We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room and excellent breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   377 O'Connor Street, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2M2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Indonesia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
“Clean room and excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for one night at this hotel and we liked our room. Even though it's a bit small but the room is very clean, bed is two double beds, petite kitchenette and small bathroom. The location of this hotel is not far from Parliament Hill but take about 20 minutes to walk with little kids. They have parking garage at the basement.

What we liked about this hotel is the breakfast. They have very good selection of foods and drinks. Even they had several types of coffee from mild to strong ones.

So far we are happy with our stay and would love to return if we visit Ottawa again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear ucartech,

I very much enjoyed reading your review. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers.
I was happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and our coffee selections. We look forward to having you as our guest again when you return to the Nation's Capital.

Regards,
Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    241
    52
    4
    2
See reviews for
188
192
34
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Booked via Ottawa Tourism and received the 3rd night free. Amazing deal. Promotion going on until beginning of September 2013 though, we took great advantage of it.

Room was clean, which was nice. Funny how the TV defaults to the movie preview screen every time you turn it on so you are intrigued and want to buy what's being shown. Lol. Had a mini kitchenette with sink, microwave, free coffee, and mini fridge. Surprisingly, the fridge wasn't full of drinks and juices like most hotels are, which I enjoyed. Better to have room for my own drinks and food rather than to shove and make room with other "premium" drinks which I would have no interest in consuming in the first place. Bathroom although small was functional and shower had enough room to turn around and use. If you forget things like toothbrushes/paste or floss, any of those, the front desk will provide them for free or a small fee (not sure, never had to use)

The one downside was that the room we were in was noisy from the hallway. Despite being at the end of the hallway, we could still hear people outside and their doors slamming as they went in. There was a 3cm gap where light could be seen from the entrance doorway. I ended up using towels to shove under the door gap to keep it quieter. The AC works very quickly and is a much needed relief in the hot temperatures. Wifi was functional, don't expect the fast 10/1mbps that you get at home though. Free Globe and Mail every morning was a nice surprise.

Breakfast was great. One of the few hotels who have it for free. Easily, the food our family consumed could add up to 15 or 20 dollars per day at McDonalds or Tim Hortons or somewhere.

Underground parking was included in our rate. Usually its 20 extra per day, which is a bit excessive, although the norm for all hotels in Ottawa. From what I've heard, show your CAA card and its free. It was fairly cramped and hard to maneuver, but we managed. Always found a spot in the B1 area just to the right as you enter the garage. We had a Honda Accord sedan. Anything larger and you may need to relearn driving school techniques like S turns and such. Not a big deal. Be careful while parking in the garage, if you have a hatch that opens, pipes, tubing and beams across the ceiling may damage your car if you're not careful, although there are signs warning you.

A bit of a walk to Parliament, like 15 minutes away. Wasn't too bad for us though, we were vacationing and expected to do a lot of walking, taking the car out of the garage only for dinner at night. Food is quite expensive in this area, we drove down Bank street to a few chain restaurants and kept costs low while still enjoying a family meal.

All in all, a very nice hotel, friendly staff, and very clean. Would definitely stay again if I could get the same package/rate. Not sure what else to say, it exceeded my expectations and I had a fun time in OT.

Room Tip: Was on floor 4, had no issue with noise, despite facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Jim32190,

It was a pleasure to read your thorough review of your recent stay with us at the Best Western PLUS Victoria Park Suites. I was thrilled to hear that you will return to us on your next visit to Ottawa. We very much appreciate your loyalty.
I'm sorry that you had a few challenges with noise from the hallway at night. Hopefully you were able to have restful sleeps none-the-less.
As for the parking, we have actually discontinued the complimentary parking offering if you book your room under the CAA rate, as of January 1st, 2013. Currently we will offer guests who book this rate, 1000 bonus Best Western Rewards points per night in lieu of the parking offering.
If there was anything that you would have liked to discuss further I would welcome the opportunity to contact me directly at 613.288.0986 or by email at andrew@victoriapark.com.

We look forward to welcomeing you back to our hotel on your next visit!

Yours in hospitality,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here in a suite for 1 night. The location is not great, and their underground parking fills up quick so you have to park several blocks away in an uncovered lot. This sucked because it was raining when we were there. The room was OK, had a mini-kitchen, but the decor was dated and bathroom was below average. Included breakfast, which was just OK. It got an extra star just because a family of four can stay there for cheap.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear williamwax,

Thank you for posting your review of your recent stay with us. Your comments are very important to us. I'm sorry that you didn't have the best stay while you were with us. Each and every day our team of dedicated staff work hard to ensure that every guest has the best experience.
We do our best to provide the underground parking to all of our guests but during very busy weekends this can be challenging.
I do hope that when you are next in Ottawa you will stay with us again. If you wish to discuss your stay further I would encourage you to contact me directly at andrew@victoriapark.com or by phone at 613.288.0986.

