We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly renovated and rebranded” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta Ottawa City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Delta Ottawa City Centre to your Saves list
Delta Ottawa City Centre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Lyon Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 5T9, Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Newly renovated and rebranded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I had originally stayed in this hotel when it was the Plaza, and the renovations were beginning. That was about 5 years ago. It is now renovated and now the Delta. Through this renovation, for those who stayed previously at the Plaza, the entry has changed and is now on street level.

I had no problems checking in and the front desk staff were helpful. The room was nice, even though the bathroom may be considered small by some standards (not by my standards).

The only problem I had (which others who had previously stayed at the Plaza) was that we kept going to the ML floor for the exit, rather than the LL level.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AADeltaOttawa, Manager at Delta Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment about your recent stay at the Delta Ottawa City Centre Hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated room. We are proud of our team as they strive to provide service that ensures a comfortable and pleasant stay for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    183
    68
    15
    5
See reviews for
84
130
17
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I was impressed, The Room was VERY HOT, The bathroom was small, as was the room. Front desk staff was The best we have ever had. They have moved across the Street, We were expecting a Water slide,Now all they have is a pool. Excellent Service, We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AADeltaOttawa, Manager at Delta Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in giving us your feedback about your recent stay at The Delta Ottawa City Centre Hotel. We are proud of our team as they strive to provide service that ensures a comfortable and pleasant stay for our guests.

We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

great location, great room... Front service desk was amazingly nice. They even upgrade us when they found out it was our first weekend away from the kids for a long time. The room was very clean, very spacious, it had all we needed and more. Bed was super comfortable! There's even a way to get to Tim Horton's without going outside (perfect to go for my morning coffee and come back to the room).
overall, would totally stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AADeltaOttawa, Manager at Delta Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write the comment about your recent stay at The Delta Ottawa City Centre Hotel.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are proud of our team as they strive to provide service that ensures a comfortable and pleasant stay for our guests.

We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Our family of two adults and 10-year-old child stayed here overnight during Winterlude. We booked after seeing their all-included online special that included breakfast vouchers, indoor parking and all taxes. The hotel is located at the edge of downtown. We walked to Confederation Park and the Rideau Canal. It's too far to walk to Bytown, especially in winter. Easy walk to Sparks Street Mall and to the Parliament Buildings.
Newly renovated rooms, very modern design and very clean. The beds were not very comfortable and the old fashioned coffee maker was in the closet not on the desk. My husband and son tried to go swimming in the indoor pool but it was unheated and too cold for them.
We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant and while the selection at the all you can eat buffet was reasonable, it wasn't outstanding. However, it's the choice to make considering the cost of a la carte breakfasts.
We'd stay here again. Service was very good and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AADeltaOttawa, Manager at Delta Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment about your recent stay at the Delta Ottawa City Centre Hotel.

We apologize for your experience with the cold water temperature in the pool. Our Engineering team tries to keep the water temperature in the pool between 80°F and 82°F at all times.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated room. We are proud of our team as they strive to provide service that ensures a comfortable and pleasant stay for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed at the Delta Ottawa City Centre for business. It's located downtown and has a Tim Hortons downstairs which is very convenient in the morning. It's within walking distance of many attractions such as the Parliament Buildings. I took a beautiful walk one afternoon. I went across to Hull on the Portage Bridge and then came back on the Alexandra Bridge. Saw lots of very beautiful things. The manager had found out that this was my first visit to Ottawa and had a nice welcoming note along with a platter of fruit delivered to my room which was a very nice surprise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AADeltaOttawa, Manager at Delta Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment about your recent stay at the Delta Ottawa City Centre Hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the amenities and services during your stay. We strive to make every stay a memorable one through the service excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed at the newly renovated (last year) Delta Hotel on Lyon st. I was booked in a room that had two beds and thus just big enough to move around. Would have preferred a King bed but maybe next time. Nicely renovated rooms, large flat screen TV, a well thought out desk area with lots of plug-ins and power outlets that many hotels would do well to emulate. Also a built in spot to put a suitcase right beside the desk. I think a great design. This hotel has 4 elevators so never found myself waiting very long.
Beds are just OK - what I did notice is the bathroom is just barely big enough to work. This might be a squeeze if two people staying in the room cause its def a one-person-at-a-time bathroom. But it is well appointed. Nice to have a mini fridge in the room.
Ordered a room service hamburger and it was absolutely top notch and one of the best I've had in years. Great staff. Overall I will repeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AADeltaOttawa, Manager at Delta Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment about your recent stay at The Delta Ottawa City Centre Hotel.

We are happy that you enjoyed the new features in our Mode room. The 'Smart Desk' is one of the popular features in the room and designed to meet the technical needs for all types of travellers.

Our design team attempted to maximize the space for the bedroom, which resulted in less space for the bathroom.

For your convenience, you can request a mini fridge during your booking process or upon your arrival at the front desk.

We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Looks like the whole hotel is now renovated completely. We stayed in a lovely room that had all the amenities and was clean and fresh. The hotel staff was very courteous and you could tell they go out of their way to help you and get to know you. The only "ick" was housekeeping knocking on our door at 8:30 am on a Sunday....any other day of the week, fine. Not on a Sunday though! I sometimes forget to use the "quiet" sign, but I feel like there is a start time to housekeeping on weekend mornings. It didn't affect our stay much and I would still recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AADeltaOttawa, Manager at Delta Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment regarding your last stay at the Delta Ottawa City Centre.

We apologize for the disturbance early Sunday morning. Our Housekeeping team starts cleaning guest rooms at 8am on Saturday and 9am on Sunday. We will share your comment with the Housekeeping team. In addition, you can use the 'Do Not Disturb' sign on your door to indicate that you wish to have privacy or do not want your room cleaned. You can also call the front desk to arrange a preferred time to have your room cleaned.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovate room. We are proud of our team as they strive to provide service that ensures a comfortable and pleasant stay for our guests.

We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta Ottawa City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Ottawa City Centre

Address: 101 Lyon Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 5T9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#13 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Ottawa City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Delta Ottawa City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Ottawa City Centre Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta Ottawa City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.