We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms, service and location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   377 O'Connor Street, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2M2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
GreenLeadersSilver level
toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Rooms, service and location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed 4 nights on business at the Best Western Victoria suites in Ottawa. Loved the location within walking distance of all downtown landmarks, restaurants and shopping. Generous sized one bedroom suite with kitchen appointment. Loved the juliette balcony doors and windows being able to open on a nice sunny day! Housekeeping do a superb job on this property...super clean! Breakfast buffet included makes for an easy start in the morning at this hotel. Service in all departments was excellent. Would highly recommend for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear emmabriscoe,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Your feed back is very much appreciated and it sounds like you very much enjoyed your time in Ottawa. Your thoughts will go a long way towards assiting other guests when chosing accomodations in downtown Ottawa.
I hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    212
    47
    4
    2
See reviews for
169
173
30
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

First impressions both by photo and when you arrive outside the Suites do not do it justice. I encountered a vey slick check-in ahead of a 4 night stay while on a business trip. The rooms are of one standard - 2 very comfortable double beds, clean and well supplied bathroom with views of the city (not a selling point). As I was working, the Suites provide an excellent central base for work. Downtown nightlife is a 20 minute walk in a city that feels safe if not that remarkable. The staff were charming and helpful while the rudimentary breakfast meets the needs of the average traveller. A good experience and bag storage for late departures is readily available.

Top food place: The Keg - probably the best steak I have enjoyed in all my 35 years of travel combined with excellent and intelligent service - go for the restaurant rather than the bar experience.



Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Richard M,

I would like to start off by saying thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I was so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your check in process was efficient.
It would seem as well that you were able to take in some culture around our area and that was great to see as well.

I hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel when your travels bring you to our neighborhood again.

Yours in hospitality,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

September 2013 I attended the Television Animation Conference which was hosted at the Museum of Nature in Ottawa. I found one of the closest hotels to the Museum as I wanted to roll our of bed and be at the conference with no rushing around. I booked at the Best Western Plus Victoria Park Suites. I was very happy with my room which had a separate bedroom with King Bed, 2 TVs, a kitchenette, and whirlpool tub. The complimentary breakfasts were really nice and coffee was excellent (which is not something I usually find in hotels) The neighborhood is great as it's just a short walk to either Bank Street of Elgin Street - and the Rideau Canal is only a 15 minute walk away. I used to live in this neighborhood as a teenager and it is a really nice part of Ottawa. I highly recommend this hotel especially if you are traveling with friends who want to share a room. There is a pull-out sofa bed in the living room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear SurvivorRoom305,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. The detailed recount of your time with us is very much appreciated and will be very useful for future guests looking to make an informed decision on where to stay while in Ottawa.
I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that you enjoyed our neighborhood!

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to the Nation's Capital!

Yours in hospitality,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The rooms are reasonably large, well equipped, very traditional, not stylish in any way. So is the bathroom.
This hotel hits the demands of cost sensitive travelers. Nothing special, good mattresses and an arsenal of different types of pillows... really impressive.

Somewhat negative is the fact that you cannot open the window far enough to exchange the air in the room reasonable fast.
When I entered my room (5th floor) it had a bad smell and such an open window would have helped.
Once I wanted to take a shower around 8am but the water went cold very quickly and did not heat up - so - no shower in the rush hour. Did not happen at nights though.

Good hotel with a very very basic breakfast at a reasonable price in Ottawa, although quite remote from the market area with bars and restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear lonesomerider,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your feed back.
I was happy to read that you enjoyed our pillow menu; a little something different that many of our travellers have come to love.
I was sorry to read that you found a bad smell in your room. I have informed our housekeeping manager of this to look into it further. As well I was troubled to read that you were not provided with enough hot water to take a shower. If this does happen please do let us know right away so that we are able to rectify the issue immediately.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Ottawa.

