We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel but parking was expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   377 O'Connor Street, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2M2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel but parking was expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I loved this hotel it was clean, new and modern looking. Everything in the room was comfortable and quiet. My only complaint would be the underground parking charge it was a bit excessive, I would rather they just incorporate it into the room cost. I was not informed of the cheaper parking option either. Overall good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Parsons76,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate it. I was happy to hear that your room was comfortable and quiet however I'm sorry that you were not informed fully of the alternate parking options. With regards to the parking, by not including it in our daily rates we are able to keep the cost lower. The majority of our guests arrive via plane or train thus not requiring the use of a parking space. However please rest assured the the rates that we offer for our parking facility are inline with similar hotels in the downtown core.
I hope that on your next visit to Ottawa you will stay with us again. We would would be thriled to have you as our guest.

Yours in hospitality,
Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    212
    47
    4
    2
See reviews for
169
173
30
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here last year, and we had a wonderful time. On our return visit, I checked out a number of other downtown hotels that offered similar services (microwave, fridge, continental breakfast, coin laundry, parking). I only found a handful, and none of them could match the price or the value of the Best Western Victoria Park Suites. The breakfast is superb! They have a small army of servers bringing out hot, freshly prepared eggs, sausages, bacon and French toast. They have real plates and metal utensils! A good supply of them are also in every room. If there's any problem or concern you might have, their staff will drop everything an address the situation immediately ( a special heads up to Gitano at the front desk, who was most helpful). As a bonus, we had a room on the seventh floor, which offered us a great view of the Museum of Nature. They offer underground parking, but they also have outdoor parking a few blocks away at a reduced price, which is what we took (there's no need to park indoors in Ottawa, except in the Winter). We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Ottawa!

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor, facing the museum. It's a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Paul U,

It was wonderful to see that you returned to us! Thank you for being our guest and for your loyalty to our hotel. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed our breakfast, your room and your view and that your time with us was so well enjoyed.

We will see you again on your next visit to Ottawa!

Yours in hospitality,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Good location - about a 15 minute walk to Parliament Hill. We were staying 3 nights so we booked a suite which worked out very well. We had plenty of space with a microwave, sink and small fridge. The breakfast was good - real plates, good selection of food including fruit. We booked through Ottawa tourism and were happy with that as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Totravelagain,

I would like to thank you for being our guest and for sharing your thougths about your recent stay with us. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our amenities suited what you were looking for.

I hope that you will chose to stay with us again on your next trip to Ottawa!

Regards,
Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The staff at this property were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is included but the Elgin St. Diner is nearby if you want a greasy home-cooked breakfast.
It is within walking distance from Parliament and Byward market shops. Other restaurants, shopping and university campus are a short drive away. Beautiful city to visit and awesome transit system if you don't want to drive.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Mom9598,

It was a pleasure reading your review. Thank you very much for your kind words. Your comments and suggestions will help our future guests make an informed descision on where to stay while in Ottawa.

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Everything was superbly clean and comfortable; and the free continental breakfast was better than the norm offered in most hotels. The location of the hotel was also sufficiently central to be able to walk to all centrally located attractions. As a 'staycation' for us, it all worked very well. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear fredandsally,

Thank you very much for chosing to have your 'staycation' with us! I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us, enjoyed our breakfast and that you will be back.

Your loyalty is very much appreciated.

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

First impressions was what a great hotel. It was clean and the king bed executive suite was large and well maintained. The parking is $20 extra a night which is on par with parking in any large city. The area is a bit tight but not overally restrictive- we drive a van and had no troubles. The free breakfast is very nice - lots of selection and large eating area. Cons: at least for me the bed was very firm. I woke up stiff and sore each morning. The noise outside hotel starts around 5 am and is quite loud at times. One of the breakfast staff has confused professionalism with scowling. A smile in the morning would be appreciated. On the whole would stay again but would ask for room on side of hotel that isn't on street.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from Gladstone street side. Go to breakfast early as it gets quite full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Cybersis007,

It was a pleasure to read your review. Thank you for telling your story! I'm sorry that you found our beds a bit too firm for you. On your next visit please let us know if something like this happens and we would be more than happy to see what we can do for you. As well I was sorry to hear that you were disturbed by outside noise. We are more than willing to provide you with a room on a quieter area away from the streets. 5am is pretty early and I hope that it didn't detract from the rest of your experience.

I hope that you will join us again soon!

Regards,
Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verdun, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights (Aug 5-11, 2013). We were on the 7th floor in a deluxe queen suite - excellent room and a nice view of the buildings in Ottawa. This is our second time staying here and both experiences were outstanding - great staff throughout the hotel. No problems in parking the vehicle. The continental breakfast is fantastic - great selection of the following: bacon, eggs, sausage, French toast, bagels, muffins, English muffins, bread for toast, cheese slices, fresh fruits, large size yogurt, boiled eggs, 3 types of cereal, apple juice, orange juice. 5 different strengths of coffee, decaf and tea.
The beds are so comfortable and the suites are spacious. Free Wi-Fi, small fridge, microwave, dishes and utensils are provided and a great washroom. There is a separate living room with a pull-out bed.
I highly recommend Best Western Plus Victoria Park Suites for your stay in Ottawa - you will not regret it. 15 minute walk to Byward market and Parliament but the exercise is good for you. 10 minute walk to the Rideau Canal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Karen K,

It was a pleasure to read your review and thank you very much for what you had to say. It seems that your experience at our hotel was seemless and you were able to enjoy all aspects of what our hotel has to offer.

Your detailed comments about our facitlites will be very much appreciated by other future travellers and welcomed i'm sure.

I hope that you will be our guest again soon!

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites

Address: 377 O'Connor Street, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2M2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#8 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to the capital city, you need to know that the right Ottawa hotel has luxury amenities, top of the line service, and quality to greet you from the moment you arrive. Spend the day exploring Parliament Hill and Elgin Street. Pack the good camera and your walking shoes because there is no shortage of sights to behold. The Rideau Canal and Canadian Museum of Nature are absolute musts. Just be careful because you can easily lose an entire day admiring the city's magnificent architecture and sights. This Ottawa hotel is proud to be the only Best Western in downtown. That means that there's only one place to go where your pocketbook will thank you and you'll be treated like the A-lister you are. Enjoy spacious suites where spreading out is a breeze. We're close to office towers and all government departments, so if you have some business to take care of, everything is only a short walk or drive away. Nowhere else in the city will you find such a great deal, generous breakfast, and quality that sets the standard. Why look any further? Spend the afternoon perusing Winterlude and indulge in the best shopping around. Our friendly, helpful staff is always available to help you create the most memorable vacation of a lifetime. A night painting the town red? Sure thing. The best dining in Ottawa? Right this way. Our Ottawa hotel features the best complimentary breakfast around. Bring your appetite to daily buffets with sizzling hot eggs and waffles, fresh fruits, a variety of cereal and yogurt, juices and Seattle's Best Coffee. Reserve your next stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites and save some of that rainy day fund for shopping on Elgin Street! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victoria Park Hotel Ottawa
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.