We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bagel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kettleman's Bagel Company

Kettleman's Bagel Company
912 Bank Street, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada (The Glebe / Dow's Lake)
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 2,218 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Bagels
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: The Glebe / Dow's Lake
Description: 613-567-7100, phone. Some reviews: http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/250/1432230/restaurant/The-Glebe/Kettlemans-Bagel-Co-Ottawa
India
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best bagel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I went there in the morning. Bagels were handmade. They had a big oven. I travelled all the way after seeing the review. The bagels are the best I have ever tasted. I had the spicy vegetarian bagel. The cream cheese was excellent. I strongly recommend to those love bagels and visiting Ottawa

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    15
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The bagels here can be good, although in my humble opinion they are not equivalent to the quality found at some of the Montreal bagel bakeries. However, I do find that I never know what I am going to get when I order some bagels at Kettleman's: sometimes they are very fresh and soft (and well worth the purchase), other times they are not fresh, and even a bit hard.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I miss Montreal style bagels!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

A favourite spot from growing up in Ottawa. I try to drop by every time I am in town. My favourite is the Vegetarian on a toasted onion bagel but also love the Kettleman's Special, Roast Pork and the Breakfast Bagel. Day olds are a great bargain.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Montreal style bagels in Ottawa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Delicious Montreal-style (dense, sweet, chewy) bagels served with fixin's in Ottawa. I am a big fan. It is much cheaper to buy a half dozen and some cream cheese (by weight) and spread it yourself than to buy a sandwich, plus they are pretty heavy handed with the cream cheese imho.
Open 24 hours!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Neat to see them make the bagels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Parking spaces are limited for the popularity of this bagel place. The sandwiches are pricey but good. Only cash - no credit cards accepted. Kids (and adults) would enjoy seeing how they make the bagels right in front of you and the whole process up to placing them in long rows in the open oven and flipping them by rows with a very long board. I usually make a stop here on my trips to Ottawa.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kettleman's Bagel Company also viewed

 

Been to Kettleman's Bagel Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kettleman's Bagel Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.