We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why stay anywhere else?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Barefoot Hostel to your Saves list
Barefoot Hostel
455 Cumberland Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N7J8, Canada (Byward Market Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
7th Night FREE
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Ottawa
Stowe, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Why stay anywhere else?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This may not be the cheapest hostel in Ottawa, but it is certainly the best value, and most comfort for your money.

After a recent extended stay, there is much I can say about this place. First is Sabina, the owner, and receptionist. She is wonderful! Polite and professional, she was always full of lots of useful tips for helping me find my way, and learn how to get around the city.

Second, the hostel itself is beautiful, boarding on luxurious! The common living room, with it`s huge sofa and large flat screen TV is both modern and cozy. The bathrooms show a touch of thoughtfulness, with designer sinks and shower fixtures. The bedrooms are smaller-occupancy (mine was a four-bed dorm), so you`re not sharing your personal space with tonnes of people. Most-importantly for me though, the beds are super-comfy, and don`t shuffle or squeak, even when there`s someone asleep on the top bunk. Superb!

Other commenters will note the lack of a stove-top or proper oven in the kitchen (really kichenette), but to me it was no problem at all. There`s not one, but two 24hr grocery stores, located just a few blocks away. I lived off of salads, sandwiches, pre-cooked roasted chickens, and microwave dinners, with no difficulty at all. Plus there are tonnes of quality and affordable restaurants close by. Plus Sabina says she`ll buy a new BBQ grill for the backyard during the summer months. Hard to complain about that!

So, all in all, after a few weeks of stay, I have only positive things to say about this hostel. It is so very clean, and very well maintained. If there is such a thing as a “luxury” or “designer” hostel, this is it. You could stay elsewhere for less money, but for the few dollars you save, you won`t get the same comfort, pizzaz, cleanliness, attention to detail, and friendly service as you will here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    8
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
3
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

Came in for the all star game! This place is great for a 1 night stay everyone is very friendly and very very clean. I would definitely stay again. The only thing is there should be locks on the rooms of the door.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I had to make an impromptu trip to Ottawa, and did not want to stay in jail hostel due to a bad experience there, so I booked the Swiss Hotel for 2 nights next door as it was the best deal in town for a hotel that is. I needed to stay an extra night in Ottawa so I decided to check out the Barefoot Hostel next door.

The Hostel was spotless, the beds were confortable, the roommates were nice, the internet there was fast, the tv had alot of cable channels, the bathroom was clean and well stocked wth shampoo, shower gel. The kitchen was very basic, it only had a microwave and fridge, no stove.

Location wise it is excellent, very close to Rideau Center and Parliament Hill, the OC Transpo transitway station is walking distance. The only thing is there is a substance addiction rehab center nearby and when walking alone at night, I had to be a bit cautious, but other than that there is little to worry about.

Overall, my one night stay here was perfect, I will definately stay here again when I return to Ottawa.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011 via mobile

Clean, ultra comfortable beds, spotless bathroom and living area, free Wifi and public computers, and great prices for dorm rooms. 24 hr supermarket and liquor store across the street. Within 2 min walk of dozens of bars and restos. An amazing experience... will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

I've stayed at hostels in 13 cities in Europe, and this Canadian gem is the best I've ever seen. The beds are comfortable, the cleanliness standards are impeccable, it's quiet, and has all the amenities you could ask for. On top of all this, the location is perfect, just a 10 minute walk from Byward Market or the Parliament area. Would definitely stay again, and would recommend Barefoot, or the Swiss Hotel next door (same owner) to anyone visiting Ottawa.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the smallest, so if you have the option, ask for room 2-4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

When I met Sabina at Barefoot reception, it was as if I knew her for years. She is very accommodating and courteous. The service in Barefoot Hostel is that of a four star hotel. The rooms are clean and the beddings are new and very clean. I must confess my three days stay there was fantastic. Vanita, the housekeeper was wonderful too. I had a swell time with new friends from different countries. Sabina is a mother indeed. Thank you Sabina and Vanita. I will visit Ottawa again just to see you all and stay at Barefoot hostel. Sabina, I enjoyed the fire place you asked to sit and warm myself before leaving. That is so kind of you all. When next I will come, I will sure bring my wife.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

Positives: Location! Cleanliness, atmosphere, television and internet access, great bedding, not too crowded during the winter (only sixteen beds!) Barbecue outside for warmer days.

Negatives: No stove or oven (even a hot-plate would be nice!), difficult parking nearby.

I have stayed at the Barefoot Hostel several times now while in town for business. I normally stay mid-week, and it has always been a positive experience. The hostel itself is usually spotless, and the warm, clean, white duvets on the beds make for a nice touch at the end of a long day (that alone is almost worth the bit of extra price compared to the HI Ottawa Jail or nearby Backpacker's Hostel.)

During the week in the winter the Hostel is generally quiet, between 8 and 12 guests, including one or two friendly regulars and a generally diverse range of travelers, mainly students in Canada on exchange programs coming to visit Ottawa from Montreal or Toronto. Bring a bottle of wine with you and don't be afraid to start a conversation and chances are good you will be rewarded with a great visit. More social guests usually like to head out into the nearby Byward Market in a group at night (lots of pubs, clubs, and restaurants less than 5 minutes walk away.) Which makes for good conversation and what usually turns out to be fun nights out on the town. This is a very relaxed, down-tempo kind of place, and the modern-ish style and funky colors make visitors feel comfortable right away. Not a place for the loud, partying, beer swilling crowd though.

Did I mention location? Everything is close! There are good cheaper restaurants (Chinese, Lebanese, Western, etc.) Just West of the hostel walking distance a little ways up Rideau St. Also, there is a grocery store and a pharmacy about 800 meters away. The Byward Market is spitting distance, Bank St is a little further away, but still more than walkable on a warm night. Ten minutes on foot from the Parliament Buildings, next to most of the major downtown municipal bus routes, the hostel is on a side street just far enough from the main drag to be quiet on weeknights, although it is on the path between the University of Ottawa and most of the bars, so on summer nights and warmer weekends I expect it can get noisy outside.

The living room area is great, long sofas and a flat screen television, plus two internet computer stations and a wireless internet set-up so you can still stay plugged in while visiting.

The rooms are nice and clean, although the lockers are a little small, at least they have lockers... bring your own lock though.

The major drawbacks... no stove to cook on. One of these days I think I'll just buy a hot-plate myself, since only being able to cook with a microwave gets a bit frustrating. The barbecue is outside if people want to use it, but when it's -15 outside this is not the most appealing option.

Parking nearby is only available for free after 6pm (or 7pm on some streets.) From 7am to 6pm you have to plug a meter and most of the parking is limited to one hour at a time only. If you have a car it might be easier to spring for one of the Hostel's parking spots or a lot nearby, but at $10-$12 a day that's probably not the best option for budget travelers.

All in all, a great home away from home. I love the place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barefoot Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Hostel

Address: 455 Cumberland Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N7J8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located downtown, Barefoot Hostel youth hotel is a small, independently-owned, 16-bed backpackers’ haven. Newly renovated, modern European decor with white bedding only (duvet and duvet cover), our affordable hostel offers the best hostel experience in Ottawa with free internet computer use and free WiFi. Lovely backyard patio in summer. Walk to all major tourist attractions and conventions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Barefoot Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.