We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turkish hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Topkapi Turkish Restaurant

Topkapi Turkish Restaurant
484 Preston Street, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
613 230 8828
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #197 of 2,224 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Turkish hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have had several lovely meals in this quiet resataurant amid the mostly Italian fare on Preston street. Decor is lovely. Service is friendly and attentive and the food is always delicious. The Turkish coffee is the best and the baclava is melt in your mouth sweet ecstasy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    9
    4
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Good food, spotty service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I'm a bit torn about this restaurant. We had a good experience visiting with a large group. The food is very good, with the Turkish food done very well. The appetizer dip platter was excellent, and the pita was fresh. I had the lamb platter which was also quite good (although you can't really go wrong with barbecue lamb). The baklava was definitely one of the best in the city. The belly dancing was fun.

Service wasn't great, however. When we arrived, there were at least 2 parties who were turned away and told that their reservations were lost (despite them both parties having reserved a few days earlier). You definitely need reservations, as this restaurant isn't large, and is quite busy. I would advise calling the day of your reservation to confirm that they haven't lost it. While the restaurant was apologetic, the parties were not offered free meals or anything else for their next visit. Our server was slow and a bit absent minded.

I would definitely return for the food, but I hope they get their service issues resolved.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“You must go here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Quite by accident, we came across this gem of a restaurant, somewhat oddly located just beyond an archway emblazoned with "Welcome to Little Italy". A huge banner indicated this restaurant was "now open for lunch", so we gave it a try. We were the only patrons there at that time of day (quarter to noon), and selected seats at the two-table patio where we enjoyed a leisurely lunch while watching the world go by.

Other reviewers have already commented on the excellent quality of the food and the service...our service was excellent, which would be expected when we are the only people there, so I won't say much about that. I will instead comment on the nice touches, like a linen tablecloth on an outdoor table. Elegant napkin rings which I discovered echoed touches throughout the restaurant. Little details like that are not always attended to, but do not go unnoticed.

A genuine Turkish menu, Kofte Burger, Adana Kebab on Lavas Bread...and Efes Turkish beer. A wonderful little restaurant, and I highly recommend a visit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Turkish Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

It was the first time I've been to the restaurant and I went there with my mother. We ordered their sampler appetizer, which gives you a taste of each one of their appetizers on the menu. For the main dish I have one the chefs special which is mixture of beef a lamb grilled on charcoal and served with rice, potato's and veg...(the portion are very big as well). My mother had one of their vegetarian dishes, which is a mixture of grilled veg with rice and potato's. The service was extremely professional, friendly and very helpful and the atmosphere was quaint and comfortable. I would recommend that if anyone want to try Turkish food for the first time to go too this restaurant. I will be going back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant however service was slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I visited this restaurant on a Saturday night and there were a few large groups already seated when we arrived. Unfortunately, it took quite awhile for anybody to come to our table after we were seated to take our drink order. It looked like the staff were running ragged trying to keep up with all the tables.

We ordered a platter with different dips which was excellent! However, we ran out of pita bread and it took a good 15 minutes to get some more.

I did enjoy all the food we ordered however be aware that on busy nights the service may be slow.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topkapi Turkish Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Topkapi Turkish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topkapi Turkish Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.