We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunate stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1274 Carling Avenue, Ottawa, Ontario K1Z 7K8, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Macies Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #25 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Placentia, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unfortunate stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel so many times in the past and we enjoyed it due to its location and good service. This time however with the new management, we made our confirmed reservation three weeks in advance. When we arrived to our surprise there was no reservation under our name or the confirmation number. The front desk clerk attitude was so uninviting and she offered us a lower quality room with much higher rate. We had no choice but to accept hoping to settle that with the management. The next morning we had another surprise when we were asked to pay for breakfast which was also included. The manager was polite but of no help. We paid about $150 extra and obviously were extremely disappointed

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Ghassan A,
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on Tripadvisor.
We are sorry to hear of the challenges that you experienced on your trip to Ottawa. We feel it is possible that you might have had a reservation at another hotel as we do not include breakfast and are not under new Management but have been a family run hotel in business for over 70 years. Our Front Desk clerk offered a superior room with 2 queen beds at our corporate rate, as you did not have a reservation.
Please rest assured we have taken your feedback very seriously, as it will help us provide our guests with the high level of service that they have come to expect from Best Western Plus Macies Hotel.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    100
    41
    11
    3
See reviews for
86
51
18
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed at hotel for 2 nights with 2 Grandchildren. Outdoor pool was clean and just the right temperature. Staff friendly & very helpful. Restaurant - had an excellent breakfast. Parking was close to entrance. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Don E,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.
We appreciated the positive review and will pass on your kind compliments to our Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Plus Macies Hotel.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Prefer Best Western to any other hotel (Holiday Inn). I've travelled in the US and Canada and can always count on Best Western Hotels. Variety of breakfast, clean pool, quiet and clean rooms; excellent service; great parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Nicole B,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.
We really appreciated your positive review. It is through positive reviews such as yours that motivate us to continually improve our hotel and service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Plus Macies Hotel.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

An excellent family-run hotel that has been so for three generations! This hotel has long been a favorite of people from the Ottawa Valley, and given its continued quality and value, will doubtless continue to be so!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMaciesHotel, Customer Service Director at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear John L,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.
What a nice review! It is through reviews such as yours, that motivate us to strive for improvement every day and to remind us how much fun the hospitality industry is.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Plus Macies Hotel.
Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, AB, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great place conveniently located in Ottawa. Just don't pay the room rate that includes breakfast. You get better value for your dollar if you pay for your breakfasts separately at this hotel. Thr room itself was great. Comfortable. Clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A hotel in an area not bad for touring the 1,000 islands. Older hotel. But not a lot in the area unless you went to Kingston. The hotel had a nice breakfast area but that was not included in the price. It was also only 3 miles from Parliament Hill for those wanting to visit there and also the downtown area which is great. Overall a nice clean hotel and too bad they did not include a breakfast in the price. All hotels should offer at least a continental breakfast. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodsville, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The staff is the friendliest we have had anywhere. They are always there to help. The rooms are very clean and spacious. Slightly outdated, but not bad. Rooms have a fridge, although ours was in the bathroom, slightly strange...The outdoor pool is great! Very clean and quiet. Towels are not out by the pool, but ask at the desk, they will give you some without a problem. The beds are VERY comfortable!!! Complimentary coffee in your room. Very conveniently located across the street from a pharmacy and small mall. Free parking, plenty of it. Not walking distance from Parliament, but only a 10 minute drive, but don't forget to factor in parking costs. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre

Address: 1274 Carling Avenue, Ottawa, Ontario K1Z 7K8, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Macies Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#25 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.