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located reasonable walking distance from the parliament buildings and Byward market, and is across from the newly renovated and revamped Museum of Natural History (which is free Thursday nights). It is also right near bike rentals, Rama Lotus yoga studio, and lots of great restaurants and shops. It has underground parking for an extra fee. The breakfast is ample with a variety of hot or cold options. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and our 5th floor room had a good view. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear janadian3,

It was a pleasure to read your review. Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that you will return to us again on your next trip to Ottawa.

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is situated nicely in Ottawa, just a couple of blocks away from a ton of restaurants. The front desk staff was very friendly and accomodating. The free breakfast is a nice touch. The rooms were clean and perfect for a single business traveler.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear adharris0915,

I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel including our friendly staff! We appreciate your comments and hope that you will return to us again on your next visit to the Nation's Capital!

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We recently completed our 5th stay at the hotel, and its pretty much the same but there are a few things that need improvement.
The policy is that towels on the floor need to be washed. I noticed that the mat that is placed in front of the shower was not replaced despite it being on the floor and having an obvious stain. The stain was cause by me so I expected since it was so noticeable e it would have been changed. Nope, it w as flipped over, not good. It mad me wonder about the towels, if they were just folded and put back.
While comfortable for some the beds were too short and too soft for me. I sat in the chair because my back ached. I am not sure if there are options regarding mattresses, but a firmer mattress would be nice.
The breakfast was fine and staff while not friendly did their best to keep up with people and the demand. It would be nice if guests did not crowd around the toaster area, but that is a reflection off guest rudeness and not staff.
Front desk staff were for the most part helpful. Parking is very tight, but we are used to it and luckily found a spot and parked the car for the weekend.
Would I stay here again, probably but I will be looking around for other options as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Vidaltravel,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Trip Advisor. Your comments are very much appreciated.
I was troubled to read that you had issues with the replacements of our towels each day. I have forwarded your comments to our housekeeping manager so he may follow up as to why this might have occured.
As well, i'm sorry to hear that you found our mattresses to be uncomfortable. Although we don't offer a selection of mattresses we can offer a bedboard to be put under the mattress which can make the mattress more firm. It can simply be requested at the time of reservation.
I'm sorry that you encountered unfriendly staff in our breakfast room. I have forwarded your comments to the Banquet Manager to follow up with his team.
We do hope that you will chose to join us again on your next visit to Ottawa and if I can be of further assistance personally please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I can be reached at 613.288.0986 or by email at andrew@victoriapark.com.

Yours in hospitality,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites

Address: 377 O'Connor Street, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2M2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#8 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to the capital city, you need to know that the right Ottawa hotel has luxury amenities, top of the line service, and quality to greet you from the moment you arrive. Spend the day exploring Parliament Hill and Elgin Street. Pack the good camera and your walking shoes because there is no shortage of sights to behold. The Rideau Canal and Canadian Museum of Nature are absolute musts. Just be careful because you can easily lose an entire day admiring the city's magnificent architecture and sights. This Ottawa hotel is proud to be the only Best Western in downtown. That means that there's only one place to go where your pocketbook will thank you and you'll be treated like the A-lister you are. Enjoy spacious suites where spreading out is a breeze. We're close to office towers and all government departments, so if you have some business to take care of, everything is only a short walk or drive away. Nowhere else in the city will you find such a great deal, generous breakfast, and quality that sets the standard. Why look any further? Spend the afternoon perusing Winterlude and indulge in the best shopping around. Our friendly, helpful staff is always available to help you create the most memorable vacation of a lifetime. A night painting the town red? Sure thing. The best dining in Ottawa? Right this way. Our Ottawa hotel features the best complimentary breakfast around. Bring your appetite to daily buffets with sizzling hot eggs and waffles, fresh fruits, a variety of cereal and yogurt, juices and Seattle's Best Coffee. Reserve your next stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites and save some of that rainy day fund for shopping on Elgin Street! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victoria Park Hotel Ottawa
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.