We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Suite Hotel... quiet location downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albert at Bay Suite Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Albert at Bay Suite Hotel to your Saves list
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 7X4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Suite Hotel... quiet location downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 weeks in January, and I have to say, for the most part, I was impressed.

The suite I stayed in was large, well kept, and fairly modern. The hotel has plenty of amenities, including a pub, restaurant and a 24-hour convenience store on site. The pub and restaurant were average, but adequate. The location of the hotel is on the west side of downtown, so you do have a bit of walk to get to the more lively part of downtown (Byward Market, Elgin St.)... which, when I was last there I really didn't want to do in -40 degree weather.

My only complaint is that they use the Lodgenet television service, which I really despise. Other suite hotels in the area use regular cable services, which are far superior (and when you're stay for 2-3 weeks, you do tend to watch a bit of tv from time to time). But other than that, this is a good spot to rest your head, especially when you want a bit more space.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We are happy to see your review posted here on Trip Advisor. Thank you for taking the time to do this. I am sorry to hear that you are not pleased with Lodgenet television services. I have passed this message forward to our General Manager to review. We appreciate that suggestion.

Thank you as well for the very kind words in regards to your stay. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Warm regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    350
    62
    23
    8
See reviews for
394
322
49
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The rooms are big, but that's everything they have to offer. The breakfast is not included and there's no breakfast at all. There's a dépanneur inside the hotel where you can buy your own stuff to cook your own breakfast.

I paid $184 for a suite and, honestly, it wasn't worth it. There was a coffee maker in the kitchen, but the coffee was decaf. A few bags of tea and 2 oreos. They could, they totally could, offer more amenities for that price. Big rooms, and a totally empty kitchen don't make you a great hotel. I won't be recommending you, and when I come back to Ottawa, I will find another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Renata R.,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We appreciate that you took the time to share your review online. Comments from our guests help us to grow towards becoming the top choice hotel in Ottawa. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. Our kitchens are equipped with dishes, utensils, silverware, pots and pans, a toaster, coffee maker and glasses and mugs. I am sorry as well that only decaf coffee was found in your room. I can also assure you that we normally stock all of the rooms with one each or caffeinated and decaf and I apologize for the error.

I do hope that we will have an opportunity to host you again. I would be happy to further discuss your stay and any possible recommendations you may have to add to our kitchens or any other part of the suite. I can be reached at amanda@albertatbay.com or 613-238-8858.

Thank you again for staying with us.

Warm regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Not only are the rooms ridiculously large, they have a full kitchen, a great bed and a nice bathroom. The front desk was helpful and friendly. I don't write reviews very often, but felt compelled to write one for this excellent property - and I stay at A LOT of hotels for business!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel. We are also very appreciative that you took the time to post a review for the Trip Advisor community.

We are looking forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Ottawa!

Warm regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel for the price. The rooms are huge and very quiet. Close to most of the business district and their are several decent restaurants in the area. Beds are very comfortable as well. Only downside is the hallways are dated and a little smelly. Reception staff was very accommodating.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience online, thank you. It is so nice to see that you enjoyed the hotel and found our staff accommodating. I am also happy to report that as we do plan to continue renovations in the hotel soon and the hallways are going to be our next project.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hotel is our #1 choice, its clean, beautiful, huge and just like home. We've been at this hotel over 10 times in the last year. The service from the reception is perfect, very friendly and always trying to accommodate you the best way they can. The only sad part for me is that we are frequent guest and unfortunately they do not offer any specials for frequent guest such as maybe free night after a number of stay or free parking or even perhaps an upgrade. I do understand this is a private hotel and not a chain hotel but still, acknowledging their frequent guest would only show their appreciation toward them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel when you visit Ottawa.

I want to thank you as well for taking the time to post your comments online. We appreciate that you mentioned the staff, we believe they are our greatest asset. I do apologize that you are disappointed in regards to a frequent stay program. Though we are unable to offer points and not a chain, we do our best to provide "affordable elegance" so our guests can benefit from better rates than our competition. We also make it our mission to provide the best customer service in Ottawa.

If you are looking to stay more frequently, we can also arrange for you to speak to our Sales office in regards to negotiating a corporate rate.

If I can be of further assistance with regards to our hotel, please contact me personally at 613-238-8858 or amanda@albertatbay.com.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Such a nice surprise! Apartment was huge, with 2 beautifully furnished bedrooms and 2 bathrooms! Super clean, quiet and nice! Matresses were very comfy And you have a cushion menu to pick from!! There is a good size convenience store 24/7 attached to the hotel with a big variety of snacks, tea, coffee and everything else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel. We are so pleased to see that you were amazed by our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share this with the Trip Advisor community.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ottawa again soon!

Best regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I like this hotel because it feels like home. It's newly refurbished, elegant pieces and a full kitchen. I like going to restaurants but I also like bringing food in and eating in my suite.

Great staff, clean property and a short walk from Wellington St and beautiful Parliament buildings and Bymarket!

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony so fresh air is available. You're not just in a hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertBaySuiteHotel, Front Office Manager at Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Albert at Bay Suite Hotel.

We appreciate that you took the time to share such great comments with the Trip Advisor community, thank you. I am so happy to see your enjoy the hotel and our staff when you visit Ottawa.

We look forward to welcoming you "home" again soon!

Best regards,
Amanda Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albert at Bay Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert at Bay Suite Hotel

Address: 435 Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 7X4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#1 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#1 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert at Bay Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Suite Hotel located 1 block from shopping & business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and EasyToBook so you can book your Albert at Bay Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert At Bay Hotel Ottawa
Hotel Albert At Bay Suite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albert at Bay Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.