprised it took over 3 hours to clean our room although we were given the option to take another room on a lower floor closer to the elevator but declined. I would assume if you know a customer has arrived and is waiting for their room and the previous guest has already checked out that you would try to have the room ready as soon as possible.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel for location, size of room and cleanliness. The decor is very nice and comfortable.

Room Tip: If you want an early check-in, call ahead to make sure your room is ready. Room facing main street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear JLO1968,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent visit to the Nation's Capital.

We appreciate you taking the time to submit your comments online. Thank you for the kind words about our location and cleanliness.

I am sorry for the delay in having your specific room cleaned. Our normal check in time is at 4:00 p.m. and we do our best to accommodate earlier requests. I would be happy to further discuss your check-in experience. At your convenience, can you please contact me at 613-238-8858 or Amanda@albertatbay.com?

Thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to hosting you and your family again.

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel is awesome! It's centrally located in downtown Ottawa. Everything is within walking distance. On arrival, we were given a suite complete with kitchen area, living room and separate bedroom. The air conditioner was not working and without question, they moved us and upgraded us to an executive suite on the 12th floor which is there highest level. It was wonderful! Very large space and everything was separated and included two washrooms. I would highly recommend this hotel. Valet parking is $20 extra per night and is located underground with in and out privileges as well; although, it's easier to get around Ottawa walking as there are so many one way streets. One thing to note is that there is FREE parking on the streets of Ottawa on weekends, so you can park directly in front of the hotel even though they tend to not tell you as they want you to pay for the valet. Also, this hotel has a pub within it with nightly musicians. So no need to drive or walk far to grab a new cold beer :) The only thing we had wished they had was a swimming pool for our toddler, but other than that, it's a great stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Linda B,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent stay in Ottawa.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your excellent experience online. Thank you for the kind words about our location, service and large suites. You have shared some great tips for our future guests as well. Though parking on the street is free in most places nearby, we make note to recommend our garage first to ensure that guests don't get parking tickets or have their vehicle towed. It is certainly a great asset to Ottawa to have this free parking available for visitors to the city and a great advantage for our guests.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

It was the perfect place to stay, conveniently located, close enough for my wife to walk sight see and shop, while I was in meetings. When you have a choice 4days of restaurant food or a full kitchen you appreciate the latter. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were also quiet, possibly it was intended to be a condo. The only downside is the underground parking, it is extremely close with the amount of pillars and blind turns, small cars welcome. There is a section for electric vehicles. I would recommend this facility to anyone coming to Ottawa.
This would also be an ideal location for someone flying in to visit, you do not need a vehicle to enjoy the city from this location.

Room Tip: Some of the floor plans have smaller living room, dining area but have two bathrooms, this could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Stephen B,

Thank you for choosing the Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are delighted to see that you consider us your "home away from home." Thank you for sharing some great tips and feedback for our future travelers.

We look forward to welcoming you "home" again soon.

With warm regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albert at Bay Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert at Bay Suite Hotel

Address: 435 Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 7X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#1 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert at Bay Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Suite Hotel located 1 block from shopping & business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and EasyToBook so you can book your Albert at Bay Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert At Bay Hotel Ottawa
Hotel Albert At Bay Suite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.