Regards,
Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked this hotel for its value - a suite (fridge, microwave & dishes) with a full breakfast included and its location close to Parliament Hill. The hotel delivered on all of these, but what really set it apart was the great staff! We had booked on AirMiles and for some unknown reason the dates were off by a week. When we arrived Jenn offered to assist with AirMiles the next morning and booked us in with a credit card. In the morning the Front Desk Manager Andrew Bushing was totally awesome - "this is an internal accounting matter, you don't need to be involved sir, we'll take care of it". The accountant was at the desk at the same time, looked up the entry & told the clerk to just transfer the credit from the previous week (which we weren't there for) to this week. And to top it off, Jenn had waived the parking fee the night before because of the trouble we had experienced, even though it wasn't the hotel's fault. We would book there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear jmlh58,

It was an absolute pleasure to read your review! Thank you so much for your kind words and we were more than happy to help you! We value each and every guest and without you, we wouldn't have our hotel!
I hope that there were no more further issues with your Air Miles account. If there were please feel free to contact me directly; andrew@victoriapark.com or by phone at 613.288.0986 and I would be glad to help.
Again, thank you and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Your loyalty is very much appreciated!

Yours in hospitality,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel was great and a great location. All was good and the staff friendly. Recommend it highly. The staff were very helpful in suggesting things to see and tours to take. The hotel was equipped well with all that one would expect and as the Best Western it was a Plus. Love the Best Western Hotels as they are always great. Thanks and check them out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Michael G,

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Best Western PLUS Victoria Park Suites. I hope this was where you stayed as the title of your review says "Montreal Hotel Stay"!

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much appreciate your loyalty to Best Western Hotels!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Regards,
Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We came for a family holiday to Ottawa for Canada Day and several days after that, and stayed here during that time. Although the room was just a little small, that was really the only drawback. The room was spotlessly clean, and the beds were the best I have ever slept on. We had a nice view of the Museum of Nature as well. The rooms were pretty quiet at night, making it easy to get a good night's sleep. The shower was simply outstanding, probably the best I've ever had in a hotel. The complimentary breakfast buffet was also very good, with a number of attentive staff always on hand to keep tables clean and make sure everything remained well-stocked. It was busy, but efficient. The front desk staff were great, taking the time to provide directions and answer any hotel, Canada Day, or Ottawa related questions. Hotel cleaning staff also made a point of saying hello and being friendly, which really made us feel comfortable and relaxed. As it was booked solid for Canada Day, there was not quite enough indoor parking, so an outdoor lot two blocks away was available for 'overflow' parking. This was a little inconvenient, but was only for a couple of days. Overall, great service and a great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear nmew,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay over the Canada Day weekend, and for your kind words! They are very much appreciated.
We were extremely happy to read that you found our rooms and amenities to suit your needs and that you found our beds to be the "best you have ever slept on". Wow! Thank you! Our staff take great pride in our hotel and in our guests that visit us. It was a pleasure to read that our staff, as always, were able to take the time to orient you and your family around the City and the Canada Day festivities.
We appreciate your understanding with the parking. Although not frequently, our indoor-undergroud parking lot does fill up so that is the reason we have the outdoor surface lot for our guests.
We hope that you will join us again next Canada Day if not before!

Regards,
Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My Husband and I, My Mother, Brother and Sister-In Law were in Ottawa for a family event. I booked 2 queen rooms and one queen suite all on the second floor. Rooms were quite clean and adequate all with flat screen TV's.
We had the suite and it was most spacious and comfortable. Larger bathroom, panty with sink and fridge, separate living area with desk. Very clean.
Continental breakfast great. Eggs, sausages, cereal, bagels, toast, juice, coffee etc...
Check in was quick. However, I was surprised with the $18.95 per night charge for the underground parking. Not happy about that!
The amenities are few. Only an exercise room. No pool. It was however close to the highway and our relative.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaParkSuites, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear ParidiseSeeker,

Your recent review of your stay is very much appreciated. I was pleased to read that you found our suites to be spacious and comfortable. Your review will help other guests make the best decision on where to stay while in Ottawa.
I was sorry to hear that you were not happy with your parking charge. Please rest assured that our parking fee is very much inline with hotels of similar size in the downtown area. More often than not our parking fee is slightly lower.
You will be pleased to know that we have just added a brand new treadmill, cable weight system and free weights to our fitness centre as well as a new 37" flat panel television.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Ottawa.

Regards,

Andrew Busing
Front Office Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites

Address: 377 O'Connor Street, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2M2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#4 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling to the capital city, you need to know that the right Ottawa hotel has luxury amenities, top of the line service, and quality to greet you from the moment you arrive. Spend the day exploring Parliament Hill and Elgin Street. Pack the good camera and your walking shoes because there is no shortage of sights to behold. The Rideau Canal and Canadian Museum of Nature are absolute musts. Just be careful because you can easily lose an entire day admiring the city's magnificent architecture and sights. This Ottawa hotel is proud to be the only Best Western in downtown. That means that there's only one place to go where your pocketbook will thank you and you'll be treated like the A-lister you are. Enjoy spacious suites where spreading out is a breeze. We're close to office towers and all government departments, so if you have some business to take care of, everything is only a short walk or drive away. Nowhere else in the city will you find such a great deal, generous breakfast, and quality that sets the standard. Why look any further? Spend the afternoon perusing Winterlude and indulge in the best shopping around. Our friendly, helpful staff is always available to help you create the most memorable vacation of a lifetime. A night painting the town red? Sure thing. The best dining in Ottawa? Right this way. Our Ottawa hotel features the best complimentary breakfast around. Bring your appetite to daily buffets with sizzling hot eggs and waffles, fresh fruits, a variety of cereal and yogurt, juices and Seattle's Best Coffee. Reserve your next stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites and save some of that rainy day fund for shopping on Elgin Street! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victoria Park Hotel Ottawa
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Victoria Park Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.